August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Candevolution

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Big fun. first time! It was neat to see what i could do in the time, even with all the things that came up. I'll get a timelapse of it up soon.

Timelapse can be found at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYdfPL4EOFw&feature=youtu.be

:) i'm going to bed. tired. woo!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#251Humor2.43
#535Audio1.79
#623Mood2.05
#626Graphics2.23
#677Fun2.00
#732Innovation1.81
#734Overall2.00
#743Theme1.46

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Well. I tried, I really did. I got to the first room.. and after what must've been 500 tries (no exaggeration), I beat it. Maybe I was doing something wrong, trying to destroy them 1 after another with the candy?
Well. Then I got to the boss. Before you ask, yes I know what D does, but that doesn't help me against this guy's horrible square hitbox. The amount of times I died hitting the corner of his large square hitbox..... dear god man. Then I quit.

Anyway gameplay wise, this is pretty weak. The game works and such, but really, the difficulty is seriously wrong.

Graphically it was good, or so I thought until I reached that first boss... but everything else graphically was decent.

Sound is okay, could've done with some music

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:43pm

Even after figuring out what I could do with my lollipop, I couldn't get through the four fat dudes on time. Maybe I am too stupid for this game :)

saveferris says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:49pm

very hard but quirky weird fun! didn't manage to go beyond the second cat stage (the ones with the tractor beams spread over 5 floors). is it even possible, if so how?

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Yes, i'm sorry about the hitboxes, definatly improvements for the future. For the 4 fat guys you have to hit the edges of them in order to succeed. I just beat the entire thing yesterday, so i know it's doable. :) The bosses can't be destroyed. Maybe I should add some sort of text saying how useless your lolipop is against him. :) The cat stage, try blowing the cats, it makes it much easier. otherwise you have to use your lolipop and jump in the air to get them. if you get caught in the air suck or blow, use "weight" to stop! :D thanks for playing!

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:19pm

I just couldn't get past the room behind the red door :(

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

I tried for a very long time to get past the four guys to grab the red candy. The green lollipop doesn't appear to do anything...

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:30pm

I got stuck on the first boss. Have no idea how to kill him. Probably need to figure it out, since I did the four fat guys once I figured them out(I was trying to jump on them with the lolly pop for a while). Sounds are decent, but there was no music.

Toby says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:17pm

So HArd - can't figure out how to get the red candy ...

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Wow, it's really really hard! I really did keep trying and trying... I even ALMOST got to the candy in the room with the 4 fat boys, but I just couldn't do it :( I was curious, but I just ended up giving up. sorry!

endermath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:57am

You guys don't have any patience!!! I completed this awesome game :D Tips: on the bosses use the springboards to jump over the boss... (I managed one time to actually run UNDER the first boss). Getting the cats' ability was cool!!! Overall I liked the game a lot. Challanging but fun :)

It would be awesome if the dragon boss was added (I guess you ran out of time).

monomanio says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Heh, fancy art :)

JaJ says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:42pm

I got the green lollipop to work, and managed to kill some fat dudes with it, but I still really don't understand why they died. Too much sugar? I too didn't have the patience to get past the fat dudes, I didn't seem to be able to kill the last two.

Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:55am

Gave up, the game is simply way too hard with terrible hitboxes. Got past the 4 fat guys, got red candy but couldn't figure out the boss.

Maple says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:20pm

Oh man. This is really hard. I managed to get the red candy and get past the big guy and back to the level select. It would have been really nice to be able to use arrow keys instead of WASD, and to make it a little less hard. For example, you might have wanted to make enemy hitboxes smaller so it was easier to kill them from the side.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 3:21pm

it seems that the loosing conditions remains even if we destroy one of the big guys. It results it's quiet hard to go through the four.

Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Couldn't get past the fat guys, just too hard for me. Still I really liked the atmosphere, felt similar to the old single room platformers like Manic Miner.

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 3:05pm

interesting game. has a huge difficulty curve. when you jump on the sides of the slabs that you move with the wind power you get stuck to them. when i was moving the one for the cat boss i got stuck to the top of it and could jump off. would be nice if there was a level reset or something.

Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:50am

Thanks for the reviews, they were really helpful. It really gives me good feedback for future games and ideas. :D I fixed a lot of the problems with the hitboxes and have made things somewhat simplier to understand and play. :D you'll have to find me in the irc chat though to play the updated version. Happy reviewing!

tomhunt says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:02am

TIL getting anywhere near slow-moving fat people, even from behind while they are moving away, causes one to explode into skittles

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]