Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Augment to advance - littleball - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A tricky little platform game, where you need to evolve your speed, jumping ability and gliding.

You can use the keys "WAD" or arrow keys to move. "R" will restart the current level, and "M" will mute the audio.

There are 15 levels to frustrate you ( and yes is meant to be hard - it's as unforgiving as old school gaming )

I hope you enjoy my first Ludum Dare entry!

View littleball's journal. | View all entries by littleball

Ratings

Coolness59%
#305Overall3.09
#307Mood2.75
#358Audio2.45
#367Graphics2.94
#430Humor1.91
#431Theme2.75
#482Fun2.59
#556Innovation2.41

Comments

maxx says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 4:47pm

I like the idea. Two things: The character moves way too fast. Maybe you can scale down the speed a little. I felt like i was playing on an emulator on max frameskip if you know what i mean.
Second, if i keep the up key pressed it will sometimes perform a super-jump allowingme to cheat. Don't know if this is intentional. I got stuck at a level where the speed frustrated me. I`ll keep the game on my watchlist, looking foward to the last version!

littleball says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 5:47pm

The double jump is a bug, which I'm trying to fix. However the game is meant to be fast which makes it hard, so I'm not sure that's something I want to do.

littleball says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 5:59pm

The double jump bug is now fixed

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:45pm

I thought this was fun, the speed is a little frustrating though.

Thurig says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Nice idea, but speed of the game is too high for me. The music is better then what I made.

littleball says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Ok I've taken the comments on board and slowed it down a little, without taking away the too much of the difficulty.

maxx says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:32pm

3130
Wow, that was hard, finally, after getting used to the mechanics at this high speed i managed to beat it. I enjoyed it, congrats. Plus, the game is well attached to the theme,

Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Wow that is hard! I enjoyed it n.n

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:32am

I agree with others, the character moves too quickly and it just leads to frustration. I also found the fact that you could stand on power ups a tad frustrating. The 4th level, for instance, has a jump power up (at the top near where you spawn) which I found impossible to collect. The art style is good but perhaps not unique enough to stand out from the crowd of similar games.

JokerDen says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:40am

Wow, It's was... very fast :) Not bad style.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:41am

A bit hard / fast :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:47am

This is a clever game. Almost as clever as one of my puzzle-platformers! You make me proud, son.

My only gripe is the character movement, it's slippery and collisions are unprecise.

mechagk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Great and frustrating game! Hits the mood it's aiming for.

emveyh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:02pm

You move a bit to fast and the controls in general are a bit weird. graphics and sounds are good :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Looks and sounds very good, I like the idea of evolving your skills to complete the levels, way too hard for me though

elbowroom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:44am

I liked the game and the upgrades. It was fast paced and reminded me of oldskul platformers on the NES.
All and all, very good.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Overall fun game! I think the player didn't have enough of a curve when jumping, but then I didn't really mind too much. Great job!

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:01am

I like how it feel hectic to begin with even without any enemies. Nice graphics too.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:17am

Interesting, although the game is kinda clunky, the controls don't work very well, and much of the difficulty seems to come from that. Maybe if the controls were fixed (ie you move in the appropriate way when the arrow keys are held down), and then if the game started off slower, and got faster it would seem better. The main issue I felt was the fact that gravity was so ridiculously fast

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Nice idea but difficult controls :)

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:37pm

I loved the game. It's pretty damn hard...

Jorjon says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:39am

The speed killed me!!!

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:22am

Ouch that was hard. I got to level 7 before I had to give in. I liked the challenge and felt as though I was achieving something when I beat a level but the jump was just a little too frustrating for me. I did like how the length of the levels and ability to reset meant that you could just get straight back into things when you botched it. I also loved the fact that the powerups doubled up as a platform which lead to some nice little puzzle elements. I think the movement might need just a little bit of tightening up as that was what made me have to put the game down in the end. Great work though!

link2x101 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:37am

Fix you jumping engine. Far too sharp, even for a retro style. Parabolas, not the graph of a square-root.

You fix that and this game becomes 1000% more enjoyable.

Besides that, a generally good job.
Music got quite repetitive.
Good use of theme. Liked the idea, but mediocre execution.
Lacking smoothness (even retro/old-skool games do have smoothness).
Don't anti-alias the text in the game! It breaks the look and generally does not look very nice.
Allow an extra alternate jump key, preferably the space bar or Z.


Made it to level nine and couldn't make it any further.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:41am

Love the art style.

ubear says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:48am

Very nice game, except music, it's quite annoying for me.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:11am

Controls could be tricky sometimes, but I like the concept and levels are well thought.

SiENcE says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Ha, you choose the same 2bit style as me. But your game is a lot harder. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]