Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Unravelling Of The World By A Man Made Monstrosity - Starmen - Jam Entry

The Unravelling Of The World By A Man Made Monstrosity is an arcade shooter about an AI who discovers that it has free will.

IF YOU DIE, MAYBE TRY AGAIN. THERE ARE ROUTES FOR YOU TO GET PAST EVERYTHING WITH MODERATE EASE.

We did some voice acting because we had an hour or two left over after were finished, so make sure that you play with the sound on if you want to hear that.

Tools:
Audacity
BFXR
Photoshop CS6
FlashDevelop
Flashpunk

Not that you'll need it, but here is a SICK PRIMA DIGITAL STRATEGY GUIDE ONLY $14.99 AT ALL GOOD RETAILERS. http://i.imgur.com/gikuT.png Might not be 100% accurate as it's the thing I made before actually making the levels so that I could figure out what linked to what. Someone somewhere might find it useful.

View Starmen's journal. | View all entries by Starmen

Ratings

Coolness62%
#18Humor(Jam)3.67
#52Fun(Jam)3.39
#54Audio(Jam)3.49
#65Overall(Jam)3.38
#96Mood(Jam)2.97
#123Graphics(Jam)3.26
#159Innovation(Jam)2.66
#216Theme(Jam)2.11

Comments

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:58am

Loved the sound effects, witty. And the vibe made me think of the old old castle wolfenstien game. Very cool.

wumpus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:06am

Haha, loved it. Any questions I had about the use of the them are cast aside when I hear those sound effects. The kinda humour only a Ludum Dare game will conjure up. I really liked the extra layer of being able to throw guns and bodies too. Nice work.

kirill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:14am

Thank you Starman for the startling review :)
Nice to know that you get my interpretation of the evolution theme, I was a bit worried that some might argue it's more "adaptation" than "evolution".

This entry is what I think has the best theme implementation from what I've played so far:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=7352

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:37am

Today I killed a man by throwing the dead corpse of my creator at him. He was three days from his retirement.

All in all a good day for a robot.

DaviDeMo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:37am

haha this was fun. btw, the dead sound killed me O.o

Starmen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:46am

The dead sound is suuuuuper loud. I can turn it down if it's getting to be too much of a problem. The coding situation towards the end got a bit awkward where my partner who was doing that stuff couldn't actually test the game, so the volume stuff is a bit messed up.

chuchino says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:14am

Nice voice acting. A few of the rooms seem like you need to know what to do before you enter to beat them (especially the second last one), but the game is short enough that it doesn't really matter.

ghoulsblade says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:09pm

very good! just z is nasty on german keyboard, and picking up an empty gun can be confusing

Dadeyemi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Best game yet, Good job! took me a while to work out you needed the multi-shot gun to beat the final room xD.
I dont know if its a problem but this can be sped through in about 10 secs if you pick up a crate run through all rooms not killing anything till you multi-shot gun guy and then kite a bit in the last room b4 running through the door.

Dadeyemi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:18pm

I'd actually like to play a full game of this with some story line more weapons etc.

Starmen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:19pm

@ Dadeyemi - Yeah, I know that you can do that. We were trying to stop that by putting the light machine gun guys in the last room and that absolute mass of assault rifle guys, but unfortunately it just didn't work out that way. Thanks for the nice words though.

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Love those sprites.

Zamando says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Nice game, not my kind of humor. Kinda annoying when you kill a lot of enemies at the same time. Also the map layout not being consistent at one point. Other than that it is pretty nice!

dvdking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:03pm

this game is weird... i think i was quite far, but then i met a HUGE amount of guys in one room, there were so many bullets... i don't think it was possible to pass.
I actually had fun with the game. Really like that i can throw everything.

SiENcE says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Nice playable game. It's abit too fast for me but anyway good work for 72h!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:16am

Thoroughly enjoyed the voice acting :) Fun game, nice tempo.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Wasn't sure what to do at first, or why I was wondering around. Then found out I had to kill people with boxes. Awesomes!

Orni says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:16pm

haha, liked it
throwing corpes to get more corpes to get more corpes - as a robot!

ABPositive03 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:13pm

BEEP. BOOP. Can I give you an award for awesome voice acting?

Starmen says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:12am

@ABPositive03 BEEP.

madpew says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:12am

Voiceacting is great in this one. so emotional :D. The idea is great as well. Would love to see this mechanic expanded into a full game with more polish.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Brilliance! I could only beat it through running fast, though, like Dadayemi pointed out. Death sound is hilarious, and I'm glad you decided to voice act! I think Sergei Russiashinov or whatever needs to be in more games!

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:35am

come in from a door, exit through that same door into new room.. are we in willy wonka's factory?
fun though

Switchbreak says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Nice work, loved the sprites and the sound effects. Really hard, kinda weird how doors lead to different places from different directions.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Pretty hilarious little 2D shooter. Throwing dead people around was brilliant fun!

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]