August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Diverge

by patrickgh3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle platformer game made in Construct Classic.

You are a small orange creature who runs and jumps about the world. Your goal is to find and collect the 5 hidden fallen stars. You can evolve by collecting Red, Blue, Purple, and Green orbs. BUT, you can only evolve 7 times per character. (i.e. you can only collect 7 orbs before having to restart.) You will have to evolve yourself in different ways to get all the stars!

I'm very happy I was able to finish my game on my first entry into the competition! I think the thing I struggled most with is teaching or explaining to the player how to play the game, as it can be a tad confusing. I also couldn't think of a more fitting name. Everything else should be fine though. If you get stuck or confused, the help.txt file might be helpful. There's an easter egg hidden somewhere on the map, which shouldn't be to hard to find. Also, there's an ending cinematic if you collect all five stars :) Enjoy!

IF THE GAME FREEZES AFTER THE TUTORIAL:
I'm sorry this happens. At this point, the game creates and modifies a bunch of objects for the main level, all in one go. If the game freezes, and doesn't crash, try waiting a while. On my computer it only takes about 5 seconds, and on others I've seen it take like 10 or 15 seconds, and that's the only solution I can think of. Maybe you could try waiting a minute or more. Sorry again.

I apologize for not being able to port the game to OS/X or Linux, but if you're on a mac you can try Wine. And if the game crashes on Windows, please try to tell me when or what causes the game to crash, and the error message. Thanks a lot.

About the source:
I'm really sorry, but I do not believe the source of the game is available. I've tried opening it in Construct Classic 0.98.9, r1.1, and r1.2, and it just gives an error of "this game was made in a newer version of construct." If you really want to see the source, I can send you some backups I made during development, so you could see if those work. Or if you have any questions about the code, I would be happy to explain stuff to you. Just let me know. Also, the source still does contain the graphics and sound effects, so you can still have those if you want them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#67Overall3.65
#79Fun3.50
#145Mood3.11
#188Innovation3.26
#193Theme3.38
#275Graphics3.17
#383Humor2.05
#443Audio2.19

Comments

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:03pm

"An unexpected error has occurred and the application was terminated. We apologise for inconvenience."
"Please report this problem to the applicaion developer"

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:24pm

I really enjoyed this one, some music would have been good.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Good, idea, i liked the game, and the graphics are nice.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:45pm

It froze after the tutorial

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Really nice puzzle-platformer. The graphics are basic but fit the game well. Sadly I didn't make it all the way to the ending scene :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:54pm

@imef: When you finish the tutorial, the game then does all the logic for creating the game tiles for the main level. On my computer it loads for about 5 seconds, but it takes longer on different computers. If the game doesn't crash, maybe waiting a long time might help.

scorder says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Great!

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:55pm

I like the graphics and idea here

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Fun! It took me a while to figure out what was going on, and I lost a few lives to get there, but I enjoyed it once I knew what to do. I also really enjoyed the simple art style; the background color changes helped a lot for the sense of direction. For future versions, I wish I wasn't required to die to pick up new traits, swapping from existing traits would have been better. As is, I was required to backtrack a lot of simple obstacles to reach the required final states. Anyway, great job!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:02am

That was so amazing!!! I loved trying to figure out which combinations of the powers would get me where I needed to go, but seeing the corpses of the previous incarnations was a bit sad. Poor buggers, they did such good work! Overall an incredible game with fun replay value.

Also,
nyanyanyan :3

mes says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:53am

Neat game, interesting replay value. Music would have definitely added, and I also experienced a message that wouldn't go away, something like this: "If you have collected all the stars and not gotten something, then do something..."

Good work.

Thomas Bowker says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:04am

Awesome! Well done with the teach-as-you-go tutorial.

Yann says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:45am

Hey nice idea, having to choose the path of your evolution to get to each goal :D

At first I didn't notice that the red dots in the breakable tiles had a meaning, after that it went smoothly =)

Graphics are ok, I agree with RARoadkill for the music.
Of course, it makes me think of "Knytt" and "Knytt stories" from nifflas.

Good game =)

evilseanbot says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:37am

Sounds super-cool, but the application freezes right after the tutorial.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:01am

Very solid entry, with nearly perfect leveldesign. I was first thinking I wont take the time to finish it, and... well... I did :) Your jump sfx is sometime strange, like it is triggered several time.

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Very solid and smooth, with a really nice mechanic!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Very good! I spent about 30 mins on this game! One of the favorite. Finds something in common with my game :)

madflame991 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:58am

hmm... it tells me that I need the DirectX update from April 2008 although I currently have DX 11

RawBits says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Really nice game! I like what you did with the one level - you just need to play it over and over again... :) Nice minimalistic graphics too!

The only thing it needs in my opinion is a mechanic in almost all platformers. When jumping you jump as high as how long you hold the button so you can jump shorter if you want. Seems a little boring for me to wait for the descending and it gets worse with the wings. It's because basically moving around is simple and it gives a feel of action I think - this is hard to manage actually so congrats for this.

demonpants says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 6:11am

I can haz Mac version?

raver says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:47am

Dragon ball inspirated? :>

zx81 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:37am

Good game, I have enjoyed the music!

Ezzam says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 12:28pm

I really liked the idea. The graphics are nice, too.

levelbylevel says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:41pm

I like the graphics, think they fit the game well. Simple but attractive :)

Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:44pm

This was so awesome, played it to the end and enjoyed every second. The movement was solid and the idea behind evolving different abilities to get the stars was inspired (plus I found the easter egg, yes!). It was exactly right in terms of combining logic puzzles and platforming. Seriously, well done, top marks from me

darokin says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Great work ! The 'calibration' of the level should have been tought ! Nice ending !

Generalgore says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:50pm

A delightful little game. =D good job.

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:35am

This is really great! A nice mix between puzzling and exploring. I liked the style, and I loved the ending! Most games don't seem to have had the time for a good ending but this one really fit the game.

Gabriel says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Nice little game! I really like metroidvanias, and this one does it well! Congrats!

NateNaterson says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Great game! Very neat mechanic.

Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Well done game. The power ups were pretty cool and the graphics were adorable. The easter egg was nice too. ;)

csanyk says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

Couldn't play it: "DirectX Update Required. You need the August 2008 DirectX update in order to run this application. Click 'OK' to open the DirectX download page, where you can install the August 2008 DirectX End-User Runtime. Press 'Cancel' to exit the application."

I'm pretty sure my computer doesn't need that, since I'm running Win7 x64 Pro, which came out *after* 2008. And I don't want to risk messing up my system by installing it. The game screen shots look cool though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]