About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 10 hours, 13 minutes, 17 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 10 hours, 25 minutes, 17 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 11 hours, 13 minutes, 17 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    FLOWERBOT - Zccc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    FLOWERBOT is a story of a finished robot that makes friendship with a flower.
    Help him become a powerfull robot and rescue his friend flower.

    View Zccc's journal. | View all entries by Zccc

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #26Graphics4.24
    #91Mood3.36
    #127Fun3.34
    #137Overall3.44
    #219Humor2.55
    #260Theme3.18
    #395Audio2.33
    #480Innovation2.60

    Comments

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Very nice backgrounds. Sadly I missed the legs on the first time through and so had to commit suicide :-/ The music was a bit too repetitive I'm sorry to say. I also found the game slowed down to a crawl while playing -- likely due to a memory leak somewhere. Overall, I'm really impressed with the art style and amount of content you've managed to pack into the game. If you keep working on this, I'd like to see some more interesting challenges. Right now it feels a little too cut and dry. Still incredibly impressive for 48 hours!

    turkwise says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:38am

    I really liked the art.

    tdsmale says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Fantastic! Great character & gameplay.

    madflame991 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:32am

    + I liked the graphics
    + good take on the theme
    + fluid movement

    - some parts are too difficult
    - I sort of hoped that the water drops falling from the ceiling would grow the plant

    jijaweb says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:12am

    Nice graphics. Cool game.

    JaJ says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    I missed the legs when I first fell through too. But I liked the game a lot! The graphics looked great but the music was a bit repetitive. Also, it isn't really clear what will kill you and what wont, but it's an impressive entry.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Nice job!

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    I enjoyed this, I didn't find that it slowed down at all, and it was fun slowly improving my robot!

    Ponte says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    That was cute. Great job!

    KHANanaphone says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    Well done, though humans are jerks and their bullet travel forever.

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    Nice graphics! Your little robot guy is really endearing and I looked forward to finding his parts so I could put him back together.

    vigrid says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

    Nice graphics and a fun little platformer.

    saguaro says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Enjoyed this one. Great game!

    gustavodort says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:12am

    Man, it crashed after I descend that part where the humans appear!

    I liked the art VERY much!

    Mclogenog says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:29pm

    Great atmosphere and art! At times (such as the large fans) I confused background and foreground elements and couldn't figure out why I kept dying. That might be mostly me, but I think more to distinguish the layers would help. I didn't have any issues with collecting the upgrades in the wrong order, but I see how that could have happened. In future versions, the level design could be a little more gradual and consistent. (e.g. introducing players to a pit of death, and then expecting them to jump down a bottomless pit seems like weak level design.) Also, for some reason the game slowed down to half speed after I'd used the blaster for a bit. Still, it's a neat art style with some solid mechanics, and you'd do well to keep working on it. Great work for the available time!

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    Well, I don't think it is possible to grab them in the wrong order, but I it's my first time making a room so big, the level design is nothing as desired.

    josefnpat says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    This was fun and clever!

    Very clean platformer. The only qualm I have is that sometimes its hard to differentiate the background between the actual content.

    High marks!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:53am

    I had the same kind of problem with the game's flow. I had to download the source file to see where to find the weapon with which I could "kill the humans". Maybe it's just me, but years of playing platform games have taught to jump over pits, and not into them... ;)

    The art is awesome, and the controls are really tight. The music gets repetitive after a while, as has already been noted, and the use of the theme is circumstantial, as it is in most of the entries I've played so far.

    All in all, a fun and great looking game. Congratulations! :)

    Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:53pm

    A nicely made game, with some thought put into the graphics and level design. However as soon as you introduced enemies who could shoot it instantly became frustrating. I was die, only to then be killed again by a bullet that was fired in the previous life, then spawn and walk forward to be hit again by another bullet. The music also cut out about halfway through, so it was fairly silent.

    Qaterknan says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    Very nice game. Shame I couldn't finish it - bullets extremely slowed down the game.

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    you can finish now, I hope! I reduced the lag!

    BrothersT says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:37am

    I loved the story. Art was great. I had to give up because in the drop down that you open up with the lever below the fans (block is down there) Two guys were wrongly positioned at the bottom so there was no way to do it without falling on them and dying.

    keenblaze says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Overall this is nice platformer, but man, music totally destroyed my mind D:

    Zccc says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:46am

    @BrothersT: Sorry that happenned...

    I'm so sorry about the music! I had the last half an hour to create something and I never tried creating music before!!

    ggiraldez says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:51pm

    I love this! Graphics are awesome, story is nice, gameplay is excellent. It's incredible for 48 hours. I only a small complain. The big fans killed me, but I thought they were background. They are not visible enough.

    patrickgh3 says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:02am

    Great job on the graphics and the story. I'm not sure if the level could be designed to make it impossible to trap yourself, but if it could that would have been nice. But the game had a great feel. I love the attention to detail on the graphics.

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    Okay, I don't really see the connection to the theme, and the music is repetitive. But at least you tried, and everything else is actually very good. Well, it's not clear that player should jump into the pit with the gun, since a pit earlier is filled with saws. But that's the only flaw. Everything else is really top notch, especially graphics. I actually liked the level design, and checkpoints were a very nice feature (since deaths can be often).
    Good job!

    marudziik says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    Oh yeah, I forgot about the story - while I feel there's little to no connection to the theme, the story is pretty entertaining (though simple) and had me hooked up until the sad ending, which was also quite good. This also makes the game feel complete, so definitely a plus!

    Orni says ...
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 9:52am

    loved it
    the bullets were a bit buggy though
    I think by fixing that and maybe improving some sprites (backgrounds and character look awesome, but the destroyable blocks do not) you could make a really cool post-compo version

    well done

    Maple says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:40am

    Interesting experience. I made it to the end. I really like your art, I really hate your audio (:P), and as for the gameplay, it was engaging. There was one time I was like "Wait, what? My guy just blew up for no reason.", and that was my first encounter with a fan. I didn't really see the fan. I noticed something was there, but I payed no attention to it because I guess subconsciously I thought it was part of the background. Other than that, though, nice game indeed.

    TobiasNL says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:54am

    Good pixel art, gameplay was just fine and the sounds were simple but effective. The part stuff wasn't really originial, but well implemented. Good job!

    Datw says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:26am

    You would have got a really nice rating from me...but then I got stuck on a bug. At the first save point (maybe the second, before the legs) a dude just camped my respawn. He is just dancing (moving from one side to the other very quickly) and I respawn exploding every time. Sorry :(

    Zccc says ...
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Wow, i'm so sorry, that wasn't supposed to happen.. you shouldn't be able to find humans so early in the game! Could you just forget that and reset the game, and still give me that good rate? :P just kidding!

    Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Definitly one of my favorites, the art is just great :) I had lots of fun playing you game and your style kind of inspires me, nice!

    Joana says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Really liked it. Fits the theme rather well. I finally managed to get to the ending after a few tries. The ending itself would have hit harder with a different music, but it still comes across really well.

    There are very few minor problems with the game. I only figured out the fans could kill you after a few tries, as I was really lucky and avoided them until that point. There was a problem with the hole where you get the shots too: on my first try, since I didn't know I had to jump into it, I lured all humans there and was unable to fall without dying afterwards.

    As for the rest, I really liked it overall. The art was great, as was the interpretation of the theme. Great job on it!

    Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Very good game. The upgrade mechanic is well done and it's fun to explore the place. I'd just recommend to saturate all the objects as to stand out from the background (or desaturate the background), but the graphics are still well made.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]