August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Blobolution

by Gallefray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

made within 48hrs for the Ludum Dare.

movement is explained in the picture below.

EDIT: 29/09/12 | updated the links after migrating the files over to another server | thanks to sorceress :D

All of the links are portable binary's, just extract and run :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1112Coolness10%

Comments

Gallefray says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:26pm

just a note, guys. The web version is slow, and takes a while to load. I advise you to download a binary instead.

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:32pm

A little bit to hard for me, can't catch the balls fast enough. Sounds would have been a nice addition. Well done.

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Would've been nice to have continous player blob motion, and it's a bit annoying that the other blobs are able to escape the screen, but I'm happy that you got the AI working properly! Vectors FTW!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:27pm

The enemies escaping make it next to impossible to win the game, but well done for what's here!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:17am

Great concept. It was too hard for me, too, but with polish could be a lot of fun.

X-0ut says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Very short indeed, however it took me 4 attempts to beat it.
Was kinda frustrating that I had to restart the app to play each time. But its just me being lazy :D The controls were a little awkward with the diagonal direction.. Was that an intended difficulty feature?

RawBits says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:00am

Osmos without physics. :) It would be good if the others somehow stay in the area so you have a chance to get them. Also the playfield could be bigger and have zooming.

Controls are awkward though. Why didn't you use the NumPad? I know it's not there on some devices but just as an alternative. And what you use is somehow implemented badly because you can't use multiple keys at once and even there are cases when it doesn't react to anything...

Btw, the online version isn't loading for me. (I'm using Processing too so it should work.)

Gallefray says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:42am

thanks everyone for the comments :) and the enemies are sup-post to be able to escape
X-Out: It wasn't intentional :P

RawBits: It wouldn't accept int's as input :P. I agree there, I still don't know what's making the controls clunky :P
I'll have to fix that in a Post-compo version :P

I have no idea how it isn't loading :( I'll try and fix it, now :P

Gallefray says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:43am

*supposed

Richard Matey says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Neat game, for a usability stand point I would have liked a restart button or start button to prepare myself. I always found my self stuck with grabbing a couple blobs from the left and then the rest get away from me, More randomization would help. Keep it up take care.

tomhunt says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:19am

I didn't get the reasoning behind using ESDF/WRXV instead of just using WASD and allowing simultaneous keypresses for diagonal movement.

Also, having to restart the game application on game over is kind of annoying, especially when it happens so damn quickly.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]