Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

BLOCKVOLVE - 5n4k3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my very first Game!!

Your objective is very simple, you have to make the block evolve by catching the white balls and avoiding the black balls. The game ends when your block rises to the top or disappears.

Use strategy, sometimes you'll have to catch some small black balls to catch bigger white balls.

For more info: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/08/27/evolving-the-block-post-mortem/

Enjoy!

View 5n4k3's journal. | View all entries by 5n4k3

Ratings

#39Fun3.72
#67Innovation3.68
#124Overall3.48
#400Audio2.32
#440Theme2.72
#516Mood2.35
#570Coolness49%
#606Humor1.29
#685Graphics2.00

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:45am

This is great! I love the simplicity. I got really attached to my block, and found myself screaming, "NOOOO!" if it devolved significantly.

adventureloop says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:20pm

This game is awesome. I shook my fist in the air and shouted with joy when I managed to win. As your bar increases in size it becomes more a game of chance whether you will get a black or white bubble. A lot of fun, well on your first game.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:58pm

I think for your first game it's very good! Simple but powerful concept.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Not bad for your first LD. I liked the simple graphics and the sounds fit perfectly. Next time you should be able to put more gameplay in :D

Drabiter says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:04am

4 stars for Innovation!

Maacus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:52pm

So simple but nice concept. Well done!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:56pm

For some reason I thought "Thomas was Alone meets Osmos," even though that's not exactly true. The concept is indeed very neat, would be nice to see some development on that, preferably on mobile devices. Also, I liked the symmetry of it, sort of reminiscent of some Arcanoid experience from back in the day. Really didn't expect this game to be this fun, and yet it is.

Dadeyemi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Really... Really... good gameplay would have liked bgm and some more features e.g. power-ups/power-downs (e.g .speed up or slow down the game temporarily or widen the block or attracting white circles) and maybe more levels where the more powerups start appearing the higher lvl you get. These are not critisms by any stretch of the imagination just suggests if you want to make a full game, and please do because I want it on my android now :E

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:32am

Cool game dude. It's a solid entry. Loved the concept, and you really get quite a ride (between joy and despair) despite its simplicity.

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Really solid and fun! First game I've played with a simple, innovative and fun mechanic! Well done for your first game!

fruitfly says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:44pm

i won :-)
so simple, but so addictive. nice game.
what i did not like is how the bubble often appear from nowhere. i personally would find it more fair if the always fly in from the top or bottom border of the screen.

geekygenius says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:10am

I win! Really fun. Well designed as a game. Good job!

Toastation says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Nice!

BrothersT says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:50am

hey, nice little game :) It would be cool if it was tuned that if you were good enough (even if it would take hudreds of hours of practice) you could do it without hitting a single one. ie. see them coming. very nice mini-game.

Viridi04 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:33am

This game was so addictive! One of my favorites! Maybe include a larger window size?

dr_soda says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:52am

This is simultaneously frustrating and yet galvanizing. I'm really surprised at how much I actually ended up liking this, for as simple a concept as it it! If this is your first game, then congratulations on coming up with a new concept and executing it well.

My only complaint is that I wish the bubbles *always* spawned at the top or bottom of the screen, and never just out of thin air in the middle.

Rabbits... says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 3:32am

multidimentional fun! simple and great

kratorspore says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:40am

Such a great game! Wonderful use of minimal graphics and original gameplay. You should add some sort of scoring system or timer mode.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]