Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Sky in the Room - Porpentine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THOUSANDS OF HOURS OF NONSTOP VIOLENCE, SEX, DRUGS, DEPRAVITY IN A 4D ENVIRONMENT ENCOMPASSING BILLIONS OF MULTIVERSES, WITH OVER ONE THOUSAND "GAMEPLAY"

interactive fiction | Twine | mutant positive | queer | body romance | adaptive implants | vector anxiety | Italian pop songs | meloperadramatic | surgery | molto passione

the post-compo version is identical save for a few extra sentences and more interesting pissing

View Porpentine's journal. | View all entries by Porpentine

Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Mood3.92
#90Innovation3.58
#132Overall3.45
#193Humor2.66
#297Fun2.93
#494Theme2.58
#523Graphics2.51
#579Audio1.33

Comments

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:24am

I am going to play this.

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:45am

mondoooo caaaaaane!!!

Porpentine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:05am

SÌ!!!!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:07am

Love the story! And the underlying foundation of "I don't give a crap about conventions" :P

It seems somewhat big, I guess it'll take some time to fully explore everything.

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03am

Oh wow. I played as a girl, and it took me awhile to stop trying to "play" the game and to become the character (I'm new to IF), but I really enjoyed the jarring, hallucinatory shifts by that point (particularly the TUNNELS, fantastic). Starting with an act that has a lot of finality before the reader / player has a chance to understand her own actions is a nice touch. Thanks for making this.

L says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:29pm

This reminds me in a satisfying way of Thirty Flights of Loving, insofar as they both begin with in-medias-res violent action, quickly segueing to romance, then to darkness and shadow.

The strong four-colour pixel graphics look great on the black background, and especially accentuate those passages where colour or environment is important. The sickly green city graphic in particular also calls to mind the scratchy punk worlds of Lamezone and J Chastain, which is a mental connection I'm not sure I can fully explain.

I also like the incidental variations of the 'text interface' that arise in certain situations.

Birchmountain says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Not my kind of game, but i'm still very impressed that you managed to make it in just 2 days! Everything is well written and it feels very professional.

Zed says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:21pm

I must be too dense to understand this, because I spent pretty much the entire time wondering what was going on. Along the way, I'm pretty sure I leaked gooey brain matter out of my ears.

The pictures were pretty, though.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:08am

Fuck yeah, Twine! Go modern IF, go. Oh, crap, for a moment there, I totally thought it wasn't in English and the whole thing was going to make me relive Latin class. Whew.

I love this kind of trippy surreal stuff so I know I am gonna have a good time.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:20am

You flick the trigger and the gun tightens, spasmodic spurts of pink light drilling into Koner's back. He orgasms to the ground, twitching in relentless priapism. He's screaming at this long-range violation, he's clutching at his swelling crotch.

Straddling his forevercumming body you prepare for extraction.

5/5 :D

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:29am

Awesome! Also quite shocking. I'm playing it for the second time now.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:21am

holy shit this is fantastic. i'm still on a comedown from it.

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Amazeballs!

Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:30am

It was AWESOME. I liked it better than Nostrils of Flesh & clay.

"she holds you tighter than the world's hurting you" is the awesomest phrase ever.
Thank you :`) I identified completely and perfectly.

I hadn't heard Patton's version of the song, I swear that guy can make 60ies songs even more haunting. Pink Cigarette pales compared to this. And after the game, omg did I freak with the connotations.
I loved the methodical way you genderfucked both characters.

As a queer and a game developer, full marks where applicable !!!
Also:The meat that thing kept eating. Damn.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:32am

edit:
As a queer and a game developer, I AWARD THEE full marks where applicable !!!

amodo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:48am

Clearly one of my favourites, if not the favourite so far.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Just not sure what to make of this. I think I like it, good job!

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:38pm

That was something else. Very good storytelling. Very nice feel to the whole thing. I liked how sometimes a page would only have half of the words, and the it'd expand to show the rest when you clicked on a word. That was a nice touch.

DevWouter says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Not my game and a small warning ahead of time might be appreciated for those at work (glad I was at home)

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Interesting but had to translate it from Italian and I think that may have broken it. :( However, from what I managed to read I didn't find much on the theme, but still had to scrape my mind off the floor.

Porpentine says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:46pm

why would you need to translate from italian when clicking on the italian translates it for you

evilseanbot says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:02am

I am 12 and what is this

hah

I really really enjoyed it. It had an immediacy and payoff/girlboner-to-effort ratio that a lot of IF doesn't

This was amazing:

Translucent clit sights

Nerve trigger

Twin clitoral refraction beams

Pulsing stroke reload (lateral labia mechanism)

It was funny that I was thinking of pretty much all of the listed inspirations while I was reading it (except for Scanner)

The next LD theme should be girlboner.

Saturnyn says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:51am

Wow. That was ... weird. In a good way I guess. Interesting stuff you have there.

wlad says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Well written! Some music would be nice. Great mood though!

rylgh says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:09pm

So so so good.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Woha, so many choices in storyline in so little time. Impressive work.(inspirated by a song of Gino Paoli, i never expecting something like that)

mdkess says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:29am

Woah. Awesome.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:49pm

I found the contents of this game to be really disturbing.
Reminded me of some ugly stuff.

laaph says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Wow, very interesting, slightly disturbing, must be willing to put up with a little confusion/not understanding what is going on to play, for others wondering if they should take the time to play this, it is definitely worth a spin!

I will admit that I haven't taken the time to rate most games, and I only checked this one out because I noticed you wrote it in Twine (I had planned to do a Ludum Dare in Twine as well).

While I am not going to continue to play it until I explore every possible path (sorry :( ) I want to thank you for making this interesting game!

laaph says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Also, I think there is something wrong with your source download. I thought I'd have a look ;) and when I downloaded the source, I got an .rtf with all the text and twine won't open it. My version of Twine (1.3.5, which seems to be the latest) wants a .tws file.

I am not sure this is how you wanted to distribute your source file.

Zelen3d says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:51pm

wow. just wow. you have messed up my brain, especially during the sex scene. in a good way. I redid it a second time. It is a good contrast with all the other games.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Source code-wise, there is nothing wrong. Twine's regular source import function bugs out when I try to import Sky (could be the Italian text at the beginning), that's why I fell back on .rtf, which is a universal text format which can be opened by most word processors.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:45pm

And thank you to everyone who appreciated Sky, you are why I write games.

Maple says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:19am

Very interesting... I really needed to piss when I was reading about the character pissing, but I couldn't go because I wanted to finish your story first. ><

Porpentine says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:37am

not pissing is the highest praise i can think of!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:24pm

I love how it starts with that song, love Mike Patton's cover of it (never heard the original being uneducated swine). This is at first bizarre and then brilliant, love the mood.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:05am

the original and most covers of it aren't really worth listening to, in my opinion. the only other version i remotely enjoy is Mina's

lathomas64 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:46pm

That was extremely...odd. Very Interesting IF you've made here.

marudziik says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Okay, this is a very good IF. I loved it.
That being said, you definitely should warn people about what kind of content is inside, because this is _porn_ or, at the very least, has porn elements in it, be it queer or not. And this stuff actually isn't text-only, as much as I think the graphics are really well done. This itself can be an issue for some less open-minded people, but as you might think they should go to hell, do remember that some of the players may feel uncomfortable checking your entry out in public places and not being warned beforehand. Also, many Ludum Darers here are somewhat underaged for such content.

Nhh, forget the speech. I don't mind at all - the writing is really great, and I enjoy some good IF with erotic/trippy tint to it now and then. Text quality is of a high standard and the queerness of scenes for many can be something new and interesting. The graphics were really nice, the mood is top notch and the experience is worth diving deep into it. Great job!

Porpentine says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Thanks. This isn't porn though--it's a story that has sex in it, for the same reason many good books and films do--sex is a huge part of what makes up people's lives.

I also find it funny that people keep telling me to warn them about the explicit content when the first line in the description says "NONSTOP VIOLENCE, SEX, DRUGS, DEPRAVITY". That may be too subtle though :3

marudziik says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:52am

@Porpentine
It is porn according to definition in Wikipedia and to any other definition I might have seen in my life, as in "explicit portrayal of sexual subject matter". You might argue it's erotica, but it being porn is far from bad, in my opinion. Is porn bad, anyway? One just needs to be old enough to appreciate and understand it, I think.

Regarding the warnings: I thought you may say so. However, it's not usual for a) a Ludum Dare game, b) interactive fiction game, to e.g. explicitly show visual representations of sexual organs. Well made representations, but still... :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Wow! What a trip!

mes says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:43pm

AHAHAHA holy shit !
excellent writing. i doubt i'll come across another entry that can top this.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 2:13pm

I don't know what to think about it. Well...this is obviously great, but I feel I can't perfectly get it. It's probably because my english isn't very good...I mean...usually I can read english pretty well, but THIS english confuses me, too many words I've never met (now I sound dumb).
Anyway, despite the fact that this is very frustrating for me, I can feel there is something strong in this game, something very sexual. The graphics are really intriguing too, and it conveys a great mood. It reminds me...something. But I'm not able to figure what it is ^^

Porpentine says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:38pm

it's understandable, this is more idiosyncratically written than most of my games and draws on certain hard-to-define moods and cultural backgrounds. thank you for playing it anyways :>

Segwaytiki says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Oh god when did William S. Burroughs make a game?

chuchino says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:38pm

This was intense. Gave me chills.

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 9:20pm

If I could use words like you, I'd leave a comment that is worthy of this game.

leafo says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

best game I've played

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]