August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Digital Evolution by TheJackiMonster

by TheJackiMonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a 2D Jump&Run with little fights of the strongest..
If you die, then you get more life or energy..
Collect bones to enter next levels and collect apples or flesh to heal your character.

Controls:
W,A,S,D: "move"
Space: "jump"
E: "attack"

It's simple evolution..!

[You can make your own levels with a draw-program..]

I hope you like it.. :D
(If the text isn't so good, please forgive me, because I am a german 14-years old guy..)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#986Coolness22%

Comments

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:56pm

There's no link to any game

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:58pm

How did it let you post it without a download link?

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:32pm

o.O thats a miracle that thats possible!

Edd Morgan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:00am

It looks very nice, but you might need to edit your post and add a download link. :P

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Sorry, but I have forgotten the links in the description, because I have made a game with ludumdare first..

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Interpreting the post, the game can be played at:
http://thejackimonster.bplaced.net/Downloads/Spiele/Digital%20Evolution%20LD24/

Will post again with a review

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:14pm

You can edit the post and put the proper links in the link boxes. Overall it was a nice, featured platforming engine. A few gripes: it was very hard to see the status of the energy bar on my screen, and I kept getting stuck under triangles and enemies. I also think you should have brought the evolution mechanic into play more by making the game hard enough that the player might actually die.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Well, after playing this, sorry to say but this seems to be a mess of glitches, or I'm missing something. The enemies... I can't figure out how to attack them, or hell, even how to get them to damage me, it seems at random specific distances away from them they attack. The jump feels a bit too low, maximum falling speed is waaay too slow, and I can't figure out what those bones or spiky things do. The physics is generally pretty glitchy too and I often get stuck in things, for instance: http://i.imgur.com/glVMS.png


The graphics are pretty decent though, the sounds are okay, but there is no music unfortunately, this game would feel a lot better even with just some autotracker music.
http://i.imgur.com/glVMS.png

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:27pm

With something as simple as a basic platformer you really have to concentrate on making the basic gameplay elements fun. In this case running, jumping, and fighting.
Sadly none of them are fun at the moment, they are just too slow and not thrilling at all.

You should make a post-compo version and give us more running and jumping... hence the name "Jump n' Run"! ;)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Yes it's not really ready, because I hadn't full 48 hours,
but I can't understand the bug in this picture: http://i.imgur.com/glVMS.png
(Yeah a triangle hasn't a rectangle-collision.. :|)

kddekadenz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:23pm

No link, no review.

Vurb says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:18pm

once you fall in the water there is no way to get out

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:50pm

You can swim up with W..

Kickerua says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:11am

Got stuck:
http://webftp.meridian93.com/2012-08-29_1007.png

It quite impossible to get down from your enemy:
http://webftp.meridian93.com/2012-08-29_1009.png
:-D

And funny that you can force enemy to make suicide:
http://webftp.meridian93.com/2012-08-29_1009_001.png

Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Yeah, the collision is already workable..

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Firefox says the links may be dangerous. They are safe, right?

yettatore says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:38am

I cant play the game. The explorer sends me a "server not found".

dredlockz says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:38am

links seem to be dead?

Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:38am

lol, the website is removed.. :|

Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:22pm

So I have loaded the files to another webspace..

Sep 7, 2012 @ 1:48pm

It was a fun game with great graphics, a solid engine, and decent audio, but literally nothing changed or evolved. There was just nothing new or theme-related here. Still, nice game, decently fun; I won't hold the theme against the overall category.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]