August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Treevolution

by djacobs7 - Jam Entry

Story:

According to a forgotten ancient legend, 10 million years ago there were only 7 things.
The 7 things were:
Fish. Yarn. Buttons. Communism. Magic. Hats.

This was an odd legend.

From these 7 things, humanity evolved. And so did lots of other things...

Nobody knows for sure, but one popular opinion states that people grew on trees.

Your challenge is to outsmart evolution. Combine elements to grow trees, and evolve humans before 10,000 BC.

Notes:

Game play should be pretty self explanatory. Easy to figure out the rules, really difficult to win.

Here is a spoiler to get you started:
hat + magic = rabbit



Credits:
For how to generate dynamic trees: http://algorithmicbotany.org/papers/abop/abop-ch1.pdf

Music is by Edward Grieg, thanks to Kevin Macleod.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor(Jam)3.85
#47Innovation(Jam)3.38
#48Theme(Jam)3.38
#57Mood(Jam)3.25
#65Overall(Jam)3.38
#91Graphics(Jam)3.54
#123Fun(Jam)2.92
#128Audio(Jam)2.75
#986Coolness22%

Comments

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

Pretty funny and original game you have here. Graphics had a nice indy feel to them. Still haven't figured out how to make humans, but did find some funny combinations ;) The buttons felt a little unresponsive at times, and it was a little tedious waiting for my tree to get destroyed so I could start over. Great game though, good work!

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:30am

hah, i like the humor.

axcho says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:34am

Art and music were great, personality and humor were great too. I wish the game moved faster so I spent more time making choices and less waiting for the animation to hurry up already. Maybe my computer just chugs when the tree gets too leafy. :P But still.

It would be great to see this on an iPhone or something. Something faster.

YopSolo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:39pm

Really funny, well done :)

tcstyle says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Well done with the style and humor. Gets frustrating after some time trying around to combine stuf.

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:02pm

I couldn't work out the combinations :( me being stupid?

Love the art, music, text everything really. Neat concept. Wish I could have skipped some of the animations though, that would of kept me playing longer.

Teknik says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:51pm

great game. a little slow at time waiting for the tree to grow and de-grow. but awesome none the less.

chumez says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:54am

Nicely done, the art and the music fits, a bit confusing at times, but interesting nonetheless.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Quirky and really nicely presented. A bit tedious having to wait a long time when you choose an incorrect combination, although some of the correct combinations are quite amusing. Reminds me a bit of the old LucasArts point-and-click adventure games, where things always made sense on some odd level of logic (e.g. you need it to rain, so you start washing a car and naturally it rains immediately afterwards).

Andy Go says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:52am

Good.
But I have to say it's a little boring to combine a lot of things without results.There should be more possible combinations I think.

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:54pm

well presented, interesting to play for awhile, but I could find little logic to the combinations. Slow end animation made me quit early.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]