August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Cellception

by DiG - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use "WASD" to move around and "Left/Right Arrows" to rotate.

To win eat all the red cells.
Don't let red cells bigger than you touch your cell with any of theirs.

P.S. Try to avoid the Flash version, it's "kinda" laggy.

P.P.S. For the ones using MacOSX can you tell me if it lags on the Web Player version too?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#215Audio2.86
#222Fun3.08
#280Mood2.80
#292Overall3.12
#318Humor2.22
#326Theme3.01
#430Innovation2.71
#530Graphics2.48

Comments

Gabboreplau says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:53pm

WOW! The best game I've ever played! Good Work DiG!

bladerstars says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:54pm

this game it's so beatiful!

thefaccio says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Just amazing *___*

XenoPixel says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Is Fantastic Dig! °^°

Gallux93 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Amazing game! :D

kuroakuma146 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:38pm

what a beatiful game!

Xero182 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Haha, this is beautiful! :)

RobyIndie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:03am

This game is so awesome and proudly made *.*

Karel says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:07am

Reminds me a LOT of osmos, but quite fun!

Dadeyemi says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:11am

I like it :)

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:17am

Getting about 2fps on 2.4GHz 4GB macbook pro, so couldn't play.

Nick Knowlson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:19am

One of the most fun I've played in the compo so far!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:20am

Really like the presentation and art style. Nice mechanic, although I had a hard time catching enemies as I got bigger. Overall well done.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:30am

It's really good! I play this for hours!

cespu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

the best game! amazing....

Andrei Barsan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

I liked the feel! Could go with a menu or something at the beginning. It showed me as dead when the game was finished loading.

Also, at the very beginning it can be somewhat laggy, maybe some optimizations could be done? Dunno. Core i5 4gb ram windows 7 x64 user with Chrome here.

littleball says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

Can't run this game on my iMac 2.4 Ghz width 2GB ram. As the frame rate is very low.
It looked good to play too!

manzoman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:45am

Awesome game i really liked it

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52am

Great little game! Really fun and the effort you made with the graphics and the soundtrack really added to it. Good work.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:03am

Hey nice! Sadly my game was not winnable since one of the red cells disappeared into the darkness.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:37am

Nice idea!

But in dire need of polishing. Framerate is horrible, it's basically a slideshow. After 3 plays I still didn't figure out the rules. Sometimes I absorb cells, sometimes I pass trhough them. And then sometimes I die. But why? :P

Still, nice work!

DiG says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:41am

@matthias You die if you get in touch with any red cell bigger than you (even white cells belonging to that red cell count as an "extension" of the enemy). At the beginning you start and you're only able to get the smallest white cells, after the first 3/4 you can get the bigger ones.

TSJ666 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:43am

Sometimes simple(won in 45 secs), sometimes not(lost in 3 secs), anyways I like it so much!

DiG says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:43am

@Those who havea MAC: did you play the Web Player version or the downloadable one?

pintoo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:50am

The Best Game EVER :D
Nice Work DiG ;)

brother.byto says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:51am

Really nice.

A little short, but hey, that's always the problem when you have to make your game in such a short amount of time.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:00am

I have the biggest balls XDD lol

Nicely done, i guess that you have got your inspiration from Osmos, no?

a little bit more speed would be ok, and when yo absorb balls, it would be great that the areas were added correctly

Birchmountain says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:09am

a fun and intresting concept, i get some lag spikes at the beginning though. But overall, a good game!

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:11am

Pretty cool :) I find it hard to tell if I'm big enough to take on another cell - and sometimes hard to tell if cells are connected to a red one.

The game started REALLY slow for me, but was fine after some white cells disappeared.

Krobill says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:32am

Nice variation on the Osmos gameplay.

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:00am

Just a small fun game. Loving it.

4lxp says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:21am

Fantastic game

Zed says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:28am

Collecting the last few things was PAAAAAAAAAAAAINFULLY slow (I guess that's the point, though), but that ending screen was totally worth it. Now I feel good about myself. Good job!

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:35am

Nicely done

gbear605 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:57am

The mac version is far too laggy (I have a great computer, and I mean GREAT), at the lowest possible settings it was far far far too laggy to play.

pardue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:26pm

I laughed at the end... :)

BenW says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Very nice game. It wasn't clear to me when the smaller balls were supposed to be absorbed instead of just sticking to you. It seems like it was based on size but I wasn't sure. Also it would be nice if the up arrow key moved you forward.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Simple and addictive game.

Nidjo123 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Great mechanics, I could play this for hours.

foxor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:06pm

Pretty fun! Although the game decides whether you will win or die in the first 10 seconds, it's still fun to play it out.

Matt Rix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Kinda fun but seems a little too osmos-y. Also I think you might have a memory leak because every time I restart the game runs slower and slower.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:08pm

I felt it was cool. A bit of "Spore meets Katamari" feel to me, had fun! :)

Too bad it lagged REALLY BAD on the webplayer, and I couldn't run the application on Mac.

Gj!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Very fun up until the point when you are massive and move too slowly, but still very nice game :)

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:20pm

So much lag! On OS X 10.7.4, with 2.0 GHz i7 quad core processor and 4GB RAM... There has to be a memory leak somewhere, it's unplayable :(

ahnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Great game, but there's not much to it really. You either die horribly by chance or breeze over everything and win the game.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Chrome has security issues with the web player link, try changing it from https to http. Fun Game,wish the ball would move slightly fast as it got bigger.

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Awesome awesome! This is such an awesome concept and the gameplay is perfect. So simple and short but so addicting and fun. Very nice. :D

Also: http://i.imgur.com/r03OK.png < I think I win. Take that, evil red ball!!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:31pm

This is really nice.

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:35pm

this is awesome.

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Very nice idea, and who would have thought simple spheres for graphics could make for such a beautiful game? Nice music too.

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:53pm

On a Mac using unity web player, was pretty much unplayable. Will give the download a shot.

the.vaber says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:11pm

First few seconds of the game are quite frustrating, I'm often getting killed before i can even move.. love the idea and music :) (you should use http instead of https for web version, otherwise it doesn't run in chrome)

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:50pm

That was fun! But I kept on dying because the red cells were too powerful. In the first few seconds it kinda lagged and during that time it was like they got ALL of the white balls. Arg! Anyway, it was fun enough to get me to play it many times over - good work.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Well done!

Though the game is simple, it's quite fun. And the sounds really add to the atmosphere.

The game ran really laggy on my computer (stand-alone version, on windows) on the early stages... but as I grow bigger it began to run more smoothly. (also, my computer isn't really powerfull... so that was probably the cause).

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Unplayable on my Mac, but was worth firing up a Windows VM for!

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:20pm

I always wondered what Beutiful Katamari would look like in 2D and if it would work, well it seems like you nailed that mechanic really well. The game was fun and you captured the theme well as well.

My only critique is the music, there was an element of repetitiveness I found.

mortehu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14pm

It doesn't seem like the Kongregate version is Flash? http://m.bitraf.no/~mortehu/skrot/cellception-kongregate.png

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Great

Materie says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:37am

That was fun :)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:40am

Tip: change the unity link to http:// instead of https:// (otherwise it continually asks to install the web player)

Tried the unity link and the Kongregate unity link. Seems like an interesting concept, however the framerate makes it pretty rough to play.

turkwise says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:02am

There is something surprisingly satisfying about this haha.

Mamick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:03am

It was really laggy for me, but nice mechanic. A bit to hard at the beginning and easy/slow at the end, but great idea and very medetative.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:03am

This was extremely neat! I love the way everything stuck together. I wish my poor computer could handle it better, the game would chug at the beginning of the level.

Muradin001 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:18pm

awesome

Kumquat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Very nice idea!

I think there are some issues with physics/lags even with Unity/Windows.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:11am

Simple concept but done very well, was quite enjoyable :)

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:53am

Great job, it is really good. FYI - it does lag some on Kongregate.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:04am

I can't seem to get far and I just die in seconds...

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:48pm

The web version runs too slow to play on my machine, and unfortunately, the mac version doesn't open.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:37am

I feel that it is a good improvement on the Osmos gameplay mechanic. I like how they stack up ala-KatamariDamacy. Although sometimes it is hard to determine if an enemy is approaching because of the too many things crowding the screen. And yes, Kongregate lags a lot. Still nice work.

Gryxitl says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:28am

Nice take on the genre.

yosh says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:30am

Unfortunately my framerate is damn too low to play : (
(Maybe a post-compo no high-config version?)

axcho says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 5:34am

I couldn't find any red cells smaller than me. :(

tomhunt says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:04pm

The gameplay is simple enough, but I have get past the first few seconds, which seem to be the hardest of all, in order to get to the more interesting parts. Then it gets really slow and empty at the end. Also it needs an instructions dialog. The music is cute, though, and the visual design is nice and clean.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]