Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
0 Days, 00:00:00

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
0 Days, 00:00:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Survival Of The Tastiest - zeh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is in the form of an Android APK. It was made for multi-touch devices, although there's a version you can play online (press CTRL/CMD to simulate multi-touch).

And it kinda, sorta, maybe works! A lot was left out. Alas, it was fun, especially as a first Ludum Dare entry!

Spawn pastas (by "ordering" them) and conquer the table! It is kind of challenging. There are right moments to spawn stuff.

You CANNOT control the flying pasta. That's not the idea. The idea is to have autonomous flying pasta! They're sort of dumb sometimes, though. Pasta technology is still a work in progress.

Be sure to check the plate's bills! They indicate the plate's state, like who's conquering it and who it belongs to (also indicated by the plate's colors).

The game decidedly fails to explain the gameplay well and should be judged as such. But if you're curious about what it's trying to do, there's some more information in the postmortem:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/08/27/survival-of-the-tastiest-post-mortem/

Known issues:
* It may crash eventually after a long time (texture memory problems probably)
* When you open the order menu, sometimes it doesn't let you close it anymore
* On Android, you need to install Adobe AIR prior to running the game (you're automatically redirected when running it for the first time)
* On Android, after the game ends, you can't restart it. You have to close it manually, either on the application settings, or calling the task switcher and swiping it away (Android 4+)
* I lowered the quality of the images to around 60% on Androids to avoid memory issues, since I couldn't do a lot of debugging. Sorry for the eventual bad texture quality
* On Android, the game will work on all devices that support AIR, but it's mostly meant for tablets; playing on phones will probably be frustrating

View zeh's journal. | View all entries by zeh

Ratings

#40Innovation3.83
#101Humor3.10
#107Graphics3.75
#280Mood2.80
#449Overall2.83
#492Fun2.57
#637Theme2.14
#641Coolness45%

Comments

CdrJameson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:27am

Visually brilliant and consistent, original tower-defence variant.
Drawbacks: Slight bugs (I managed to have negative money), rather easy, and limited interaction. Would have been nice to order multiple occurances of each pasta in one go.

cadin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Funny concept. I couldn't really figure out what I was supposed to be doing, though. Also not sure how this fits the theme. Audio would be a good addition.

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:45pm

the game looks nice but i have no idea what i'm doing :/. also, using a black background in your 'cheapo web version' with black labels is very confusing

VAMflax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Can't say I really understood completely what I was doing, but the gfx and movement controls are great, (played on PC).

I like the rotatable button to call the waiter. Cool :)

1176Studios says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:51pm

loved how the stats was displayed in the receipt

aare says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:52pm

As the above already said, it lack the feedback of what is going on. The interface on bills is funny and look gr8, but don't tell You much, and require effort to check.
Also, the scrolling might use a little inertia to make it feel more smooth

Mago says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Interesting idea. Pasta wars :)
Nice graphics, too bad there is no sound.
Biggest issue for me is that you don't have much to do besides ordering more and more pasta. I installed apk on my Samsung galaxy S and it work very vell besides cut subtitles but I understand it was due to resolution

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:58am

I won! It's fun, it could have used some amount of control over your pasta, and some better explanation of where it spawns when you buy it. The black text on the black background was really frustrating.

Uberi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:03am

Love the concept, though the pastas could have some better AI. Although, they are pastas...

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:07am

Very good! It's a bit hard, though. I noticed that the person who wins is always the one that just spawns hordes of Fillinis, but when I tried that, it didn't work. Very fun anyway, though! And the multitouch emulation isn't bad, either. I got used to it really fast.

dick_claus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:44pm

After simple explanation I realized what to do. But sometimes it's so difficult to defend your plate because you could create 3 single pastas in a row which would be to far from attacker.

zeh says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Thanks guys.

dick_claus, you're absolutely right. Some pastas can be pretty dumb. One of the things that were missing was for a Pasta to realize their own plate is being conquered upon respawn and then start attacking the enemy Pasta instead of just flying away. As it is know, if the enemy Pasta is not in the range of their sauce, they'll just ignore it.

Part of the strategy of the game is knowing *when* to spawn new pastas (since you need to defend your base), but indeed, when your newly spawned Pastas just ignore the enemy and fly away, it can be frustrating :)

hgcummings says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Completely bizarre but quite fun. As others have said, it's a bit too easy and possible to win without really knowing what you're doing. With a bit of balancing and some different levels (e.g. more varied table arrangements) it could be a quite engrossing game.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:17pm

The web version has a red bar emblazoned over it when I play: "Context3D error: Error #3685"

Nonetheless, I can still play it. I can't beat it, though, no matter how hard I try, but I see where you were going. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]