August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The life of Cat

by Amoaeba Junior - Jam Entry

You are Cat, just born into the world you'll need to survive.
As you go across your life stages you'll meet enemies, your mate and play a small part in the cycle of Evolution.

The game gives the experience of each stage in a cat's life so it will have different pacing according to the cat's age.

It's our first Ludum Dare so Hope you enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#26Mood(Jam)3.60
#54Audio(Jam)3.49
#58Overall(Jam)3.41
#88Theme(Jam)3.01
#112Fun(Jam)2.99
#128Humor(Jam)2.29
#134Graphics(Jam)3.20
#152Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:11pm

good game... I like it very much

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Pretty interesting. I really liked the idea of making the cat change speeds in different phases of life. It was frustrating for me when my cat got old, and could barely move, but I think the fact that it frustrated me is positive.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Cool, but the cat moved VERY slow, especially the old version. Nice job!

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:46pm

I enjoyed it up until the ending where you made the cat walk really slowly. It was really painful getting across that last level, I guess you wanted to make me experience what a slow painful death is like? It was good because it had a cool meaning, but I'm not sure I enjoyed it :D

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:46pm

This game was very good, but made me very sad. Poor fat cat died.

That makes me sad. Also, I played it twice to see if getting the mouse instead of the bird for the female cats mattered.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:47pm

The game is way too slow a first, but still, we wanted to play it to the end, and were agreably surprised. Great mood!

dvdking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:51pm

This is awesome! I was playing the whole game with smile on my face. The sound of cat's attack is so cute ^_^

Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:03pm

We wanted to create the feel of the different phases of the life of a cat. It is frustrating to the player (it was for us as well) but if we were old we'd feel frustrated too, moving so slowly all the time. I hope you still enjoyed the experience :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Walking speed is too slow. It was even unbearable when my cat got fat. Haha. I can see what you are trying to accomplish but a little more speed couldn't hurt. Oh, and the bloodied hands and feet with mouse entrails is awesome. Haha.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Loved it. I hope I don't become a slow, fat cat in the end

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:00am

I actually enjoyed the last scene, it had a great mood to it.

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:32am

Love the graphics and the mood of this game

Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:59am

Good game, I liked it. I didn't rate you for sound since I had music playing at the same time and completely missed the sounds until right at the very end.

The only thing I'd have a slight moan about (and it is only very slight), is the fact that the cat moves soooooo slowly on the last part. I understand why, but it may have been better to speed up the movement slightly throughout all the levels, so you still get the feeling of it being slower, but it's not quite as painful. Well done :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:05am

Fun game, understandable if it's a bit short. I had to give it a not-so-great rating in theme, though. Good work.

Uberi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:24am

Wow! Something really worth playing.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:34am

This is a very good game. At first I was really wanting the pacing to speed up, then I relaxed and just enjoyed the story. I think you hit the theme well and the music you found was good.

I like that you gave full credits to your sources as well.

Great game and impressive.

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:38am

I'm not into new age but I really liked the tracks :)

At the final stage, I had no motivation at all to walk, as it was already slow when Cat was younger.

BTW, you guys really wanted the theme 1000 kittens, right? XD

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:54am

Yes we did XD but you should really finish it it's worth it

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:12am

Cute :) I like the past-tense nature of the tutorial. The level design is a little tedious, but overall it's a pretty neat little game.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:33am

Love the little cat animation.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:23am

Cool thing, really walked through the stages of life of that little cat :} cute art, I enjoyed it, it was more like an "interactive story" thing, not much of a game for me, but still cool!

great job ;)

Mayto says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:25am

I really like it! Great job :)

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:39am

Nice entry - liked the small touches like cat animations, and the triceratops skull in the ground. The music was excellent. Perfect length game as well, great job!

sclark39 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:41am

Cute.

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:05am

I loved the cat jumping animation

chardish says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:29am

Passage-cat.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:36am

A really interesting idea. I really liked the audio :) I was annoyed at first at moving so slowly, but I guess it's part of the idea.

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Ahhh... Did you take some inspiration from Journey? I like your game.

davidllanos22 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Poor cat :C Nice animations and general idea :)

stevesefchick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:35pm

Great game!

xk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Nice game, but too short.

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:08pm

I like the progression and the simplicity.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:24pm

The cat moves WAY too slow.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:52pm

I really liked the feel. I think the pacing is pretty good, but it might have been better to spend more time on the hunting phase. Not sure though. Also it would have been nice to create separate graphics for the ground, background, sky, and water, even if they're pretty basic/simple. It's pretty noticeable that you re-used the same pattern on all the textures.

ahm99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:05pm

was kinda short :( good game though :)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

O-o we didn't use the same pattern we just randomly painted until it looked nice XD

Kumquat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Very enjoyable experience. I like the cat animations!

VAMflax says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:20pm

This is excellent!

The jump on the 2nd cat is lovely, with the tilt on the way up and down.

I wondered why I couldn't eat the first mouse I saw, but that changed on the next level.

Music is fantastic!

And it all fits into the theme. You have an environment, a drive to create new life and a system for natural selection...!

Ending, sad, but not!

All in all... job done...!! Great work!

1176Studios says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:25pm

the ending made me sad :( but good game!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Nice game! I really like these games in which each level has a different deep meaning and the overall message is a good one. It was short, though, and I got sad for the short life the cat had, but then the game told me he had a long life and I was happy again! =D

Congratulations for your entry. =)

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:03pm

I like the way you tell a short story.

imef says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:30am

I was sceptical at the beginning. But it turned out that I actually loved that game!

kato9 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:22am

It's a bit slow but pretty good otherwise.

Kali Purr says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:25am

I din't get much out of this in terms of gameplay, but it made me feel pretty good. From the title screen and the music, to how it ends. I feel it was quite appropriate.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:23am

Very well done, grew quite attached to my cat over his short life ;P

Cipher says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:24am

Loved it

Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:56am

My cat lived a long life lol. Good stuff!

cappelnord says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:30am

well done. I almost cried at the end :-(

juaxix says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:43am

Good games have story telling and this has it, and this is evolution in real life!

munchor says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Great to see an entry by other Portuguese people, and I really liked it :)

bukt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Great music :) Some kind of sadness, but game is still good. Even, if short.

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Cool game, you just moved really slow when you were old.

Starmen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:42pm

This game gave me feels that I had no idea I could feel. Really good job.

DevWouter says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Awesome result! Nice use of mood and gameplay.

marudziik says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:23am

I actually really like the game. Everything about it. Well, maybe the load time is kinda long, but I understand it's because of the music (great one!).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:57am

well done -- short but followed the theme perfectly -- graphics were good as was the gameplay -- nice effort

benderbinary says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:01am

Audio is awesome!

cobrajs says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:28am

Very well done. Fun enough to not be pretentious, but arty enough to be really interesting. Or something like that. It was frustrating that the old cat moved so slow, but could still jump six feet straight up :P

jijaweb says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:35am

Music and graphics are very good.

andreyin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:04pm

So far the best music I've heard in #LD48 !

matheod says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:18pm

A little short but funny.
And as josefnpat said : "Poor fat cat died" :D

Cyboot says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:21pm

poor old cat ;)

good game, nice job for first Ludumdare

infernet89 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Slow loading, too slow walking at first and last stage.. And it's still a great game. The graphics was very good.

Alink says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Good game. Make me want to do more sports while I still can.

madflame991 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:04pm

+ the music was the best part
+ I liked the overall documentary-feel

- "Cat lived a long life", yeah of about 5 minutes ;)

fhoenig says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:39pm

I'm gonna rate this one of the highest so far. It's somehow really good.
Except for the text in end stating that this is evolution. I would have ended it on "cat lived a long life".

Peax says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:13pm

The loading is pretty slow, but it worth to wait. Beautiful story. Sad but beautiful!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Great mood and really enjoyed the music. Nice progression and I like the slow ending, could maybe have had sad music then too!

gnx says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:01pm

High audio points, very nice tracks. Also good storytelling, it felt like time actually passing through the game.
Gameplay wasn't perhaps so strong, slightly too big levels vs. slow movement.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Nicely done. I enjoyed the cat animations a lot. I also really liked the music and played the game again (slowly) so I could hear each track in its entirety - it bugged me when the music cut out at each level end, I wanted to hear more!

leafo says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:02am

It's a nice story. I felt the music was really out of place though, and each track was disjoint from the others.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:26am

Cool stuff, enjoyed it, but I agree the old cat moved a bit slow.

Loved the audio!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:47am

Nice little game...cool mood. The final stage was pretty painful to play.

Gryxitl says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:12am

Nice game. Loved the mood.

DalsGames says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:37pm

The cat moved to slowly in the beginning but other than that, awesome!

dector says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Liked cats very much.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Started off with the sweet loading screen which was a nice touch.

The music in the game was really good, there were a couple really cool tracks.

The mechanics were nice and clean, jump and attack worked out well, also the old age move and jump adjusted down nicely.

You definitely developed towards the theme and the progression and learning tutorials were well done.

Overall this is a gem, deserving of high marks nicely done guys!

madameberry says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Cute~

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:37pm

I thought the speeds were just right! Great game, great way to use kittens without going crazy.

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Love the graphics and feel of it, the walking speed was a bit slow for me. Really polished and well rounded game, very impressed.

CapGrip says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:20am

I really like the game. Was frustrating when it closes his eyes and died, but, this is evolution. Cool graphics and animation. Very good work.

Per says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:43am

"That cat lived a long life" my ass ;)
Nice work!
Make it a little longer and you will have a hit!

songman says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:33pm

I really liked the old-style music

Moops says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Scrolling was a bit choppy. I adored the art style and the music. Fun game!

Kinokochan says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:17am

Seeing Cat get old and die really got to me. Poor Cat. :(

Overall, I loved it. Taking the cat through his full life cycle clearly demonstrated evolution. This might even make a good educational game for teaching kids about natural selection + evolution.
Very good work!

Jorjon says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:55am

Awesome music, but the gameplay was rather too simple. More like an interactive story than a game.

fruitfly says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:36am

this was great... and sad at once!
really, really enjoyed the jumping-animation of the cat (of the young cat ;-)). just felt great. well done!

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:30pm

I gotta admit I wasn't sure from looking at the game page but I played this and it really had feeling to it. In regards to the cat's speed at the end I think that it is pretty spot on with the mood but the length you have to walk in that level could be shortened so it isn't too frustrating. Good work getting such great feeling into a game in the time you had.

Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:52am

Not bad, I enjoyed it. Some parts were slow, and I thought the ending would be different depending on which mate I chose, but it wasn't. The first time I saw a rat I thought I could kill it, but I couldn't. It also seems like it's impossible for the cat to die so there's no real point in evading enemies. But, all that aside, I liked the style and animation, as well as the music, although I see you didn't make that yourself. Great job guys! :)

flyingbear says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:19am

Very nice narrative. You got me attached to this cat in a very short time. I really felt old in the last scene!

Wan says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Nice game! While the gameplay is not very rich this platformer remained interesting throughout the game thanks to the nice storytelling.

I noticed the same little frustations as above, being the slow cats movements in certain phases, and the short story (we want moar!! ;P)

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:12pm

very sweet and very well designed. the music was good too. liked it a lot!

HaxeR says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:35pm

Nice work, i like it very much, the music, the history, the sad end :_ , is a dramatic game, like the real life,we are going to have the same end that this Cat

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:09am

This game is a very solid game. And I think if you improved the graphics and the movement a little bit, it would be a very very great game.
love the idea and it is very addicting at its current stage:D

khoa says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Music was fantastic! You should give a link to download it directly :)

jfroco says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:07am

Nice story.. I really wanted to like it after reading the comments, but at least for me there is no enough challenge to be fun :(

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:26pm

fat cat- why you go so slow?

zx81 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Good game I really liked it!

Mago says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 7:18am

Good and polished game. Ending was very sad :(

joekinley says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Loved the mood and the story. Yeah, the speed at the end... ugh... but it was reminiscending.
Nice graphics, cool idea and all. Was fun. And sad in the end, so very moody too. Liked it.

omaha says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:04pm

This was pretty cool. I really enjoyed the emotionality.

michax says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Nice style and idea for cat survival game. Controls need a little polish.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Please look up the word "Evolution" in a dictionary, it's now what you claim it is :). However, game itself is pretty good, enjoyed it a lot!

airdeck says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 4:22am

I really liked the cat sprite animations, very well done

tomhunt says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 5:21am

Pretty cool. I liked the music. Game was a bit short, but seemed decently polished.

axcho says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 5:20am

I really liked the music. I liked the concept too, but I was disappointed at how un-cat-like the experience was. I tried to pretend that it was an imaginary non-cat creature so I could enjoy it better. ;)

cakemonitor says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 9:20am

nice game, although a bit slow. good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]