Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Human Fatality - MrHalfman - Jam Entry

Gameplay video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPMn7_sA6rI

From the prehistory to the modern era : We are trying to make a game which is a "double travel" : A travel inside the human history and, in parallel, inside the video game history.

We didn't had enough time to make a home screen and the end of the game. We are gonna post an enhanced version tomorrow but at this time we can't do more :(.

Keys : Arrow keys / Enter : Interact

UPDATE 29/08/12 : We've made a post-compo version for fun which is Easier and with a decent end ;). Feel free to try it but don't forget : if you want to notate the game, use the first (and unfinished) version !

UPDATE 30/08/12 : The enhanced version is now with the hard difficulty :). (Same difficulty as the original but with less bugs and the end levels).
We also added a link to download the OST ! Feel free to use it, just leave a comment ;).

View MrHalfman's journal. | View all entries by MrHalfman

Ratings

Coolness69%
#66Audio(Jam)3.35
#102Graphics(Jam)3.46
#115Humor(Jam)2.42
#118Theme(Jam)2.89
#136Overall(Jam)3.03
#149Mood(Jam)2.63
#197Innovation(Jam)2.39
#198Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

N0W33t0rs says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:14am

Hard one .. The jumps have to be perfect in times. With 40 deaths I didn't get beyond the "now you have to decide". These damn spikes are everywhere. Sorry, this one isn't for me (although it caught me fast and I really liked the graphics and the idea with localStorage and the achievements. I even got "you killed 50 dinos").

Demurgos says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:59am

Thank you, yes the game is rather difficult but we'll do a Post-Mortem, and I was thinking about an easy or hard mode.

MrHalfman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:22am

We wanted to do the same difficulty as the good old games :D. But as I said upper, an enhanced version is gonna be posted today !

Demurgos says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:16am

Here is the post-mortem easy mode :
http://ld24pm-easy.quantum-softwares.fr/

DevWouter says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Argh! I didn't notice the spikes until I was already death. I thought it was some collision detection issues with the dino further down the road.

In the end I went beyond "now you have to decide" (decide what?) but then I got hit by another spike and death again. Some quick save or lifes (optionaly if needed) would have made it a lot more playable and enjoyable. And I'm talking about the "easy" one here. (in what way exactly or am I really that bad ;) )

90sml says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Really difficult but I loved the graphics and all the music !
Really nice idea to do an Achievements system. Great job :)

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:02pm

I really liked this one, I plan on playing it until I beat it. Or until I throw my keyboard in rage. well done

Demurgos says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:26pm

The post-mortem mode offer a good ending and redrawn levels, the pits are smaller, there is less enemies or spikes.

There is a save system : each level is saved.

cadin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Nice work. The graphics look really good. Really impressive that you made this in JS. I find the game feel to be a bit off (jumping speed is weird). And the collision detection is really really sensitive.

You should be proud of this.

Jamin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:08pm

I really like the warp flowers that send you back to the beginning. Oh, those are spikes? Okay, that makes sense.

Serious-like, the stuff that kills you doesn't always stand out and after zooming in (Chromium's page zoom), I can honestly say that I'd prefer playing this game at about half the resolution with those beautiful graphics in their full glory.

You've created a solid platformer here that I will have to come back to beat. Awesome stuff.

MrHalfman says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:11pm

@Cadin : Thanks for this comment :D !

@Jamin : It's because we are nostalgic (and a bit sadistic). Thanks you :)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Art was nice, however, this game had some of the most frustrating platforming I've met among all the LD entries so far, and not in a good, Super Meat Boy way, alas. Also: adding checkpoints wouldn't kill ya, ya'know?

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Love the graphics and the music and the over all feel. The spikes were really hard to see and caught me out a few designs. And the level design was a bit too hard for me (but I don't normally play platformers). Achievements were great and I really like the text at the underneath the game as well.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Really nice graphics and overall design, just so incredibly frustrating, would loved to have seen past the dinosaur age but the jumps were too unforgiving for me

Demurgos says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:59am

Here is a video-wakthrough with all the achievements (PostMortem Version) :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPMn7_sA6rI

zx81 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:27am

Wow! i really enjoyed plying that!! very good graphics, but the game is a bit to hard (at least for my liking) ;)
The audio is really neat as well.
Really good piece of work!

Miltage says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Hard as hell. The cause of death should be more apparent. Often, I wouldn't even know why I had died. Great graphics though. I feel the spikes should have stood out more.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:08pm

The game is approaching the "I wanna to be the guy" difficultly especially with the (buggy?) flowers that act like spikes. Graphics and music are great,I like the achievement and local storage system. The page is a bit too large to quite fit the normal screen, I have to press F11 to get both the score and messages to both appear in the page.

MrHalfman says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:34pm

@Darkshadow : The flower is not buggy, there is just a spike behind it ;). (You can barely see it !)

wlad says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Needo! Though its really really really hard. Didn't recognize the first spike for a while. The music is well composed, but doesn't fit the mood of the game. I think I'll play some more till I beat the first level at least;)

clavicarius says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Music seriously clashes with the play. Your character is so mouse-cursor like. There's no joyous inertia.

MrHalfman says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:42pm

@wlad & @Cavicarius : Thanks for your comment we will consider this for the next ld :).

Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:47am

Sweet game. I liked the old-school difficulty actually. Graphics great, music beautiful (could use looping, but no matter). Great job!

Doft says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:33am

It was too hard, and for the wrong reasons :( controls made it a bit frustrating. Other than that it was interesting, music was nice too.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Controls are hard ! you need to make your jumps more smooth/controlable, and give more feedback when dying (took ma a while to realize there was a hidden spike at the beginning).

Would have love to see more, but I'm definitely not good at unforgiving platformers :)

gamblore says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Decent. I had many deaths before I made it to the unfinished end. The castle level was kind of annoying because you couldn't tell, on your first time through, which blocks were going to drop.. You had to just see (after many deaths) that they were always the blocks that had spikes below them. Fun game, I liked the sprite animations.

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:29am

I found the movement a bit frustrating and had to put the game down because of that and the lack of checkpoints that made me do everything all over again when I died. Also I felt the spikes should have been a bit more noticeable. Other than that the tone of the game was nice and the graphics and music were pretty good :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]