August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Mutate

by JPatrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sorry for no OSX download, game blackscreens on osx with no error

You have to extract it from the zip for it to work :)
My first ludum dare :D
Level up by killing zombies, each level gives a new mutation. Can you get the right mutations to survive?
See the How to play section in game for details, use W and S to navigate the main menu, enter to select

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#461Audio2.14
#545Humor1.58
#559Fun2.38
#605Theme2.28
#644Overall2.40
#646Mood1.92
#711Graphics1.87
#715Innovation1.93

Comments

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:26am

Nice first entry. I found it funny bullets are moving fluently, but characters are moving in tiles. I first didn't realize, but it makes perfect sense to do so from coding pov. gj

JPatrick says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Thank you :D I did it tile movement because I didnt really have time to try to get it to be fluid :D

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:40am

Getting just a black window on OS/X

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

Got stuck and then fell of the level. Hey don't get me wrong I liked it but you should keep at this one.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:45am

Hey liked it and you should keep at this one.

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:45am

Glamdring, anychance you could run it from the terminal and comment with the error you get please? I dont have a mac so I cant test myself :) Thank you

Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:47am

I liked this game because it's like one of the old platformers that you would get on a website in Flash, but it has the nice evolution twist which rewards the player as they continue to play.

FatalCaca says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:49am

The game stays 1s and then quit (WinXp sp3)

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:51am

Did you extract it from the zip?

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:54am

Timster studios Thank you :)

ggiraldez says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:04am

Instructions are misleading! :) I couldn't get it to shoot with the spacebar. Clicking works though. Tile movement is weird. But the high jumping and gliding makes it fun.

mottmatt says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:10am

Hey JPatrick, I ran into some trouble getting your game running. I'm testing this with a Windows 7 32-bit box. Here's some data:

# java -version
java version "1.6.0_31"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b05)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode, sharing)

# java -jar mutate_windows.jar
Tue Aug 28 00:00:39 EDT 2012 INFO:Slick Build #274
Tue Aug 28 00:00:39 EDT 2012 INFO:LWJGL Version: 2.8.4
Tue Aug 28 00:00:39 EDT 2012 INFO:OriginalDisplayMode: 1920 x 1080 x 32 @59Hz
Tue Aug 28 00:00:39 EDT 2012 INFO:TargetDisplayMode: 640 x 400 x 0 @0Hz
Tue Aug 28 00:00:39 EDT 2012 ERROR:Pixel format not accelerated
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.nChoosePixelFormat(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.choosePixelFormat(WindowsPeerInfo.java:52)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsDisplay.createWindow(WindowsDisplay.java:228)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:303)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:845)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.tryCreateDisplay(AppGameContainer.java:299)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.access$000(AppGameContainer.java:34)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$2.run(AppGameContainer.java:364)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:345)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:314)
at me.jack.LD24.Main.Main.main(Main.java:31)
at me.jack.LD24.Main.Frame$1.run(Frame.java:34)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Error starting Mutate
org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Failed to initialise the LWJGL display
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:375)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:314)
at me.jack.LD24.Main.Main.main(Main.java:31)
at me.jack.LD24.Main.Frame$1.run(Frame.java:34)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.AccessControlContext$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Maikeroppi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:33am

Interesting game! I made it to level 8.

A few notes:
-I couldn't shoot with spacebar. After a while, I figured out I could click (left mouse button) to shoot.
-It seems like gravity is entirely single tile based which takes some getting used to. In particular, it seems like when you land on a tile, it takes about a second to be able to jump again.
-It took a bit to notice the enemies don't hurt the player, they shift they player by a tile space left or right.

Nifty things:
-The shooting portion is pretty fun. I like the speed you can fire.
-Graphics and sound effects are pretty nice.

LemonTree says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:45am

Cool game! Good luck!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Good first attempt. I could not get the game to fire when pressing space-bar (is this a late mutation?)

I also found that sometimes enemies would bunch up on the edge of a platform and stay there, making it difficult, if not impossible to make it to that platform and making the level unwinnable.

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Oh, sorry, shooting is left mouse, I was rushing to add the instructions at the end :) mottmat,your computer does not support opengl, so you wont be able to play, sorry

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Cannot launch on my MBP :-(

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:30pm

can you run it from the terminal and post the error here?

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:46pm

I don´t like jumping very much... It is somehow wierd. I don´t know, maybe you fall too slow? And also mutations... I got like 10 of them but there wasn´t any change. (Maybe they will be useful at the end?)
But anyway, it is good game. I am definitely going to play it again. (And again, and again...)

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Nice concept, but the movement was a bit annoying

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Black screen in OSX

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:08pm

why is there no executable in the windows archive?

faijdherbe says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:08pm

black screen on OSX here as well, ran it from terminal (java -jar mutate_osx.jar) got no errors at all.

output:
Tue Aug 28 17:06:02 CEST 2012 INFO:Slick Build #274
Tue Aug 28 17:06:02 CEST 2012 INFO:LWJGL Version: 2.8.4
Tue Aug 28 17:06:02 CEST 2012 INFO:OriginalDisplayMode: 1280 x 800 x 32 @0Hz
Tue Aug 28 17:06:02 CEST 2012 INFO:TargetDisplayMode: 640 x 400 x 0 @0Hz
Tue Aug 28 17:06:03 CEST 2012 INFO:Starting display 640x400
Tue Aug 28 17:06:03 CEST 2012 INFO:Use Java PNG Loader = true
Loading: net.java.games.input.OSXEnvironmentPlugin
Tue Aug 28 17:06:03 CEST 2012 INFO:Found 0 controllers
false
New Tile made
New Tile made
New Tile made
New Tile made
New Tile made
Tue Aug 28 17:06:05 CEST 2012 INFO:Initialising sounds..
Tue Aug 28 17:06:05 CEST 2012 INFO:- Sound works
Tue Aug 28 17:06:05 CEST 2012 INFO:- 64 OpenAL source available
Tue Aug 28 17:06:05 CEST 2012 INFO:- Sounds source generated

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Hmm, thank you for running it :) Looks like im gonna have to remove osx download :(

shadowdruid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Unusual movement but I like it. Of course it could be better animated.
Some more information about the muations you get would be fine, too.
Good game so far.

JPatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Yeah, im not the best at graphics :D

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Fun game it took a couple minutes to get used to the controls/speed of the game but i enjoyed it.

DaviDeMo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:16pm

click to fire with the mouse without being able to aim is not the best. Maybe attack with CTRL or spacebar, I don't know.
btw, good work =)

Gidaio says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:29pm

It was fun, but the tile-based movement was jarring, and jumping was really awkward.

Sidnoea says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:05am

An okay game. One of my problems was I did not know what the mutations were actually doing, since they weren't labeled. Also, on my opinion, the direction of shooting should have depended on where the mouse is relative to the player instead of the last direction the player moved in. Finally, a small design tip: the animation of the player and zombies is choppy, while the bullets move smoothly; you should pick one style or the other, because they don't blend well.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:41am

The player physics were pretty strange, and it took me a while to realize I had to press space at the end of each level to continue. Do the mutations do anything? I couldn't tell... Good effort though!

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:49am

This game was great. I was having really awesome flashbacks to grade school when my friends and I would make"video games" on construction paper with pens. we Always had some maze thing going on and you needed to get a gun and a key and kill badguys.

This really hit home for me. Thanks for this game.

I had problems first with win7 but I looked at the settings in security and unchecked some crap. Here is a screen shot of what was stopping windows 7 from "dealing with it"

http://i.imgur.com/LuD9I.png

daydalus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:54am

Nice job completing your first LD48. Thought the bullets / gravity were a little slow. Also, after completing a few levels I think the "You have 0 mutations" popped up a bunch of times.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:58am

Pretty cool game, but I found the controls and movement very frustrating. I also didn't get any mutations after a few levels, which made me wonder if I'd ever get them. If you tweak the controls/movement, I think it's got some potential for really being fun :)

EatThePath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:04am

Kept playing until a key spawned on top of the door and made it impossible to get through. passing through messages seems a little flaky too. I like the idea of randomized upgrades, but the player starts out so capable compared to the challenges, they were nearly ignorable.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:51am

the character jumps way too fast in relation to how fast he falls.
Try not to spam debug output into console; it often decreases performance significantly ;)

plule says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Haha, silly moving, but funny.

UntitledQ says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:36pm

I was confused the clicking wouldn't shoot in the direction of the mouse but rather your last movement direction - why use the mouse button then? :S

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:42am

The only thing who move smoothly is bullets, everything else not.. That was very annoying. Btw, is a good start for the first work ever! Keep doing! :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]