August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Hoppy!

by ElScootro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS: Click or touch to jump and boost!

Your robot's ability to fly changes as you collect fuel orbs. Both the game mechanics and your play style has to evolve as you progress through the level. Just click or tap to jump!

PLEASE HAVE PATIENCE WITH LOADING: Some browsers just show a black screen on loading rather than the loader. If you see a black rectangle, give it a minute.

TECH:

HTML5 using Cocos2D HTML5 alpha http://www.cocos2d-x.org/projects/cocos2d-x/wiki/Html5

Adobe CS4

Tiled Map Editor: http://www.mapeditor.org/

PLATFORMS:

Web Browser

Tested in latest build of Firefox, Chrome and IE9 - Works on iOS but has framerate issues. Not tested on Android or other platforms that aren't listed.

PROJECT GOALS:

The main goal with my first Ludum Dare was to make my first HTML5 game.

My second goal was to explore the Cocos2D HTML5 alpha. http://www.cocos2d-x.org/projects/cocos2d-x/wiki/Html5 It's looking awesome! If the JS binding to Android and iPhone works out well, I think this might be the best way to make cross-platform games in the near future.

My third goal was to incorporate music in a cool way. I wanted the player to make choices that determined the music and changed the play environment. That didn't happen due to my JS skills being so-so and my 1yo girl being too cute to ignore all weekend :)

I really wanted this to be playable on iPad, but my iPad2 is having performace issues. May be okay on iPad3, not sure.

ART: I can't draw, but spent too much of my time trying :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#511Humor1.71
#530Graphics2.48
#599Fun2.25
#666Innovation2.09
#667Overall2.33
#674Mood1.75
#707Theme1.77

Comments

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:09am

The boost timing is REALLY difficult with a mouse (it is possible though!). Managed to get to the trophy thing at the end. If anything the biggest issues besides what you've already pointed out would be the difficulty in timing jumps and the unforgiving hitbox, hitbox actually seems to be a little larger than the robot so you die well before you hit something or even if you clearly miss it. Aside from that pretty interesting for a one button platformer, probably plays a bit better on a tablet than at the computer though.

Krise20 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:52pm

i Agree with Raptor85, the collision detection is off, it also lags a bit every time you picked up an item. but the game is simple enough

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Cool game.

Please consider having the boost go when you click, as oppose to when you release. This makes it super hard with a mouse.

Also, there coudl have probably been a better way to visually show how many boosts you have left.

Nice job!

Toastation says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:13pm

It's very defficult but it's fun

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:33pm

I can't really say anything else aside from the ones already mentioned. But I can comment on the difference between running the gmae on Firefox and Chrome. It lags on FIrefox frequently than Chrome.

epriestley2 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:37pm

You should position the robot higher on the screen so it's easier to see what's below you. It's very difficult to jump down from ledges because you can't see if you're falling into spikes you until it's too late to boost.

The boost mechanic was pretty fun once I got the hang of it, though.

ghoulsblade says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:31pm

cool idea! but should be able to look down further when airborne, frustrating to hit spikes because you can't see the ground.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Pretty difficult game you got here! fun though!

tcstyle says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Web version didn't work that well on firefox/win. The controls are tough. I will give the win version a try and rating tomorrow.

vigrid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Congratulations on completing your game. The controls are a bit... Hard to understand? All I could do was to jump. And that's it?

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Graphics look good. I played the web version and the glitches make, what seems a like fun game, a bit too hard :(

ElScootro says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Thanks for the comments. Pretty much all of the things you all are mentioning is stuff I wish I would have had time to do.

The reason for using the mouse was because I tried to make it work with iPad as well. I really should have made it work with keyboard for desktop players.

Thanks for rating and commenting!

Nile says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:40am

Unfortunately I just kept getting stuck at the beginning in Chrome due to lag.

Teknik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:49pm

played on my pc. it played fine, spikes clipped me a few times when they probably shouldn't. great game overall.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I like how you don't lose orbs when you fail, but the hitbox was pretty unforgiving and you should move the camera more down, it's frustrating to die because you can't see what's below you.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Very difficult gameplay, but fun. I gave up after a while - couldn't click fast enough, and my wrist was hurting. A little slower pace would make this a lot more user-friendly. Nice work.

Sep 10, 2012 @ 8:03pm

I thought it was an interesting idea, it was kind of satisfying to keep the little guy in the air with the jumps. Definitely agree with others that it was frustrating that all you could see was sky, then you'd land on some spikes. Can see a refined version of this being fun on a tablet or phone

Matt Rix says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 1:00am

This actually has a lot of potential to be fun, but the collision detection is *really* bad. There also isn't much connection to the theme at all.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]