August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

TOWER OFFENSE

by Graf_Grun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where cells eat each other to make themselves better and try to pass towers.

If a cell eats a cell at or above its own level, it will use those advanced parts (or whatever) and make itself significantly better.

If a cell eats a cell below its own level, it will only absorb the HP.

UPDATE: (post compo)
In 'GUIDELINES' is a document describing all the secrets in the game. Looking at it may ruin the fun of the discovery of all the ways for a cell to evolve, but will also make sure you found them all. Look at it if you want, it isn't an official part of the game.

The post-compo version is slightly better. The changes are as follows:
- implemented 'halo' around changing cells ( I had wanted to do this but ran out of time).
- prevented an error that occasionally prevents one from getting past wave two of level one.
- added support for skipping dialog with <enter>.
- added support for visiting past dialog with <backspace>.
- fixed some text errors in the dialog.
- added 'fastforward' button that will remove the cap on fps and allow the simulation to run faster (if your computer sucks it won't run any faster).
- fixed turrets spawning wrong (in the original code I accidently switched the data value for 'kind' with data value for 'wavespawn' making a basic turret that should spawn in wave two spawn as a machinegun turret in wave one).
- added the identity of the mysterious static at the end of level five! It's pretty epic. Well, maybe not...

Please don't look directly at the bugs!
http://puu.sh/ZpuZ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#29Humor3.70
#37Theme3.94
#45Innovation3.81
#78Mood3.44
#90Fun3.48
#97Overall3.55
#213Graphics3.35
#324Audio2.55

Comments

Folis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:49pm

It was somehow weird, but I liked it! It's like your personal bio-chemical sandbox :D

The tutorial is also very well-made

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:44pm

It's awesome game ☺

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Tried to run this on linux via wine, but the mouse got stuck. Sorry!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:19pm

too much text in the intro :P

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:23pm

download is quiet slow...
27 minutes remaining... then you get a rating :-)

Ponte says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Interesting concept and funny dialogs.

My Milked Eek says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:44pm

I liked it, interesting concept. :)

Rellikiox says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:47pm

I really enjoyed the game, even though I don't think I understand how it works :D

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

very interesting premise! I enjoyed the colorful dialogue =) It was hard to figure out the rhyme and reason behind what-eating-what in which order. Maybe that could be simplified a bit, at least in the beginning of the game.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:04am

The letters in the intro were too small, but was very fun and the concept fit very well with the theme!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:06am

Actually his was quite innovative and cute. I think if you put some more time into this it could shine.

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:25am

Lots of stars from me! gobble gobble

Graf_Grun says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:46am

@pythong
Sorry.

@fruitfly
Sorry, it only takes me five seconds...

@flyingbear
I put up 'Guidelines' in the downloads, but figuring out the rhyme and reason is the fun of it.

@ramoncb
Sorry, I actually made them 2x size, but then I accidently lost that code and was too lazy to recreate it (plus, I was out of time).

@thewiseguy99
Time? Time? What's that?

@Kharza
Thanks, I very much enjoy your stars...

linkzns says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

I thought the game progressed a little slow on the beginning, but uses the theme very well! I loved the concept.

Also, the tutorial should be skippable, or at least have a way to click to make it faster, because it takes a lot of time in that letter by letter typing.

Overall, good job!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Very well made!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Not too innovative but still a good game!

jobe says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Good idea and well executed game. A bit slow maby

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:45am

SUCH funny dialogue during the tutorial :) I really liked the super crisp graphical style. I must admit, the game has a very slow pace, so I found it hard to reply more than a couple times. Good job though

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:03am

I very much enjoyed finding out all the different types of things to make...

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Perhaps it's only me.... but I found the game really hard. >_<
Couldn't pass the second stage... =X

But it's really fun. =D I'll probably play it again later. =D

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Good idea, good execution, ace tutorial. Most commendable work!

echa says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Very intresting game mechanic.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Very nice and innovative concept. I would make a post-compo-version! The following you should improve:

- Breeding gets annoying because pausing and breeding the right cells is sometimes fiddly, e.g. if you clicked on the wrong cell or if you must wait until it hits the door and comes back.
- There should be more control to what cells they evolve instead of hoping a useful comes out. But luck should still be part of the breeding.

Perhaps a starting screen where the player chooses how to breed?

metaldemon says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:16pm

nice one :P i liked the commentator :P

tastive says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 2:19am

Very cool concept. Definitely needs a fast way to move through the opening text, though!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]