August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Tileshift

by ioquatix - Jam Entry

Tile Shift is a tile-based game that uses a genetic algorithm to build map permutations.

It builds permutations in real time and selects the best one that helps the user achieve one of the many goals on the map. We also have higher level permutation generation for the door levels.

Including Authors:

steve.rutherford
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/category/ld-24/?author_name=steve.rutherford

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Innovation(Jam)3.29
#69Humor(Jam)2.92
#82Graphics(Jam)3.65
#97Overall(Jam)3.24
#107Fun(Jam)3.00
#139Theme(Jam)2.73
#144Mood(Jam)2.67
#1171Coolness0%

Comments

ioquatix says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Time to sleep =)

gbear605 says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 2:08pm

Cool!

ioquatix says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 3:07pm

@gbear605 Thanks =)

ioquatix says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 3:08pm

As this as a Jam entry is it possible to add other team members to this page?

Adok says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Hi! When you reach the chest, the camera does not move to the starting position again. The player therefore has to move the camera manually.

ioquatix says ...
Aug 25, 2012 @ 11:32pm

@Adok Thanks for trying our game. Perhaps the web browser window is not big enough?

devwil says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 1:35am

Browser games should probably be a smaller resolution than this.

Aug 26, 2012 @ 1:51am

If resolution is a major issue, a scrolling map might be a solution we go with. Really focusing on gameplay from now on

ioquatix says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 4:47am

@devwil If you have a modern browser you can just zoom in or out, it is an interim solution. Scrolling might be a good idea but we haven't thought about it much.

x3zinja12 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 5:45am

I really like this!

ioquatix says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 6:22am

@x3zinja12 Thanks =)

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34am

Cute. Currently stuck on second map. I probably missed some obvious instruction.

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:37am

the second map (I think) sometimes generates in a way that it is unsolvable, just refresh!

gbear605 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:46am

Great!

ioquatix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:34pm

We have a fix coming out shortly =)

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:09pm

The game is very interesting, but it gets frustrating when the enemies spawn only a few tiles away from the player. Also, their movement speed seems to be completely random which killed me unexpectedly once or twice.

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:09pm

That's brilliant! The ending is the sort that leaves you going "Oh you...".
Heh, it's a lot of fun to play, some brilliant art (better than I could do...), and a nice mood to it.
It's quite funny as well, how you use normal video game mechanics an question them...
If it were to have any improvements, make it longer, add music, and make enemies slightly more forgiving. Being trapped on a randomly generated path with enemies coming from two directions is annoying.

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Nice graphics!

ioquatix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:50pm

@SteelRaven7, the spawning is something we could fix - the movement is always towards the player.

ioquatix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:52pm

@Lucariatias I wanted to add some parts to the genetic algorithm to analyse if the user was in a precarious situation and start generating an escape path.. unfortunately ran out of time.

ioquatix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:01pm

@NostraDamon We used the PlanetCute tile sst http://www.lostgarden.com/2007/05/dancs-miraculously-flexible-game.html

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Decent idea, a bit buggy but works well most of the time, until you reach the later levels. The monsters, combined with bad luck, make this game rather frustrating. It is fun for a while though.

The graphics are good, bar the character sprite, the idea fits the theme too. Overall its a decent game, but a bit too frustrating with bad luck (especially having to die or even restart when a level turns out impossible due to generation and/or monsters).

Maple says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Not bad, not bad. The graphics are nice. The main problem I had was that sometimes the generation doesn't allow you to complete the level until it mercifully adds a couple more blocks to walk over after a while. I look forward to what you can come up with next Ludum Dare :)

edibletoaster says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Cool idea, I like it.

ioquatix says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:34am

Yeah, we wanted to improve the generation but ran out of time =)

levelbylevel says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:55pm

I liked it, would have liked a little more of it, but it was fun :)

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:35am

Great game! Nice smooth movement. The graphics are great. Just think what you could have done with more time. I am impressed.

Sep 9, 2012 @ 4:24am

The way this game worked was AWESOME until the enemies... I got stuck on that level. Sometimes the level had enemies generate right on me or very close, other times there were just so many I couldn't get past them... This makes for a great adventure/exploration game though!!!

csanyk says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Thoughts:

- I thought the doors were treasure chests at first. Offset the doorknob to one side to make it more apparent that the sprite represents a door.

- There's no real challenge to harnessing the "evolution" of the floor tiles. They seem to be too cooperative, if you know what I mean. If this could be turned into something more puzzly, then you'd have a great game. I don't really feel like the floor tile "evolution" expresses the Evolution theme very well, but nonetheless it is an interesting mechanic with some fun potential.

- OK level 4 and we finally have a danger element. These bug, I touch them one time and I die? What are all these hearts for, then?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]