Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

EvoDragon - PixelOaks - Jam Entry

Darwing is a space dragon alien thingy and his egg has crash landed on a planet full of evil boars. Help Darwing evolve by slapping Omniboars so he may escape.

Instructions:
-Slap the displayed number of Omniboars to evolve.

Issues:
-Play full screen for best performance.
-The game may lag or not load in chrome.
-Player death is wonky, just let it do its thing and it will return you to the main menu.

View PixelOaks's journal. | View all entries by PixelOaks

Ratings

#20Graphics(Jam)4.37
#49Audio(Jam)3.52
#105Humor(Jam)2.51
#106Mood(Jam)2.91
#108Overall(Jam)3.19
#139Theme(Jam)2.73
#140Fun(Jam)2.83
#206Innovation(Jam)2.31
#667Coolness44%

Comments

samoojamies says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Wow! Audio and graphics A++! Couldn't figure out how to evolve.

_AM_ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Very nice... but when I died it freaked! I evolved once more and the timer or enemy counter kept going while I was dead. Very weird.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Very nice art style! Couldn't figure out how to evolve either. Perhaps I didn't slap enough boars? :}

Music very nice as well. Has a cool 'arcade' feel to it.

michax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Nice graphics. And there is nothing better then boar slapping.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Amazing! Beautiful graphics, nice musics, very good gameplay!

You guys are very professionals and a good example of work in team!

r3d5 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Very cool Like everyone said, wonderful art. Nice and simple gameplay, I like it!

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Nice graphics, but you should lock the mouse cursor to avoid the opening of the menu when you right-click!

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:57pm

ahhhh; the purple "pigs" drove me into a corner and i was stuck. like the visual tone of the game very much though. nice and polished.

Kinokochan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:40am

As the previous posters said, the art and audio are top-notch! I also loved the general concept and the way that you incorporated "evolution" into your game.

My one and only complaint is that the controls felt a bit clunky sometimes. Particularly, the lack of camera control in a 3D game where you are constantly looking around for enemies slowed me down a lot. Limiting movement to four directions in a 3D game felt a bit odd too. I often found myself running downward into rocks that I didn't know were there because my camera was clipping inside of them.

That said, I've worked in Unity before, and remember having trouble with these things too, so I know exactly the sort of limits you're working with here. What you guys did in such a limited timeframe is very, very impressive! Awesome work!

Haddy22 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Great work- I loved the rock and ground textures especially. Very impressive for 3 days!

chardish says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Graphics are great! Gameplay is a bit lacking. Feels very repetitive.

CapGrip says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:17am

Graphic and Audio are very great! Great job. I couldn't figure out how to evolve either.

Codexus says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:34am

I love the character design and hand-painted look of the textures. Great music too! The controls feel a bit unresponsive and while slapping pigs is fun it's a bit repetitive.
A very cool entry!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:40am

After my first death I returned to the main menu and started a new game. In that new game I slapped all the boars I could find, but there was still one left, and I think I explored the entire level. I tried using jump, but there wasn't anything to jump onto.

That bug was my only complaint. The game was beautiful, and well animated.

ScreamRawr says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:37am

The graphics and music were very good. I couldn't ever find the last two boars though. :(

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:09pm

I think the game is a little too slow paced and the gameplay felt a bit forced (could've been faster and smoother), but the graphics made totally up for it. Really the best 3d art I've seen here at Ludum Dare 24. Good job.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Oh my! The graphics are just gorgeous!

Peax says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Nice graphics! I really enjoy it.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:48pm

This looks really nice. When you add more to it I'd look at the boars movement as when they get behind you it's hard to get away from them or turn and hit them without taking damage. Unbelievable work though in 2 days, there's a good polish to this.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:55pm

This is great!

Seriously, awesome work. The characters are great, animations work, sounds fit, and the work with the textures on the unity-terrain makes me want to experiment with the style.

..which is why the little snags are so infuriating. The 2-3 seonds at the beginning are irritiating. Controls only being explained in a side-menu as wall-o-text works horribly. Having attack on mouse1 is also useless, as the mouse doesn't do anything else. The enemies ganging up on you and glitching out once there are more than 3. The bad level-design just letting 12 monsters gang up on you. The camera-placement beinng weird, as in "static, locked very close to the character, clipping through rocks"

Still, it is good. With a little polish it could be INCREDIBLE. Remove the stupid 3-sec-lock. Put attack on the keyboard. Use the standard Unity-3rd-person-camera, it does wonders :)

raarlac says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Nice graphics!

RosyPenguin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:46am

I reached my second stage of evolution before dying. I think the game has a lot of potential; the characters and environment textures are great! As others have pointed out, the gameplay seems slow. Perhaps make the first stage of evolution go by quicker (kill 5 boars instead of 20) and have the player movement be faster than the boars (so you can outrun them!)?? Just random suggestions. Great job guys!

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. We are looking into it.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Fantastic graphics! I love it!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:46am

Very cool graphics!! Enjoyed the gameplay and music. Couple of bugs but (others have mentioned) but that didn't detract from my enjoyment. Good job!

airdeck says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 5:00am

Really nice game, textures and style are really well done. I think there needs to be a little more game play other than just sapping, and the slapping animation was a bit slow. But for a game made in 72 hours or less this is really looking good!

marudziik says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 11:34am

Very good entry. As everyone already said it here, the graphics are awesome and the music is also very good. The gameplay could use some work, but I find it quite entertaining, while the level design could use a little more polish. Overall, this is of course a great game and the minor flaws don't change the experience. Fantastic job for 72 hours!

nseward says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:49pm

You are already working on the camera and that was my main problem. Very good. Keep up the good work.

yosh says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Where the hell is the "Cuteness" rating category?

atraxgames says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 1:01pm

Very nice land textures.

nosfer says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Top notch gfx and sound/music. Too hard and quite clunky controls.

juaxix says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Wow, this is a great job! :)
You need to fix the collisions but the game is perfect :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:16am

Graphics: Awesome!
Controls: Less awesome :/

It would have been nice if you spawned more than the required number of boars. It took me minutes to find the last boar on the first level.

pardue says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

The controls seemed to get kinda stuck at times in the second level. The game is great though, nice graphics and sound. I had fun!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]