August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Paradigm Shift

by LuizHGMonclar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey there!
Phew! I made it! I'm so happy with the final result of my first Ludum Dare!

I'm a Game Designer with really little experience in coding and art, so mainly in this game I tried to be economic with assets and code, because everything I did in art and code just took A LOT of my time.

On the other hand, it's really fun to design with so many limitations, you can really get creative to find solutions to the simplest problems, and might end up doing something really cool in the end. (I really feel I evolved a lot during the jam. Yeah, pun intended :D)


Paradigm Shift is a game about a person's evolution of character, and the ignorance of others towards evolution.


I really went more to the narrative side of the theme, and tried to explore it as best as I could with the limitations I had.

I used StencylWorks to build the game up, watched a LOT of tutorials while I was making the game and really learned a lot of new things, in art, programming, game design and sound design :}

Hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it!


PS: Since there's no "source code" on stencyl, I'm uploading the ".stencyl" project so you can check out everything :}

@LuizHGMonclar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#25Mood3.79
#70Audio3.45
#102Overall3.53
#137Humor2.92
#186Fun3.17
#249Theme3.21
#254Graphics3.22
#350Innovation2.89

Comments

Jeremy1080 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:36am

It was a great game! I was very taken back! I did not know when anything was going to happen and then boom!

gustavodort says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:52am

Man, the phrases gave me the chills!
Nicely done! :)

vicethal says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:07am

I liked it a bunch. Kinda artsy and mysterious. The jumping and shooting was fun. The bottom pocket got full of red guys and I was unable to go in to kill them, lol

Geti says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:17am

I really quite liked it. Thoughtful for such a rushed competition. Good work :)

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:23am

Awesome!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:00am

Wow, a real story. Awesome job. I actually liked the art style, and the controls actually felt decent compared to many of the platformers in the competition, although you mentioned you aren't an artist or programmer.

Mamick says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:26am

Pretty good platforming controls and graphics! I didn't really understand what was going on, but that might be the point.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:55am

Really well done!
Creative use of the theme.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:59am

What a suprise! I really liked the way the game starts off and the suprise moment(s) it generates. The "end-game" gets repetetive fast and the mobAI could be better, but I enjoyed the game for a while anyway. I also like the meta-level approach you took on the theme. (I fixed my game that you were unable to start btw).

saint11 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:08pm

I really like the "pull the lever 3 times" thing :D good concept man! :) Nice game!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Thanks everyone! It's been an AMAZING experience and I'm loving too read all of your feedbacks! :} If I haven't yet played your games, I surely will when I have the time for it (probably today at lunch :})!

wumpus says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Nice to see a different take on the theme there along with some solid platforming behaviour. Nice job.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Great introduction to the game. I liked that a lot.

frogalicious says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Well Done ! I really liked this game, the controls were excellent.

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:39pm

really really nice, i loved the mood that comes out of this game, the art makes it even more striking, great job D:

Will Xyen says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:40pm

At first I thought all the game did was loop. And then it happened. Very nicely done.

dvdking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Great! I really love backstory.

pardue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Well done, I enjoyed the story aspect of your game. You did a good job with the game design. :)

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:09pm

I loved how the game completely changes it's mood!
5 Stars on that! :)

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Wow, so simple but so great! I love the way you used the theme. Gameplay is nice, simple. The story is fun and exciting haha. Good job!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:39pm

This was very cool!

I was very confused at first, because I thought the level was looping. Some variation, at least in conversation, would have shown me I was on the right track and it was on purpose.

I really liked the game as well!

madameberry says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Very nice! The first few repetitive bits were confusing, but the segment right after that with Mister Omnipotent Dude talking to you were pretty great and kind of gave me chills.

nseward says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Amazing!!!!

midgard says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Score: 6905

A fun game. But I don't know where's the theme of this ludum dare edition :/

And the character smiles when shoots... the character is a MANIAC! Hehe Good job :)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Very well written, notices a small glitch in the "story" part of the game where you could shoot then scroll over and find you bullets floating in mid-air. Didn't really detract from the game though.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:58pm

@midgard Hey, it's all on the story around it. It's a metaphor, where you are simply repeating your actions day after day, like working on a boring thing (pulling a lever every day), then one day you simply feel it's enough and evolve to start seeing stuff in a different way, you know? :}

@dalbinblue hahaha yeah, I know, it really happens. I tried to fix it but i just couldn't... So I just thought, as you stated yourself "will this really affect the game"? And the answer was no! :D Thanks for the Feedback!

@madameberry Yeah! I'm glad you got the chills cause that was exactly my objective!! :) Thanks a lot!!

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:00pm

I found the actual gameplay of shooting things that fall into my pit not fun at all to be honest... but everything leading up to that? I couldn't help it, it literally gave me goosebumps! Man, you should have digged deeper into that, deeper and deeper and deeper.
Leave out the very bland shooting thingamabob and play to your strengths which seem to be evoking emotions through interactive storytelling...

vilya says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Interesting game & innovative use of the the theme.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:06pm

@MortalWombat Woah, thanks a lot for that feedback! Really appreciate it! Again, I'm very satisfied to read that people are really getting the "moody" feel I set out to reach. It's the best compliment for me :}

On the subject of the ending gameplay, I really felt I could go on with the story, but I was a little afraid that the game would turn out being an interactive exploration without much "fun" to it, so I really felt the need to put some action into it... Especially to give it an ending in time, you know?

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:10pm

What I enjoy most in this game is the changing levels. I'm not amazed at the battle arena in the end because I find that too dull. I enjoy the colorful artwork though!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:07am

I am a victim of ignorance in this game, too

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:22am

The intro game was a nice puzzle :) The ignorance baddies could use a simple behavioural change - make them walk toward the centre rather than letting them get stuck walking into the wall.

I asked myself "is that it" after pulling the lever - and was pleasantly surprised when I figured out where the rest of the game was :D

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:52am

I liked the narrative at the start, but it confused me when I kept doing the same thing over and over, I spent a few minutes looking around to see if there was a hidden exit or something.

nuria says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:18am

Great intro! I didn't enjoy as much the "action scenes" though, they were not as special. So improving them or making them shorter/easier would be good as people are here for that other part of the game. Good job, though!! :D

rodrigomotta says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:46am

Amazing. =)

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:09am

Nice work here, really enjoyed the combination of text and gameplay to communicate the story, and show transformation. Would love to see the story go further with this same style!

munchor says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:03am

Nice entry man :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:58am

Are you trying to do something like Fez? it is funny...
Advice: the repeating tasks must be more clear ;)

brother.byto says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Ok,

the intro is very interesting.
But the endgame was just too hard for me.
As soon as the blue jumping gnomes appear, it's over.

Nice work, though.

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Nice game. Game play is just fun.

madpew says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:38pm

I liked the story and how it build up. the fight in the end was ok but I hoped for more depth in the end. Well done.

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:04pm

I really love to see games that are not about shooting/hi-scoring/or collecting but about emotions, and try to actually say something important.
I was goint to say that I like the fact that one can not kill the peoples with the different opinions, but then I accidentally pressed the space :(
Apart from that, really good game. I trully enjoyed playing it.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:37pm

I was really hoping you'd keep up the adventure/platforming stuff instead of just making a survival game, but I still enjoyed it.

CapGrip says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Wow, that was nice introduction! Awesome!
Good job!

Krobill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:40pm

I very much enjoyed the adventure part and less the survival final. Anyway, nice work for a 48h compo.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Good mood going on. Excellent work with the music and graphics, it was very vivid.

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Great take on the theme. And nice graphics. =D

I really wish the game was longer... with more narrative, perhaps...

Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:06pm

As you were asking, yes, Tiny Island Adventure is my game! It was my previous Ludum Entry. Glad to see more Stencylers!

This was pretty good, really nice intro for the game, quite a surprise when stuff started to get weird and the game's whole mood changed.

The shooting part could have perhaps had bit better enemy AI, but I liked this entry, not bad at all.

tumoxep says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Awesome.

monomanio says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Loving the art and sound :)

raarlac says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:00pm

The intro is amazing! but the game itself is not so amazing, but isn't bad at all. The GFX are very good also.
Overall is a great game

Sestren says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:04pm

Loved the transition in terms of mood. The music was very nice, as well.

Sep 8, 2012 @ 1:58am

I love the concept about this game, the message behind it is super awesome :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]