August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Guardian of the Evolution

by aare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD completed :D using the trustworthy, battle-tested framework libgdx <3

When I was planning this game on paper it seemed much more fun, but I did everything that I could to improve it... anyway, enjoy the game, and good luck everyone :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#66Humor3.29
#144Theme3.51
#175Innovation3.30
#249Overall3.19
#352Mood2.67
#392Fun2.76
#415Graphics2.81
#490Audio2.00

Comments

siondream says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Haha the text when you lose its hilarious. It also fits nicely with the theme.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36pm

At first this seemed like a game that was too simple for my tastes, but when the first pair of two blocks next to each other appeared I completely changed my mind about that. Looks very good too!

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Wow! Very nice game. Fun to play, more fun to watch the human get all distorted when you get one right ;D Great job!

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:51pm

I liked the cycloptic human better than the currently one. I liked your art style, cute sounds as well.

Dakota says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:58pm

I think you put yourself down slightly. I found it rather fun to play and I like use of the theme.

The human changing is also great.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:18pm

best score : 55. The core idea is neat. Something sounds bad in the control but I dont know what. DNA swapper is very difficult to use, you are always short on time and the long flash dont help for the visual analysis. Maybe a shorter flash, or a background ( not DNA ) flash would be better

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Very cool! I love the humor in this game.

Perhaps instead of randomly generating the double ones, you could generate it from the path, that way you always know that there "is" a place to put things. Or some way to tell when a strand is about to die?

I love it!

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

It's so cooool. I love the way humann evolves. :D And the gameplay is original. Good job, really !

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Nice concept, the controls were a bit confusing, but other than that it was nice:)

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:00am

You're right about something lacking from the design... I can't put my finger on it right now but it feels like it's missing focus somehow.
Apart from that it's solidly executed and deserves big bonus points for the pixel penis! ;)

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:28am

The hardest entry i've played yet. Nice idea and well executed though!

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:33am

The game is fine, funny, and... hard :D
I like the graphics and the concept, people always love puzzle games? :)

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:46am

I was fast game over but nice idea!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:37pm

Nicely done and I like the tie in to the theme.

vilya says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Heh, that's actually pretty neat. :-) I think the controls need a little bit of work: putting them all on the mouse or all on the keyboard would be better IMO. It's a great concept though & quite good fun!

tompudding says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Very cool idea. Being colour blind sucks for this game :(

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Very nice, the idea is very original and creative (at least I have never played anything like this before). It's just a bit hard, but I guess it fits with the category of awesome games that are frustrating. =)

aquasheep says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:51pm

I liked it; it was challenging, but doable; I do wish the color change mechanic were slightly different, like maybe you use arrow keys to select which strand to change or something. Not sure. Good work though!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I like the idea! I was a bit confused about how you fail though, because I would do everything perfectly yet still get 3 eyes or something, which I'm guessing means I did something wrong. It was also kinda frustrating figuring out what to do at the beginning. I think if you give instructions they should be in game, else don't give a vague instruction like *by pressing space, because that makes me think that you can only press space, and I sat there for minutes trying to figure it out. Anyway once I figured it out it was a lot of fun!

goffmog says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:08pm

I'm giving you one extra star in every category because your source directory is called "sauce"! Matching multiple blocks at once was really challenging and rewarding - this is one I'll come back to.

raver says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:45am

Nice viagra simulator :P.

demonpants says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:59pm

Hm looks like the OS X libraries are not properly included.


9/4/12 4:59:06.319 PM [0x0-0x19a19a].com.apple.JarLauncher: JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
9/4/12 4:59:06.443 PM [0x0-0x19a19a].com.apple.JarLauncher: _NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
9/4/12 4:59:06.443 PM [0x0-0x19a19a].com.apple.JarLauncher: JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit

aare says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 12:15am

Sorry, no OSX version in this case - I assumed that it will work

NateNaterson says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Great game mechanic! Wasnt very self explanatory but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]