August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Additive

by Desi Quintans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Additive is a color-mixing puzzle game. Instead of making a game about biological evolution, I tried to imply a change in behaviours or habits over time.

Instructions are in the game, and the first eight levels are a learn-as-you-go deal. A million thanks to Tau from IRC for finding a ton of bugs and shortcomings in my first release candidate!

Note to Linux types: This uses Unity. Unity 4 will add Linux support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#44Audio3.63
#55Innovation3.75
#67Overall3.65
#91Fun3.47
#112Mood3.22
#332Graphics3.04
#333Humor2.15
#583Theme2.34

Comments

NedortGames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:14am

Great, Addicting Loved the piano sounds they worked really well, could have done with some music though. The fact it was in unity dosn`t bother me as I sometimes use unity I already have the plugin installed

Nimphious says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:20am

The way the colours merge is like merging chromosomes, which is cool. This is a great little puzzle game, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Oreganik says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:51am

Good stuff. Wonderful interface, clever puzzles.

Jeremy1080 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:13am

I never hold on to puzzle games too long, but yours I just HAD to beat! It was great, and I love the piano!

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:29am

well polished game

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:34am

Reallu nice puzzle game. The sound effects worked really nice and gave a nice feedback on your actions. Sometimes I was lost that by combining which you would get which result, but thanks for the reset button I could retry easily.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:46am

Thoroughly enjoyed this little puzzle game! The gimmick was simple to learn which is a necessity in the genre. The dialogue had some humor to it akin to Brainage on the DS.

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:52am

Really great. The music and how great the aesthetics are really stood out. Congrats. The levels got pretty interesting as well. Good work on the design.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:00am

This is a really good puzzle game. A real pleasure to play.

mappum says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:53am

Wow! This is very polished, very professional, and a great game overall. I really like the unique, easy-to-learn, hard-to-actually-figure-out puzzle system, and the soothing piano noises. It also looks great.

Senekis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:45am

Really nice game.
My only suggestion is to limit the ammount of pieces that a black one can destroy, because that single thing makes all the levels ridiculously easy, as instead of following the expected pattern (I noticed how you set up the pieces so you can blend some, then combine teh ones of the same color and eventually reach the black ones), you can simply move one of the black pieces around and destroy everything with it.

Great job!

ttrkaya says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:38am

a beatiful game!

a little on the easy side, but that's okay. you should add a level editor, since it would be super easy.

I loved the sounds!

best game I've seen so far!

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:40am

And where is the evolution part? XD

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:30am

juaxix, a change in color. :p In the first 8 levels, the little flavour texts are about changing attitudes and behaviour too.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:52am

The sound effects were so well used and gave a real peaceful feel to it, really enjoyed this, nice work.

Kuulog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Nice, clever puzzle game. The piano sounds fit quite well. I'm not sure how this fits the theme, though.

Huchickut says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Really great game. The only problem is that some levels get way to easy when you just move the black pieces around. Maybe make the black ones unmoveable, so they can only destroy colors moved into them?

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Seconded. Black blocks makes it too easy.

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:11pm

The way the piano sound is use really appeals to me. Finished all puzzle, really good work.

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:11pm

So much great feedback, makes me so happy! ;___;

I totally agree with the black blocks making stuff too easy, and actually was thinking about making them immobile or making them only blendable with white tiles (which I cut out because of mounting complexity), but I had no time to test such a big change to the core game. I also felt it would be a bit better to err on the side of too easy since people don't have much time to play a game, but this is definitely something to improve on.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Such a simple concept, but really fun to play. It's fun to learn how the system works (it wasn't obvious for me at first). One minor nit-pick: I am color-blind, so I could hardly distinguish the green from the yellow keys. No problem though, took me a while to figure that out :P

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:50pm

WOW, I really LOVED the sound feedback, 5/5 on audio for that, FOR SURE.

I just can't let myself play clicking slow, lol! I have to set a tempo in my mind and go with that.. dude this is FUN!

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:09am

Man, I loved it!
The puzzles are challenging, I couldn't rest until I finished your game so congratulations for that :D

The piano sound was a nice touch, but I think you could've done a couple of more different sounds :)

Overall, great game!

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:50am

Nice audio, I liked how the gameplay mechanics because surprisingly more complex

muh_h says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:47pm

great concept,great game, really out of the box.

vigrid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Interesting puzzler, even though the conformance to evolution is a bit... Don't really know what to say. Just fun puzzler with good sound and graphics that do their job!

davisan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:09am

Greate game! I played until the end! The audio is great. The only problem is the black tiles. After a few movements it's easy to cheat with them. The graphics are simple, but they fit the mood.

shanezilla says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:16am

loved it!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Great stuff -- love the feel of this.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Really cool idea, but the black pieces are game-breaking!

pereubu says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:46pm

This concept is absolutely amazing. Super-addictive, easy to understand, easy to play. The feedbacks and ambiance are great, the panio remembers me the game "Splice". It's an awesome concept you NEED to devellop in a full game, absolutely great !

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:16am

Wahou, this game is wonderful.
Nice, simple, and addicting.
Maybe a bit too easy, some restriction on the black moves should have create more complex puzzles.
I would have tried also to implement some drag and drop for the pieces and may be create some variation of notes for each colour in addition to the variation on the action.

But these are details, this game is great.

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Great concept, well executed, and addicting until the end. But don't get me wrong, the game kinda tires the concept out by the end of the 16 levels :/

The simple graphics suit the simple concept behind the puzzle...
Some basic sounds would always be nice but oh well.

It isn't all that engaging though, mood and theme are rather missing in this (that gradient background just isn't enough, the lack of any sort of music too).

One of very few games I've ever given a 5 for in innovation.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Dave says: A fun puzzle game, with a very clean look.

Robotic says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Nice concept, works well and the game is very addiCtive
It's polished and well executed but I'd like to see it a bit moar fashion, in my opinion the piano and lack of artistic bias make it look like an old puzzle without ambition, whereas you could easily have put some flesh on those colored blocs. But don't get me wrong, this is an excellent game, and a fantastic work for <48 hours

Mango Man says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:26am

Great game! I'm sure this has been said, but black tiles are too powerful. :)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:07am

Way to use the unity colliers to select puzzle objects. The simple piano music added a lot to your entry. I ended up beating most levels by moving the black tiles around the board. I suspect there was a more elegant solution involving blending colors, but the black tiles got the job done.

netmute says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:46am

Nice and simple. Would work great on an iPad with a bit more polishing!

mes says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:18pm

cool concept, but i think the puzzle design needs some more work. there is little variety between puzzles and most of them you can solve trivially by walking the black tile around and absorbing everything.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Pretty good. I find the piano sounds a bit grating myself, but it's not too bad. Sometimes, it felt like I was solving the puzzles in a way different then I should've... I guess there are multiple solutions? Great for 48 hours, most puzzle games don't turn out this well.

yosh says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:01am

Well done! I really like the king of generated song that you got when mixing multiple piece quickly.
Also, on the last puzzle, you can simply only move the black squares and avoid any complexity. Is it something you wanted? (A scoring system would prevent this trick I suppose)

Desi Quintans says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:28am

yosh, the black square abuse is a common complaint so far, but it was intended for the final level because I wanted it to be easy to complete, just in case someone jumped to the end. I wasn't aware that it was possible on other levels, though.

cappelnord says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Fun and very clever!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:13pm

That was pretty darn fun! To have created a puzzle game in such a limited amount of time is quite impressive. Kudos.

raohmaru says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:04am

Nothing new to add to this thread. Lot of Kudos.

marudziik says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:25am

The biggest issue I had is already stated in previous comments (black blocks), along with ideas how to fix it. Other than that - the game is perfect. Great, simple visuals, interesting audio, and well - it's a complete puzzle game made for LD. That alone is really something hard to achieve! Great entry!

tomhunt says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 6:19am

I like the minimalist-yet-polished look to the graphics. The piano sounds are also a nice touch. The black blocks seem to make the game a bit too easy when they come into play. It seems like it could use some added twist to the color mixing.

mohammad says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Wow!
Very interesting game!
Had lots of fun!

Desi Quintans says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 6:40am

My first LD attempt ranked in the top 5%? It's an honor I couldn't have dreamed of. Thanks to all who played my game!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]