Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolution Heroes - Rubsrub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The parody game about most popular old-school heroes and evolution sequence. If you doubt all music and sprites was created by me.

View Rubsrub's journal. | View all entries by Rubsrub

Ratings

Coolness78%
#49Audio3.55
#86Graphics3.85
#132Overall3.45
#157Humor2.82
#203Mood2.97
#215Fun3.10
#327Theme3.00
#417Innovation2.75

Comments

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Great graphics especially the lighting. movement/controls felt a little slow. sounds are cheerful

Drabiter says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:15am

Great hard, the mechanism is kinda hard because the sprites are kinda small :)

Kickerua says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:29am

Cool graphics. :)
It's so fun to see Worm Jim. :)
A little bit annoying enemies, maybe you should disable respawn?

jijaweb says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:16am

I love it! Like the graphics and the music. Fun!

leafo says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:05pm

This game looks really cool. I found it hard hitting the enemies. Great music.

monomanio says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Wow, awesome graphics, and the sound aspect is amazing :)

rxi says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:52pm

As others have said the graphics were excellent. It was nice to see some familiar characters in a lower resolution form, especially with how well they were done. I enjoyed the music, too, and how it managed to link in to each character.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:02pm

haha, this was fun game, at first I was wondering how the character looks like earthworm jim, then I noticed rest of the characters are all from videogames too.

it was short and sweet. Really good minimalistic graphics, hitting enemies with attacks was bit hard though.

Kmad says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Looks good and is a decent concept, I found it a little difficult as the sprites were very small and the levels were quite crowded. It's a good effort and quite fun.

garygreen says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:51pm

That's definitely a frustrating but fun "just one more go" type of game. Thought the graphics were well done and the fact that your character changes was a clever/nice touch.

Dan C says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Great graphics and sound. Good use of the theme. Amazing amount of content for a 48 hour game.

It's let down quite badly by the controls in places.

The worst controls problem is that some of the characters cancel their attacks if you press z again too soon. This is really misleading in the case of the first character, since the attack animation plays but no damage is dealt. Took me quite a while to figure out what was going on.

Jorjon says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:59pm

Nice one! The hit area was problematic, and I was like 5 minutes with Jim trying to hit things

Starmen says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:52pm

The hit detection seemed kind of broken to me. I couldn't hit anything at all.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Good effort to integrate all these old school heroes :)
It was hard and frustrating because of controls, but I wanted to go until the end.
I didn't understand why sometimes, Mario dies, and sometimes, he just goes through the enemies...

ggiraldez says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:06am

Very nicely done! Good graphics and sound (music gets a bit annoying after a while though). The game screen is a bit small, making it difficult to see and control the character with precision in a high res monitor.

yosh says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:11am

You're playing the nostalgic string :D
Controls are a bit tight but that's good overall!

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:32am

the character reminds me of earth worm jim :)

marudziik says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:09am

Great music and awesome graphics. I really like the references to Earthworm Jim, Battletoads, Sonic and Mario - I just cannot figure the long and blue one (around the middle). I liked the overall gameplay, but there seem to be some collision problems (Mario was especially frustrating), especially since controls feel a bit stiff. Checkpoints when "leveling up" feel a little arbitrary and sometimes they help, sometimes don't (see: Mario). To sum up, I'm really impressed by the look and feel - controls could use a little fixing, but this is an awesome entry anyway!

Sestren says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:50am

Loved the classic videogame references. The tiny graphical style was great!

Sestren says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:10am

Ecco the Dolphin is the second, I'm pretty sure. I'm guessing big-time on this one, but is the one before Sonic perhaps Chip or Dale from the Rescue Rangers?

Jacic says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:54pm

The jumping controls were a bit touchy, but it was fun.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]