August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Dusty Balls

by Baburo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dusty Balls is a platformer, which should hurt your brains a bit as it progresses.

Player controls mystical spheres which try to find a way through underground temple.

Each level is randomly generated, based on how far you are in the game. Better you do in the game, the harder the levels will get.

You don't need to get all the balls to the end, but you only get score from the balls that reach the goal. When you have played through nine levels you will see your final score.

Can anyone reach the magical score of 45/45?


CONTROLS
---
Arrows:
Left/Right - Move the ball(s) around.
Up - Jump or climb, if next to a wall.
Down - Climb down if next to a wall, or slow down the speed of ball, if on the ground.

ESC - Go back to main menu(and restart from your previous level if stuck)



KNOWN BUGS
---

* When the ball gains a momentum it might fall through the floor to the void. You can press esc to get back to main menu and restart that level if this happens.
* Sometimes when playing on Mac, camera starts to shutter when the ball dies or goes to the goal.

POST-MORTEM
---
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/08/26/and-its-gone/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#113Graphics3.70
#115Innovation3.52
#233Overall3.22
#320Mood2.72
#327Fun2.87
#459Audio2.16
#582Humor1.43
#664Theme1.94

Comments

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:10pm

I like the environment, reminds me 'The Ball'.
Sometimes, a ball just go through the floor, because of the high speed. Then, I'm stuck in the game. It's a known issue in the physics of Unity, you should try to make your walls a little thicker, or add additional walls.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:01am

yeah, when I realized that issue I didn't have time to fix it :/. I'm gonna update it in an after compo release.
You should get away from it by pressing Esc, which takes you to main menu and pressing play again. Game saves your situation after each "level", so you shouldnt lose that much progress.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:10am

Oh man, that gets really hard to focus on so many screens at once, interesting game!

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:32am

Seems that when playing on Mac, there is very annoying shuttering bug with the cameras. That is NOT intenional, I just didn't have a mac to test it on during the development.

Karel says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:44am

Don't really see the connection with the theme, but fun nonetheless!

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:48am

Great concept! I would have liked for a light or a particle effect on spikes, though, so that you could see them in the corner of your eye.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:56am

Karel, yeah my original idea had much more emphasis on the theme, but I failed to achieve it in time. :/ This one just "evolves as you play it" as in, more balls to control and longer levels.

Desi, there should be a red light near spikes, which you should be able to see with a corner of your eyes. Don't know if they are too feint then after all. :o

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:59am

This game reminds me of Metroid. This is fun to play, but a bit hard with 6 balls on the screen. I enjoyed it.

michax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:07am

Enjoyed playing it!

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38am

Nice graphics! There's an xbox indie game just like this. Not sure how this fits the evolution theme?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:40am

Reminds me of Oxyd, and also that time I played two carts in Mario Kart. The idea is cool, but the game is harde

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:05am

Thanks for the feedback, guys.
Thurig: Yeah, even though I've played metroid quite a bit, didnt connect this one to it until you mentioned. :P
eyehawk: thanks, do you remember the name of that indie game?
Dietrich: Haha, haven't tried "dual mario kart" :P Oxyd seems like a cool concept, especially for it's age.

odrega says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:31am

Your right about making my brain hurt! Good game, good game

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:33am

Not my favorite type of puzzle, but great art and a lot of content especially considering the time limit.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Thanks, Bemmu. Really enjoyed your game. :)

Althegreat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

I frickn' love this game!

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Had trouble understanding the control and how the wall climb worked. The game has a nice setting!

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:48pm

I really like the idea however in practice I'm not convinced it's very fun. Controlling each ball at the same time was impossible for me once I reached three or more. I ended up just focusing on one and hoping things went OK for the others. I think the mechanic of controlling multiple balls at the same time is interesting, but maybe you can find a variation that doesn't prove overwhelming.

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:50pm

Nice mechanic. Really liked the idea. My brain doesn't seem to be able to manage more than 4 views at the same time tough :D Some ambience/music would have made this really complete.

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:00pm

aschearer: Thanks for the feedback. I've realized, that after three or more balls, good tactic is to try get one ball at a time to the goal while only concentrating on other balls if they are near spikes. If you, or someone come up with variations to the gameplay, please let me know. :)

madpew: Thanks, mate. I would've wanted some kick ass ambient there, but wasn't able to produce it in time :/

Waynetron says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Ouch, my brain!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Great idea, I like the graphics. But it's really really hard.

Zed says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:36pm

I was doing quite well, and then I got to like, 9 at once, or something, and THEN my ball fell through the floor. It's REALLY cool, and I'd like to see you take it further after the competition.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Easy to learn, impossible to master ? :)

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:27pm

ncannasse: Definitely. I've noticed that I like to play the game myself more and more as I'm forced to play it when testing it. :) That happens rarely for me with my own games.

Zed: Thanks :). Oh that ball falling through the floor bug is really nerve wrecking if have a good score :/ Sorry about that.

sgehlich: Thanks :)

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Wow, very interesting concept ! And the graphics are very good too. Good job !

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Wow, what a great concept! It's very hard, but very fun. I like this. Good job!

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Cool, but a bit clunk.

Devaki says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Very creative gameplay, congrats!

polegar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Good idea and realisation, nice work ! Even if the camera goes crazy sometime on mac as you said :)

VAMflax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:04pm

My poor brain...

Great idea, well executed! Literally in my case, balls were dying left, right, and centre!! :)

I like!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Pretty fun, coulnd't keep up at around 4 screens lol

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:26pm

That was really cool, I agree that it reminds me of 'The Ball' in terms of its art style. Your game play mechanic with the split screen was excellent.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:01pm

I liked it, but I didn't quite get this: I only need to finish the stage with one of the balls? I thought at first that I needed to make all of them go in, but once they died and I could finish with only one I was confused!

Good job! Nice art :)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:06am

Very interesting!

Baburo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:07am

LuizHGMonclar: Thanks. :) The goal is to play through all nine levels and try to get as many balls to the goal as possible. You don't need to get any of the balls to the goal to proceed to the next level. Maximum score possible is 45/45, which means you don't hit ANY spikes. :P

Thanks for all the feedback guys. If you can think of anything how I could improve the game in future, please let me know.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:54am

Interesting idea! I like the going-up-walls gag, it gives this another dimension :)

(remember to upload your source, otherwise we can't score this)

X-0ut says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Very good production standards.
Encountered a game breaking bug on stage 4, one of the balls fell through the scene.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Nice concept. When you have loads of screens it gets quite frustrating because it's nearly impossible to spot the spikes on all the screens at once. Was fun to play.

sclark39 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:26pm

I think a game like this requires much stronger level design. As it stands, I found myself just controlling each ball one by one to get them to the end, rather than trying to control them all harmoniously.
One easy way to ensure people can't do that would be to actually have walls blocking one ball also block the others (so if one ball is stuck, they are all stuck). But again, that requires good level design to ensure the challenge can actually be completed.
Nice texture work.

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Man, I loved the renders, it's so beautiful!

Great puzzle design, kudos!

Igor Silva says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:46pm

I like this game, the multi-cameras is amazing.

wlad says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:19am

nice game! i think you might want to stretch the intervalls between new balls. e.g. three levels with one ball, four with two etc. so our brains can adapt to the new situation. i really like the graphics!

Baburo says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Wlad, thanks for the feedback. That is a great idea, I'm currently developing this idea further and will do that. For this competition entry, I thought that people might want to see the game develop faster and not get bored out too quickly :P

wombatica says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:59pm

very cool. Like the graphics

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Nice game. It does make your brain hurt a bit. Some very promising ideas.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]