Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

They Are Coming! - Gryxitl - Jam Entry

We have set up http://www.they-are-coming.com for the game. We'll be fixing things, and finishing the features that didn't make it into the Jam before the deadline. Visit the site and try out the most recent build on the main page.

###UPDATE### Now with 100% more OSX!

Finally Finished!

Fly around in cyberspace as a foreign object. But watch out, the natives are restless, and will react to your presence with hostility! You may even find that the inhabitants....Evolve.

-Fly in an awesome cyberspace world!
-Shoot down dozens of enemy fighters!
-Destroy Spawn Gates to stem the tide!
-Make it through the world to Logout and fight another day!

Made by Team Smoking Fishkin:

Design:
Gryxitl
Vormulac
Felix
Hooli
Lucas
TotalConScience
DrKillinger

Code:
Felix
Vormulac
TotalConScience

Art:
Hooli
Gryxitl
Lucas

Levels:
Gryxitl
TotalConScience

Title Music by:
Dr J

Level Music by:
7 Minutes Dead

Special thanks to cens0rd, SideWinder and everyone else on Team Generhater and MootPoint!

View Gryxitl's journal. | View all entries by Gryxitl

Ratings

Coolness100%
#50Graphics(Jam)3.93
#54Audio(Jam)3.49
#60Overall(Jam)3.40
#72Mood(Jam)3.16
#120Fun(Jam)2.93
#161Innovation(Jam)2.65
#203Humor(Jam)1.58
#218Theme(Jam)2.08

Comments

nseward says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:23am

This is phenomenal. The scale of the world almost makes me dizzy. This reminds me of the old game Descent. I actually downloaded that game the other day because there hasn't been anything like it in awhile.

sev_inf says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:35am

A bit difficult to see the walls.

Felix12g says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:37am

Descent did come up during the early design, that was a game many of us have fond memories of as well.

braingale says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:09am

I dug the gameplay and music, it was quite fun. The walls are bit... too busy, though. Interesting aesthetic though, this was really polished!

Vormulac says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:12am

Thanks!

The walls are a bit on the "HOLY CRAP MINE EYES!" yeah :D

Will probably going back to a darker background. Looked really cool with a black background:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9tcTTmg_Vc

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:05pm

I can still see the walls when I close my eyes. other than that very fun game

rxi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Couldn't find the option to invert the mouse, did I miss it somewhere?

ameliayn says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:15pm

The graphics of this game are amazing! I also love the soundtrack. The walls make it really hard to see where you are going though. I ended up flying in circles in confusion for a long time. After finding two of the natives, I couldn't find anymore, but that may have been because I was completely lost. xD

VAMflax says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Awesome!!! Music was amazing! Feeling of craft was nice and heavy. Shooting seemed to go with the beat...

Brilliant!! :)

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:43pm

This was just amazing. The first time I flew into one of those huge spherical halls my jaw just hit the floor. Mind you I was playing this on a 42" TV and it looked absolutely gorgeous.

The movement speed felt low at times, but I guess this is so that moving around wouldn't feel more disorienting than it is. Still, I think the game could benefit from a boost button, so that when you fly down a dead end, you could get back on track faster.

Killerbug says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:43pm

It's astounding to see the level of visual complexity you achieved in such a short time! It is perfect, the only thing that I would prefer is faster movement pace, I think it would match the music more. :) Congratulations!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:44pm

The wall were really irritating up close.
I didn't really know what to do as the game didn't tell me :/
so I was just flying around exploring. I noticed that the enemies seem to be ignorable as my goal seemed to be to find the exit. I had no real incentive to fight them. I felt really slow while flying through that world and I didn't see how this fits the theme.

Vormulac says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:09pm

@rxi
I knew we forgot something... We'll definitely be including customizable controls in any post jam versions.

@Ameliayn
Try getting through to level 4 (which is bugged, hint: JUST RUN!!!) and you'll see more types :D

About the speed, I want to stick in boost zones and afterburners and "spacejunk" to make everything feel faster but that'll be in any post jam versions. Keep the suggestions/critiques coming!

Most importantly: Thanks for taking the time to play and comment.

Anyway, back to rating games for me.

Grouflon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Awesome graphics, atmosphere and maniability. I agree with nseward, it really feels like playing back to Descent. Great work !

Felix12g says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Since we've decided to keep working on this, patching it up and finishing the features that got left out with the Jam's deadline, we've set up a web page for the game:

http://www.they-are-coming.com/

We'll be updating the base player with current versions, the player linked from this post will remain the Jam's final version.

We'll also be putting up the Exe builds as those are so much more fantastic graphically.

zimmy87 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:46am

This is awesome guys! I loved Descent and totally dig the vibe you guys are going for. I like that the AI is smart enough to dodge bullets.

f43ak says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:12am

Great job guys.

scoots says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Very cool game! I got completely bombarded in the first big room and couldn't survive. :P

ScreamRawr says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:55am

This is beautiful guys. Well done! This game made me miss Descent.

repstyle says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:39am

Web and windows versions are not working for me.
And i don't have a mac.

I want to try this game because ... 7 persons working on ^^.

Capro says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Make it faster, more balanced, more polished and then people will pay to play it.

Vormulac says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:12pm

@repstyle: What happens when you try to run it?

@Capro: Wow thanks! That's a huge compliment! :D

goffmog says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:00pm

I liked descent back in the day but this type of game always has me yearning for the cockpit of my trusty Tie Fighter! good graphics and sound but the overall effect was slightly nauseating for me. I guess I'm just old :)

CapGrip says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Man, I really liked the shaders, they are awesome. Lighting effects are very cool.Is hard to see the walls and passages, I got lost many times, but I think that was the idea right? I didn't understand the concept of evolution. Great job!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:18pm

absolutely adore the aesthetics on this. i felt the cursor moved around too fast but thats just me. really great game.

Wampus says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Played very nicely.

Vormulac says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:54pm

@goffmog: I'm sure it's related to the eye bleed :P

@CapGrip: We didn't get the theme into the game as much as we would have liked to. The longer a spawner stays alive the more "evolved" the enemies become (extra behaviours, more damage, etc). We managed to get a evolving weapon system working but we didn't get a chance to get it integrated in time. But that's the nature of jams :)

@angrygeometry: Thanks! As a group we play a lot of shooters and forgot to add a mouse sensitivity bar because we all use adjustable DPI mice. :/ Next time we'll remember.

Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:14am

Thought it was super awesome except that since the walls were all the same, I had issues remembering which way I was going... But then, I'm not that familiar with 3d games, so that's very possibly a big part of it :)

evilseanbot says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:21am

Solid game with a neat look. Gave up after the third dead-end on the second level, though, which seemed a little needlessly frustrating.

Matt says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:50am

cool concept, didnt really know what to do at the start. graphics were intense on my eyes haha.

juaxix says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:31pm

I felt like falling down into the Zion (Matrix) tunnels :D

Gryxitl says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:12pm

@evilseanbot: One of the guys we threw this at to get some feedback kept yelling "Damnit Gryxitl!!!" everytime he hit a dead end. Definitely good feedback that'll be addressed in future releases.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:49pm

First off, love the levels. The movement is too slow for something that is primarily explorative (I recognize that there are enemies but they don't seem to do anything and this game is super pretty so the net experience is explorative). The music is also too harsh sometimes in the wrong way (I listen to a lot of dissonant, noisy music so I'm not biased in that area). Pleasepleaseplease make a version with faster movement speed, I'd love to fly around your world :>

timtipgames says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:21am

The visual style, as much as I love it, makes it hard to figure out where you already have been and where you want to go. Shooting hordes of enemies was fun. I found it a bit tedious to destroy the enemy-spawner-things. The music is awesome and suits the game very well. Overall a great entry!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:46am

Played a while.. Very hard to see where to go, specially after you need to turn around the cube to destroy that, and then you don't remember wich direction you were going. Didn't see any real evolution, though.

vigrid says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Extremely polished game. The controls don't feel dynamic enough imo.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]