August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Monster League

by Loginaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SUPER IMPORTANT UPDATE: Using JarSplice I have managed to get the jar working! Run the JAR at the windows link to play! :D

I've only been coding for about two months, but I don't think its SUPER bad. Let me know what you think of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#139Theme3.52
#353Humor2.10
#509Innovation2.54
#619Graphics2.25
#669Mood1.79
#691Overall2.29
#709Fun1.83

Comments

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:27am

The battles were really boring to watch. I lost when this one fucker ran the clock by dodging. There's virtually no upgrade variety, and the fact that it costs points to turn an upgrade off is just bad design.

LogGiant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:39am

The combat system is definitely far from great. In the end it came down to focusing on finishing the menus or working on combat, and I chose the menus.
What I was going for (which may have not been obvious seeing as I never really had anyone play-test it) was that it costs points to evolve and devolve the creature, and "toggle" may have been a poor choice of words to describe it.
Thanks for the feedback!

Mamick says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:46am

Good idea, but boring battles really hamper the game (maybe a fast forward button would fix things). The drawings are cool, but you may have been trying to do to much in too little time.

LogGiant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:49am

Yeah, I started learning some Java in early may, and I started using LWJGL and slick around June, and it turns out this was a lot more work than I was ready for. I would definitely make the battles more interesting if I had some extra time to work on it, and I would make the text look less like a ransom note.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49pm

LOL "less like a ransom note". I feel the same way about the battles, but definitely a good job in such little time! And I love how the visual changed with each "evolution".

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:54pm

I really like the idea. The visuals are nice too, though as others have said the battles are kind of slow. Nice work.

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Combat system seemed more than a bit rushed, as did pretty much ever aspect of the game. It was a really cool concept, though, and had it been executed well it'd have made for a really good game.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:07pm

I focused on an agility monster on my first round and he immediately died on my first try. Went with an all Strength next and I was unstoppable. Mwahaha. The battles could use a little more movement.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:17pm

I do not know how to run this game via windows. I wanted to try it via wine. Considering it was java, I thought I'd try it in linux.

In linux, my java -jar RunGame returns:
[Monsterleuge]$ java -jar RunGame.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: game/core/Driver : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: game.core.Driver. Program will exit.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Not too familiar with Java, but I could not get this game to run. I made sure I had the latest version of Java, but when I ran the game via the command line (java -jar RunGame.jar) I got the following error:


java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: game/core/Driver : Unsupported major.min
or version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: game.core.Driver. Program will exit.
Exception in thread "main"

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Needs more feedback for what stuff does. The idea has potential though!

Markavian says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:19pm

I couldn't get this to run on Windows 7. Just silently fails to load.

Datw says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:39pm

The game and concept are great, but the battles are really boring, and the timer makes no sense since is almost impossible to beat a dude with 8hp at level 4, when you deal 1 dmg at time.

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:13am

I like the art style and all the various upgrades. It would have been interesting to know better what the various traits did in the battles. Like others, I found the slow pace of the battles a little frustrating; it would have been more exciting if there were 1-2 attacks per second and more health to play with, and have the whole thing last more like 10-15 seconds. I tried several times, and I always lost, so that was a little frustrating too - it would be nice to have the early battles a tad easier. I really like all the art, especially the picture when you lose with the four-legged hairy guy.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:09am

Loved your colours and clean visuals. Really good start and you did get a lot done in a short time. Well done! PS Appreciate your review!

Spelchan says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:52pm

I actually liked this despite the extremely rough edges. If you continue working on the game I would recommend making the combat more interesting, possibly letting the player give the monster suggestions.

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:47pm

give the player more information and don't let the game after one lose

metadept says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Pretty cool idea; I really enjoyed the way evolutions change the appearance of your monster. Battles could definitely use some work. A little bit of sound and animation (and maybe some different attack types?) could go a long way. It also seems like it's not possible to do more than 1 damage? My four armed spike snake with all points in strength won handily but just did 1 damage every time... Still, it's a fun little game with good potential.

Sep 8, 2012 @ 5:35am

Lost on my first playthrough and won on my second.
It's difficult to tell what exactly the stats do...
I liked the variety of monsters you could create though!
Wish the battles went a little faster.
Possibly with a line between the attacks in the text box.
Great job for your first time!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]