August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Entourage

by jprogman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There are two sides: good and bad. You play the good side to eliminate the bad. You control the parasites and give them specific commands to eliminate the bad parasites.

I've did the best as I can to to prevent the game from bugging. The game has no audio and the graphics weren't too much of my concern, so I apologize if it turned out bland and hard to read. After all, I was pressed for time!

There's a text file containing the instructions for playing the game. The game was programmed with BlitzMAX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#205Innovation3.22
#565Theme2.40
#586Humor1.42
#593Audio1.26
#677Mood1.65
#719Graphics1.79
#725Overall2.07
#744Fun1.56

Comments

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:32am

Cool, i like it.

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:11am

The ideas were really cool, but I feel like they weren't executed all that well. I'm just watching a bunch of things flutter around aimlessly, unless I program them specifically to attack someone, which, in reality, that's pretty much the only thing you'd need them to do. The (essentially) perfect AI to make:

-if weak
-follow goodguy
-if alone
-follow badguy

There just aren't that many strategic options, really. Plus, it's an absolute chore to give commands to units one a time, especially with so goddamn many of them, and with so much time put into giving the commands.

In short, a great idea, but terribly executed. You get an A for effort, but better luck next time.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:31am

I would try it, but there is no Web version.

dvdking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:19am

it's impossible to play...
i have to program every creature, and this is quite hard to do.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:41am

Is the idea to create an AI for each good guy separately? It's hard enough when I can't really make out which pixel is a good guy and which pixel is a bad guy, not to mention that by default there are 30 of them :)

Nonetheless a cool concept that fit the theme.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Really good idea, but nearly unable to play.
With at least 5 creatures of each kind it is not possible to program each single one of them alone.
But if you change that, the game can be really great!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:37pm

programmable dots. nice work with ai customization!

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Like everyone else is saying: Great idea, but needs more work on the execution side. As a starter, I think it would be great to start you off with 1 or 2 little guys, not 30. Programming all 30 is kind of insane. 1 or 2 is more reasonable.

I also liked your graphic aesthetic. Felt like a terminal app, but nicer ;)

Fritzendugan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:01am

chrome tells me this might be malicious?

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:33am

The execution is ok but the game is difficult to handle. It may be more playble if you could select many dots at the same time.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:00am

I did scan for viruses and malwares of both files with zonealarm before and after uploading and both of them are considered clean.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:09am

Concept-wise: the idea was to make all parasites "dumb" with a few practical "defaulted" commands. That is where you come along; to give them new instructions to conquer the field.
It wasn't intended to program each and every parasite, but was pressured for time obviously and just took it easy.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:01am

It's fine to download, just a single exe.

The game was a bit confusing at first but it's clever.

Maikeroppi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:45am

Interesting game idea. I upped goodguys to 100, left badguys at 30.

A few notes:
-It seems you have to assign orders individually, across 30+ guys. This is pretty tedious. Maybe a central location for setting every goodguy AI?
-Rate:0 being the fastest speed was counter-intuitive; I though rate would be the speed at which the game runs.

Nifty things:
-When running the game at 0 rate setting, it is neat to watch.
-Seems like there is some strategy potential if you could control AI over a group of guys.

zx81 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:26pm

So I shall start rating...
Graphics, Audio, Fun... ???!
I will rate you optimistacally, although they are not really in the game.The game deserves a good grade, however the rating system didn't forsee a game like this.
Good idea, however it seems to be a bit off topic for me, it mainly (at least for me) a social simulator...
The game is different than others and is worth of attention.

lekochen says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:14am

Concept is cool, the map is too big though.

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:15am

Interesting take on the old robo-war scripted battle games. I found the scripting a little hard to do, although I appreciated the commands being given as buttons to click. Giving your guys commands one at a time is kind of a drag - I'd like to be able to script them once and apply to all. If there was a way to do that, I didn't find it. Also, I'd have liked the speed to be able to go faster than the maximum, even 5-10x the maximum that I got. So, cool idea, partway to really cool, with some things to work on. Good job!

repstyle says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:25am

To hard or long to play. It's a game for programmers or to teach the principle of instructions and the interest to use it to people who want to program.

Maybe you can turn it in a software more fun to learn the logic programming.

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:56am

The amount of micromanagement made this game really tiring, but otherwise it was an excellent concept and decently executed.

Not very good control scheme either (you could for example have added a select-multiple method by dragging, and a zoom in/out via mouse scroller/pageup/pagedn, which really would've added to the smoothness of gameplay a LOT).

demonpants says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:59pm

A Mac build please?

Spelchan says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:09pm

The game is quite fun but the user interface for giving commands to the parasites needs a lot of work. I found it hard to select parasites without having to zoom in on them, and having to enter commands for all of the parasites was a bit tedious, so some type of batch system would be advised. Has a lot of potential so I hope you keep working on this.

goerp says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Nothing to add, I guess. It's all been said.
But I like to say that I like the direction you were taking. Just needed some more variety (maybe some random evolution).

Khayet says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:03am

A nice concept, but the program isn't really able to show that. Better graphics really would have helped a lot, I can barely distinguish good and bad.
And maybe the concept would work out better if you were able to program all the good guys at once.

RawBits says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 6:38am

It' exhaustive to set all the guys one by one by hand. You need some group selection or something. Also there are unnecessary commands like 'move'. You want to kill them so either want to go for them or away from. So the problem is in gameplay not in the gfx or lack of audio.

The idea is nice though. Try rethinking the gameplay and make it more entertaining!

rhaasken says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:04am

I agree with panzermancer's comments. I think if there was a way to program multiple bots at once, it would be so much better. Also, it would help if they were much larger.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]