August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Silent Game of Death

by everchanger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is "Silent Game of Death" the result of my first shot at Ludum Dare. I felt it went okey until 4 hours to the end when I realized I totally forgot about the audio! At that point I still had some major features left to fix so the game simply had a change of name, from "Game of Death" to "Silent Game of Death", oh yeah you probably want to know what it's about!

Silent Game of Death (SGOD) is a top-down shooter, you use the mouse buttons to control most of the action, the left button lets the ship shoot a stream of plasmabullets when held and by holding the right button the player attracts the ship towards the mouse. There is also a small help in case of emergency, press the spacebar and the ship overloads its main battery and lets out a huge energy burst! After letting out a burst the battery must recharge, preventing you too use it too often.

The enemies in this game are no ordinary aliens, since the theme of this was "Evolution" I began to think about using a "Game of Life" simulation as the enemy, your goal is simple, all you have to do is destroy the game of life, when there is no more life you win. The simulation might kill it self after a while, but that's not the points. It's all about speed, destroy all the life and prevent the simulation from evolving to set a new fastest time.

This is not a complete game, there is still a lot to add to it and I will. There is only one map shipping with this game, it contains a couple of "gliders" and some "spinners", after that the maps are randomly generated, but saved to the disk. This means that the next time you play, you can try to set a new high score(fastest time) for that specific map!

Ok, I feel like I covered most of it. Enjoy yourself and try to have fun with my game (even if it has no audio in it).

Joakim Rosenstam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#131Innovation3.47
#143Graphics3.58
#276Theme3.14
#278Fun2.97
#280Overall3.14
#313Mood2.74
#522Humor1.67
#612Audio1.13

Comments

Nick Knowlson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:48am

Love the explosions!

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:33am

Great first entry! Nice explosions.

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:56am

Good effort, solid idea. The plasma bullets and explosions look gorgeous, shame about the lack of sound effects. Not sure what murdering the game of life says about evolution, but made me laugh :)

draxov says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:27am

Love the style of it, bit of a steep difficulty curve from 1st to second level, but still enjoyed it :)

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:33am

Clever. I failed to work out my score though. It was like 59:59:99

aitorman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:41am

Love it! Very well done graphics and polished gameplay

NatNoBrains says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:13pm

The lack of audio made it a bit non-atmospheric, but the controls were nice and the graphics were really nice.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Pretty good, the bullet effects and bombs were amazing!

pekuja says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:18pm

The idea seems pretty cool, but it seemed way too easy and got quite boring after a couple of rounds.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Oh my god, Conway's Game of Life game of life mixed up with a shooter. Fantastic idea!

For some reason the game goes from level 1 to level 12, to level 13. Can you fix that, and repost the game?

I really want to play the other levels!

Shame there's no music thought.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:47pm

I did like the game, but found it somewhat frustrating that you could nearly clear the board and then get a chain reaction that would fill the board faster than you could stop it. Because of the speed in which things grow, and the mental effort it takes to figure out what the next iteration of Conway's algorithm will produce, I'm not sure a fast paced shooter is the best choice. As more strategic game where you have some more time to plan out a move may be less frustrating, but overall awesome idea.

Citiral says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:11pm

A neat game, the graphics were pretty good, and it was a very original concept. It did get boring after 5 levels or so, though. It could also have used some audio :)

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Graphically very appealing, and a great concept, although pretty much every level from 2 onwards feels the same due to the nature of Conway's Game of Life :/

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Well polished, although music could add a lot to the game. The graphics are nice! The actual game does get repetitive pretty quickly, but still a solid entry.

sirGustav says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I'm actually giving you a 4 stars for audio since in this case silence is a better design then constant sfxr gun sounds. With that said, some tron/daft punk like music would have been since for this kind of look.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Nice controls and visual effects, I definitely like the way it all looks. Feels like this could have turned into something really good with more time

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Its a shame this has no audio , otherwise cool idea.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:44pm

A shooter combined with Conway's algorithm is pretty cool. I with the cubes would transform more slowly. A lot could be done with this kind of idea like more ships and abilities. Overall pretty good.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:47am

Awesome game! You really made the Game of Life constructs seem more alive to me by having me kill them. They really are systems that can be broken by destroying bits of them!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:24am

Ahahahah. I really impressed how you combine "Life" game and TDS. But something looks incompleted. Good job with gameplay and theme. But implementation can be better.

csanyk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:37am

Loved this! Too bad about the sound. I hope you add some in later. Please do something about the controls, too. They are very awkward.

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:41am

Very nice take on Conway's game of life! The mouse movement is a little slippery but great fun anyway!

tdsmale says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:46am

Fantastic!

raarlac says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Great gfx and well polished. nice!

vigrid says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Wow, I would never think of mashing these two games up. Well done! Easily fits the theme, too :) It would be great to see more designed levels, not just random ones after the first. Great work anyway!

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Uh, I'm not sure how I'm the only one having this problem, but the ZIP won't open for me. I get invalid archive errors in Windows and 7zip. I tried downloading it twice.

everchanger says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 8:39am

BMacIntosh that seems really weird, I just tried to download the game again and tried unpacking it with both Windows built-in zip archive opner and 7zip. Both worked over here, I guess there might be something wrong with your 7zip installation, what OS are you on? Thanks for trying to try my game :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]