August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

OS: Evolution

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Seems to work best in Chrome, but tested in both Firefox and IE. People using a trackpad may run into some issues.

***When playing, the position (angle) of your mouse is important (though not at the start)***

OS:Evolution is a platform game with a few physics twists. The goal is to reach the top floor and shut down the OS.

WASD or Arrow Keys to Move.
Mouse to fire (when the time comes)
R to reset the level.

I most likely made a beginners mistake of making it too hard. I'd love to hear how far you got :)

I wasn't quite sure what to make of this theme. I started with an idea and quickly realized it would be impossible to accomplish within 48 hours, so I simplified it (unfortunately losing much of the "Evolution" aspects) and this is what I ended up with. Of course there are things I wish I'd done differently, and things I wish I had time to add/fix, but I imagine that's just part of the competition. This is my first time participating in a LD, and I'm happy to have finished.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Humor3.00
#129Mood3.16
#178Audio2.98
#246Overall3.20
#275Fun2.98
#379Graphics2.92
#465Innovation2.62
#540Theme2.45

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Is this a GLaD OS? ;) Nice little platformer, though not much connection with the theme. I like the jump boost idea, though the controls are too fidgety for my taste.

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01pm

I liked the graphics. The animation of the player's character is pretty nice.

The controls were a little frustrating for me. It took me a bit to realize where the mouse cursor was in relation to the character mattered, and even then the entire game was a large series of jumping puzzles. And I apparently don't do well at jumping puzzles. I got stuck at Level 6.

The game's mood was reminiscent of Strong AI by mrfun for LD#11, which was reminiscent of Portal.

Ponte says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:08pm

The controls were a little bit hard for me, but the game was very interesting.

vigrid says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Looks interesting. The controls were a bit too demanding for me. It might have been the touchpad - I wasn't able to use the mouse input properly.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:45pm

Fun game, but if you fall to far you fall through the ground.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Sorry about the whole "falling through ground" bug. Chrome seems to minimize that bug.

TaslemGuy says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:18am

Great overall. The controls were a little twitchy, but I got used to them. The puzzle mechanics were interesting, but sometimes a little buggy.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:49am

It seems physics is affected by framerate and therefore not completable on my notebook.

Uberi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:38am

Controls were far too difficult for me to use, I got stuck by the second level. Otherwise, a pretty sweet game.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:15pm

I actually really really like this game. I think the shooting to launch yourself mechanic is implemented well, and I like how well you progress with it, using it in creative ways like repelling bullets. I stopped at the level with the first turret, but it was only due to having to leave. I'd definitely give this another try. I'm giving this a 4/5!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:57am

It was fun but hard. For me a lot of the challenge was that just tapping the keys moved the player more than I wanted, I couldn't nudge the player. I made a platformer for this compo as well and the major criticism for me has been the controls, seems like it is hard to get right. I could not make the final jump on level 6 to get the hit the lever.

I liked the dialogue between the player and the OS, very neat.

yettatore says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:24am

I can't pass the 1st level D:

Sidnoea says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:28am

That was a lot of fun. Reminded me a lot of Portal, for obvious reasons. The control scheme was interesting, but in my opinion, deflecting the bullets is too finicky.

rylgh says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Cool game, I found the controls too responsive though, and was very frustrating trying to get the guy to stop on blocks after jumping. Also, one simple suggestion I've got is to make the webpage background color slightly off-black so that players can tell if their mouse pointer is inside the game or not. I missed my jumps many time because I tried to shoot-jump but my pointer was slightly off the game.

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Jumping puzzles aren't my cup of tea. But the way this game is realized is very appealing still. I feel like there is a lot of story and gameplay at the same time which is always a good thing.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Thanks for all the comments guys... I very much appreciate them.

Rylgh: I just updated the background color. Thanks for the suggestion.

benderbinary says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:33am

Good game - I really like The matrix reference.

mdkess says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Great game - simple, but very nice. I really enjoyed it, I also like the Portal-esque theme to it.

My one thought is that the platforming was a bit unforgiving, and the controls were perhaps too responsive - some of the levels it took me forever to hit the jumps.

Overall though, I really enjoyed this entry. Great work!

wibblymat says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:46pm

I admit it, stuck on the second level, watched the video instead - though I intend to come back to this one.

One comment on the gameplay - burning through the blocks isn't really a puzzle most of the time, because you can see exactly where you have to go. A lot of the time you don't need skill either. Seems a bit of a time sink. Everything else looked awesome :D

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:06am

I really love the look of it, I like the way the tiny character sprite moves. You are right about it being too hard, I made it up to level 4 before I got frustrated with the high jump seeming to not fire consistently leaving me to fall back down to the floor when I missed. The music is pretty good.

whilefun says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:39am

I really liked the idea and mood. The controls made me frustrated when trying the smaller platforms though. I couldn't get passed the level with the flamethrower. I tried a couple dozen times and couldn't make the second tiny platform :(

Jacic says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:42am

Very nice, especially for your first time. :)

Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:53am

Try as I might, I can't beat this game. It just takes too many tries to get each jump right, and I keep falling through the floor. Seems to be a good number of levels. Wish I could see the ending. Overall, great work; just need more boost than the flamethrower actually gives to get through the level.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:00am

Thanks for all the feedback guys. One mistake I made was not having someone other than me test the game sooner. If I had, I probably would been able to properly balance the difficulty. Next time will be different.

Josh,
Sorry about the whole "falling through the floor" bug. Lower frame rates combined with small, fast moving sprites does not play nice with the collision detection. Chrome seems to minimize the issue, and the ending (if you can really call it that) can be seen on the youtube video, but I know it's not nearly as satisfying as beating the game yourself.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:28am

I went back and, with some struggle, managed to beat it. Great game; the length makes it. A little more tolerance on the jumps would be good, but more than that, next time, limit your vertical speed; don't let it pass the height of a block (or if you do, test collisions manually instead of leaving it to Construct, whose collisions are apparently as bad as Game Maker's).

dector says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Game with nice ambient music and good kind of mood. I like it, but I have a bug: sometimes I fall down under the level.

Teknik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:50pm

it felt like small movements were to hard to platform easily but i like some of the ideas in the game like the flower to jump and reflect bullets a lot.

CapGrip says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I'm not very good at platform games, played poorly and did not pass the third level. But the game is great. I liked the mechanics and puzzles. I watched the video walkthrough and saw several nice features. Great work man, very well done.

bobbobowitz says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:49pm

I loved your game! Only problem for me was that the controls were so sensitive and the graphics were so tiny. Other than that, I really liked the "personality" of the OS Evolution thingy.

harusame says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Lot of fun :) Rather difficult^^
Hard to master the jump boost.

juaxix says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:49pm

This game is so hard...level 4 is all i can go...
It would be good to have an angle visualizator so you know the current direction of the jump helper.
The char is too small ,also the bricks, give it more size please!
Thanks

infernet89 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Looks a great game, too bad is so hard and controls are so imprecise..(reached only the level after the thing that shoot, sorry)

ggiraldez says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:21pm

I got to level 4 and then frustration got the best of me :) Controls require very precise coordination, which I apparently lack. It was fun though. Dialogs get a bit distracting after a while.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Its a good game but a difficult one, for a moment I was excited to get the flame-thrower booster jump but then the jumps got even harder :( Nice animation, sound effects and its a shame I couldn't see more of the story.

Sep 6, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I fell through the floor :(

csanyk says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

I couldn't get the hang of the controls and I REALLY wanted some zoom but I watched the video playthrough, and this is such a fun looking game. You really did a great job. I hope I can get good enough at the controls to be able to make it to the big angry face level.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]