Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Cubevo - NostraDamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

These black and white cubes need some EVOLUTION!

------------------------------------------------------HINTS-------------------------------------------------------------

- Use your EvoGems carefully, don't waste it! Some cubes can generate new gems, learn to recognize them!
- A couple Big EvoGems are hidden in the world, find their location for 10 free EvoGems each!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New screenshot added: the MAP! (PLEASE don't use if you play the game for the first time!)

View NostraDamon's journal. | View all entries by NostraDamon

Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Overall3.84
#45Innovation3.81
#60Mood3.52
#89Fun3.49
#92Graphics3.81
#92Audio3.35
#230Theme3.26
#350Humor2.11

Comments

rodrigomotta says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:15pm

I like the Minecraft style. Congrats.

Robotic says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Very nice !

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:49pm

I love the art and the frustration that comes out of the gameplay

kiwi says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:55pm

I realy like this game :)

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Thank you very much for the feedback!
Did anyone make it to 100%? :)

kaidoe says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Love it!... But I gave up :P

Hvedrung says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:18am

I still want to know why you couldn't cut the grass with a basic sword ;)

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:53am

Really soothing puzzler/adventure. I really enjoyed unlocking the world and guessing what might come out of the white boxes around the world. :) I got to just above 20% on my second try when I failed and didn't really want to start over again. :P

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:07am

Hvedrung: in this world, the grass is the most solid element! You need the legendary gold sword named 'Excalibush' to cut through it!

Baburo, kaidoe: that's a problem, it can be really boring to start all over again... I might add an Easy mode, with infinite Gems generators.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Pretty bland, don't really know what to do.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:21pm

I like that there actually are ways to deduce which blocks will yield more EvoGems, at first I thought it was just guesswork. You could probably make a pretty strategic-heavy game out of this if you're going to keep working on it. Clicking on numbered blocks actually reminded me a little of minesweeper. My only complaints really are the abundance of tight spaces, I tended to get stuck quite a lot, some music would've been nice as well. Other than that; great work! :)

polegar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:24pm

Really good challenging game, and I enjoy the style. Nice work for only 48h !

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:55pm

AWESOME!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Nice graphics and atmospheric music. Can't find out what I have to do though...

michax says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Very good idea! Enjoed exploring. Got stuck at some point but as restart button is always near it's probably assumed to get stuck offent.

Kuulog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:07pm

I'm loving the Minecraft block style used in this game. Also, clever mechanic in evolving blocks into things.

Folis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:09pm

Really sweet entry you have there! It's well made overall, and I enjoyed it a lot.

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:15pm

A fun game, though frustrating at times. I enjoyed the mindless task of using my gems. I did not enjoy getting stuck in mazes of trees. The game could also use a few more objectives to keep the player interested. Right now it felt kind of monotonous. I eventually got a key, but for some reason that did not open the door as expected. All in all a fun game jam game. I hope you'll expand on it with tighter feedback loops in the future.

SteelRaven7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:23pm

A soothing and open-minded puzzler. What more could you ask for?

Sad thing is that I got stuck in a wall after grabbing the third key :(.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:29pm

Funny puzzle. Needed a bit to get what to do, but that's one of the game's greatest part. I needed 411 clicks :)

Ambient music and sound makes a very deep mood. The graphics are simple but are looking very well and suitable.

Moving is sometimes a bit uncomfortable if you want to move around an edge or in small corridors.

If you make a post-compo-version, you should evolve the fighting part (or delete it and concentrate on other parts like more objects to evolve).

(Feel free to rate my game and give me feedback by clicking on my name :))

Ezzam says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:31pm

A really enjoyable game. Got to 42% on my first attempt.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Very fun, and engaging. The level is well designed as well. However, for the life of me, I couldn't get the door open. I ended up with three keys, I'm guessing there are more but I didn't see any more obvious locations and kept running out of gems. Ended up somewhere around 43% evolution.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:36pm

100%, Jetpack mode was a nice touch, great game

Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:56pm

Really cool! I got a 100% ^^ the game gets very meditative after a while :3

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Great idea! I love the graphics.

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Pretty nice. I think the gameplay is quite solid. A bit too long for an LD game maybe (not sure if that's a bad thing, ultimately) and the white color for the HUD font is not a very good choice since it can't be seen against the white boxes.

surreal_whale says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:29pm

I just spent far too long playing that, it took me a while to figure out, and even then a couple of attempts. The concept is good, and I really like the way the music comes in. My main criticism is that the enemy takes too many hits to kill, the first time I got up to him I gave up hitting him because it didn't seem to do anything.

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:08pm

Not bad, but it has some odd slowdowns and I got stuck in a bush at one point so i gave up.

Blobby101 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Woo finally completed it! This is an awesome game!

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:10pm

One of the most interesting games I've played here so far..its like minesweeper but with forests

Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Smart game, thought it was easy at first but managing resources made it challenging.

Rellikiox says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Really cool game. I enjoyed it a lot.

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

did not really get what i have to do and why i can evolve the cubes but the graphics style is nice. also the sound is relaxing.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Interesting concept. The collection aspect is kind of addictive in that compulsive sort of way :)

Running out of gems and having to restart was a little too frustrating for me. Saved up for the 10-point cube expecting something rewarding inside, then ran out of gems :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:56pm

I was hooked for a while on this one, nice job!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Annoying but great idea and I like the first person thing. Also, it could've used a pause screen or something, and maybe options for sensitivity and stuff like that.

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:16pm

That was a really good experience, relaxing but needed planning and thought to be able to progress.

I haven't made it to a 100%, but I am getting close, there are a few areas that need to be done systematically or it's all over..

Good intelligent design, graphics and audio.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Lovely!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Nice gamble-minesweeper feel to it, really really good. I also gave up cause I couldn't find ... something... :D but that was just my fault. Great concept, feeling, gameplay and mood, really great job.

congratulations

Rob says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:37pm

:D

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:01pm

The reward for 100% is the best reward it could possibly be. Outstanding game. :)

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:05pm

I really warmed to this game after a while - wanted to play it to the end :) Pity there don't seem to be enough evogems to make the whole world come to life!

Moving past trees is a little annoying - get suck a lot.

vigrid says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Good puzzler, I haven't managed to solve it yet. Can I have a look at the sources?

Mayto says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:13am

Wow, this is great! I really like it! I really enjoyed discovering the world step by step. I didn't make it to 100% for now but I'll do it!

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:14am

Magnificent! I really love the strategic and puzzling approaches in this game.
Just to let you know, I did get stuck in one of the trees when I was making such a sharp turn around it. I wasn't able to get myself free and had to restart the game again.

"Cubevo" definitely have some potential!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

Very nice and relaxing. :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

One more thing: I'm just concerned of those evo points getting stuck between the two trees and the hard-to-reach ones on top of blocks.

LeetLeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:18am

The best game I've played so far!

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:36am

Great one - looks good and is fun to play

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:40am

Really fun, but I mostly gave up because it was a bit hard on the eyes. I don't know it was just me but the screen seemed to move really fast. That aside, really nice!

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:22am

I feel like I am playing minecraft, minesweeper and sudoku WHILE trying to collect starts on mario 64.

Nice game I had fun and I will be coming back to this one after I review some more!

linkzns says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:26am

nice

tordre says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:10am

Seemed interesting. I got the door unlocked was trying to find the key when I ran out of EvoGems, Movement being too slow, and navigating around trees being too tedious will prevent me from making a second attempt. A big open world is fun if the possibilities are limitless, but when there is a set path you must follow it would be better to break it into smaller chunks which would allow for a save point system instead of having to start from scratch. This being an integral part of your game design there is nothing you can do about this now besides improving the feel of the movement and navigation.

The player can infer rules from your game, for instance not wasting Evo on 1 blocks, but the game itself breaks the inferred rule and could be seen as jarring to the player and lead to giving up on a confusing goal. Something you might not have realized.

Graphics are quite generic with the style you have done. The over contrasted game world with bright colours on black is definitely headache inducing. Combine this with not enough contract when needed... For most of the game the screen is either mostly white or black, plain white is not a good choice for your primary HUD elements. Might I suggest another color, or white with a black border so it is still readable when staring into a white block.

Music is the strongest element in this game, really capturing the evolution you appear to be going for.

Mechanically there is a perceived flaw, for instance the spawn '2' blocks on the edge of the map instantly throw one of the four EvoGems off the edge of the world, not sure if these lost EvoGems were accounted for in your level design?

EvoGems being trapped places is another problem, it seems like your game is not one of dexterity but one of logic making people deal with the world just to get coins that you already know exists is not fun, but tedium in this world. I suggest adding/increasing the pick-up radius, This way the player does not need to navigate trough the trees as much and will get a better sense of accomplishment by hearing the 4 bloops when the tree forms. instead of hearing a bloop and looking to see how they are going to get the other coins.

Apologies for being critical. I believe everyone here did an amazing job this past weekend and that we all have done something to be proud of, but I also feel people tend to give more compliments because of this. I am merely giving my honest feedback with suggestions for an improved experience. Cannot wait for version two or your next game.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:31am

Great game! It's really fun if you're careful with your EvoGems, but it can be a bit tedious at times.

Jorjon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:50am

Very well done. (spoiler: I liked the jetpack mode :) http://i.imgur.com/oLpfY.png)

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:58am

Well done game. Reminded me almost of a reverse Minecraft, where you are building the trees, etc instead of chopping them down. I did think getting stuck in tree-mazes got a little frustrating. Is it possible to jump the boxes? couldn't figure that out.

jwin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:02am

Very cool game! Played through to 100%, the revealing the world mechanic proved a bit addicting.

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:04am

I got really frustrated because the completion of the game is based on effort and planning, but you only discover that after the first trial.

It was really awesome when I found the sword, but the feedback of the monster taking damage was really dull.

I liked the style a lot, the music..
But when I failed for the third time and had to restast the level, I gave up!

Overall, very pleasing, but I think 1 squares should give 1 evogem :/

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:56am

Cool game. Graphics are really sweet. I wasn't quite sure what to do though...

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:54am

oh wow, its MinecraftSweeper. There were a couple instances of being able to see partly into a block when on the right angle. The controls felt smooth, but the camera was a bit weird, sorry I can't quite describe what felt odd about it though.

spcmnspf says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:07am

I thought I was done for sure. Was able to squeak by and get enough to unlock a key. Great build up with simple gameplay.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:03am

Utterly engrossing experience for me. The puzzle/discovery aspect of the main game was wonderful, and I think I enjoyed the compulsive "filling out the world" game even more. The mood set by the music was really fitting. Excellent work!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19am

A nice game, but it's boring after a time... And I hate tree collisions ^^

matheod says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:17am

Really Good game !

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:26am

Nice game.

TheSarcastic says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Great game! Amazing art, music and gameplay turned out fun and addicting :)

keenblaze says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Really addictive game! And nice mood

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Cool!

Zed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Cool, but really unforgiving.

Nimphious says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Great game. I especially enjoyed the music changing over time as the world grew more and more evolved. It was a little frustrating that I got so far before finding out that clicking on an already evolved block caused it to waste a gem.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Nice original idea, I made it to about 40% before getting bored of growing trees and trying to navigate through the mazes, nothing more infuriating than seeing a gem you can't reach! I can't seem to hear any music ( I'm using Chrome) only sound fx which are good. It would be a relaxing game apart from the limited supply of gems, which is an interesting element as you need a strategy, how to get the most gems from spending the least.

Starmen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:56pm

The art and audio are real nice, but I wasn't a huge fan of the actual gameplay.

chardish says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Interesting! A bit of a puzzle. I like it, even if it's a bit liberal with the theme (one thing changing into another thing is not evolution.)

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:49pm

I really love this game, the atmosphere, the gamelogic, maybe the monster should attack and i got stucked once, anyway i enjoyed it :)

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Thank you very much guys for all the feeback! :D
First, I'd like to say criticism is not a problem, as long as it's done in a constructive way(and it actually is!). Indeed, it helps me a lot to improve the game, and I can see a bunch of great ideas around here, thank you for that :)

Reading all your comments, I see 3 or 4 important points to work on.
- The collisions and the whole "stuck in the trees" thing is a real pain. It needs smoother collisions and less restrictive hit boxes. I think it's one of the biggest issue in this game.
- A second one is the savestates problem. Why? Because they simply do not exist :p I tried to program the gameplay mechanic in a hardcore way, so it's done on purpose, but I understand the frustation. I plan to add a saving system, or find a way to generate unlimited gems (enemy generator, fountains, hit the trees, ...). It'll certainly be more pleasant to play.
- About the stuck gems problem... It is actually a mental torture, but it didn't do it on purpose, just a lack of time. Actually, I already expanded the EvoGems hitboxes' size 3 times. But it evidently wasn't enough. I might implement a sort of vacuum cleaner to suck them up :)
- Including a Jump behavior can be interesting. But the mapping has to be modified accordingly. That's definitly a possible future improvement.

Some of you guys think of Minesweeper playing the game. It has never occured to me before, but it's true! It's like a 3D Minesweeper, but without the mines. Adding negative effects by evolving a certain kind of cube can be a cool feature...

And finally, some of you ask for the Source Code (and it's legitimate as I HAVE to provide it :p), and it's coming very soon.

Thanks for playing, and don't hesitate to give me more feeback or ideas of improvements!

(I apologize for my english, as it's not my native language)

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:59pm

It kinda reminds me of a game...

ahm99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Very fun. I beat the game and evolved the world 100%. Jet pack mode was nice too. Good job. :)

Zamando says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Cool game! I did beat it but I didn't get 100%

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Look very good, and is actually kinda challenging. But sometimes also frustrating

EnigmaBlade says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Great game! The only downside I am able to come up with is the movement. The acceleration feels too slow and the collision isn't the best.

Fritzendugan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Cool concept, had sort of a "minesweepeer meets minecraft" feel to it. Only complaint I have is, like others, it gets kinda monotonous after a while, and if you run out before you can get everything, there's really no desire to want to play through the earlier section again. Got to about 53% complete and then ran out (just found where I think the third key was, but didn't have enough to get it). Collision detection with the trees was annoying.

What would've been nice would've been an ability to pull the evo gems toward you. There were a bunch that I couldn't even get to.

Overall, nice entry.

Nickolai51 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Really cool, but sooo frustrating when you just need 4 more gems to get the key to unlock the final chest!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Interesting puzzle twist on block-building games. Really cozy and strangely addictive, it's nice to discover surprises like the monster and big gems.

Sadly it's easy to get stuck and have to restart, because you can't plan ahead if you don't know where the crucial locations are, and I'm sure many just give up at that point.

Oh, and 5 stars for audio, glad to see developers paying attention to sound.

kato9 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Great ambience and wonderfully addictive gameplay. I'm just a little miffed that i was just a few gems short of being able to open the final '10' box...and no more trees in the whole world!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Very nice mood, the music really adds to it. Though I was very frustrate after some solid 15 minutes of playing it thinking my strategy was ok and then I open the door with no gems left. =(

Will try again later, really liked the game! =)

pardue says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:20pm

I really enjoyed the game, one of the best that I have played so far!

Eniko says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:58pm

This is awesome. Addictive, soothing music, good puzzle aspects, and everything has a purpose, even blocks you think are just there to suck out evo gems. Keeps going after you finish, and then at 100% completion you get another fun bone tossed as an encore. Just excellent.

The only niggle is that some people like their mouse controls inverted, and I make it a rule not to play games that don't have an invert option because it gets physically painful after a while. But I still got a 100% despite that. :)

Vladp995 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:04am

Jet-pack mode :D

saguaro says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:38am

Addictive! Great game.

Split82 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:55am

Reallly nice game. Just the controls behave a little bit strange. Everything else is great.

NateNaterson says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:25am

Neat quirky little game. I like the art!

EatThePath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:27am

Quite a nice game, though I got stuck at 38%. I couldn't figure out how to attack the monster even after finding the sword. It'd be nice if you could slide along obejcts rather than coming to a stop whenever you bump into anything. Also, I don't really feel like this works with the theme interestingly. Despite using the word, it doesn't really feel like things are evolving, just getting unlocked.

Oreganik says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:34am

Found sword, then for some reason couldn't hit the monster. :( Still, a five minutes pleasantly spent.

davisan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:44am

Very good. I stopped at +-45%, after getting the sword, killed the monster, got two keys and used one of them, but I ended with only 3 evogems and no more 2 clicks blocks :(

tastive says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:55am

Very cool. Needs checkpoints badly, though; it sucks not being able to find more gems once you're at 20-30%.

fhoenig says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:26am

How do I loose this game?

ncannasse says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Great concept, but quite frustrating when you get stuck very near the end, especially when you have few gems stuck in the trees... and you can't jump :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Awesome idea! I don't like craft games... But this so addictive. Excellent work!

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Loved the music

bobiniki says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Reminds me for minesweeper :D

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:22pm

New screenshot added: the MAP! (PLEASE don't use if you play the game for the first time!)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:23pm

Brilliant game, I think I've just had my first math orgasm :-)

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:39pm

I enjoyed it a lot, never played something like this before.

Kinokochan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Loved the way the game encouraged me to manage my gems carefully.
The graphics and audio both create a wonderful mood, and the level of challenge is perfect for the scope.

I felt a real sense of accomplishment when I finally beat it! Excellent work!

chuchino says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:11am

I found it frustrating to navigate areas with lots of tightly packed trees, and unfortunately that describes a lot of the game. The mechanic of having to carefully decide which blocks to reveal so you don't run out of gems was cool though.

Materie says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:41am

One of the few games this LD where I actually thought starting from scratch was worth it. Second attempt - Jetpack Mode :D

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:04am

Great idea!

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:19am

Really liked it. Quite a few gems fell over the side of the map, and i wasn't able to get at the final key below the rock. Now i'm super curious what was in that last chest.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:54am

Wow, I already had my favorites, but now this have the cake.
This game made me really rething things about gamedesign. There are some flaws, like you have to take too much care about what block you will unlock and have some serious performance problems, but it's qualities overcome this.
All the game was really thought, feels good and it's just plain fun.
I just ask you to remove the slippery move of the character controller, it is painful to move like that, specially when lagging and, it doesn't fit your game.
5 stars on everything and I'm your fan.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:39am

Amazing, great work!

GreyShock says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:28am

Awesome puzzle! I really spent a good time with this! Thank you for creating this awesome game :D

kiwi says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:33am

Great game, really loved it

Saturnyn says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Great realization !

Tritax says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:18am

Was enjoying myself, but after I lost I didn't want to restart and grind through it again to try and finish.

recursor says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:10am

This game made me smile...then I had to lay down :(
I actually got motion sickness playing this which is crazy. I play 3D FPS games quite a bit. I think it was because the paths between the trees are so close together. I didn't enjoy getting stuck in the tree maze, but regardless of that, this is some great stuff. I really liked the concept of clicking the cubes a certain number of times to get it to 'evolve'. Oh and the music is great too!

Doft says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:49am

You really should make it able to get 100% global evolution, and make that be the end of the level, with a zoom out to show the result of all your clicks :)

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:16am

Interesting concept, but becomes repetitive after a while.. I've found a box with a sword, but i'm not sure on what is doing.. Maybe just augment the range?

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:40am

Doft: Actually, the game IS 100% finishable. But you have to find the second sword to do so :)
And the zoom is already there... but you need the 100% completion :p

gnx says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:56pm

The initial moments are intriguing when you start working out the mechanics. Uncovering the world block by block. This is one of those gameplay mechanics that relies on very basic human emotions for discovery, which is cool.

I have to say I would've liked a crosshair, and perhaps you could've arranged a bit more rewards near the start as the world kind of felt sparse when I had spent all my gems.

Good job.

Gaeel says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Interesting, but a little frustrating when I started to run out of trees to get gems from...

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:28am

It took me 5 tries but I won. Never again.

Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:51am

I agree. The game requires planning. From what I have gathered so far, number 2 blocks gives you those gems. 1 blocks are just there to block your way, u can have them disappear by using a gem. But using too much gems will make you less likely to finish the level. So you need to plan when to use. It was quite a puzzle and I liked it.

There was a problem when I was playing though. The game sometimes lagged and the character continues to move according to the last input. :D

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:01am

When I first saw the numbered blocks I thought this would be some sort of 3d mine sweeper.

odrega says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:36am

There are 2 things I really love about this game, the way the world feels as it slowly comes to life around you, and the graphics that go with it. Though I found it next to impossible without using the 'cheat sheet'. Good Job =)

samoojamies says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Finished it! 402 times clicked. Fun idea and the gameplay was great also. Minecrafty mood. Movement could be smoother because objects slow you down too often.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Moving around in the tiny spaces between the trees was a complete nightmare! I ended up having to quit because of motion-sickness.

Apart from that, the game had a good feel and an interesting idea behind it.

alvivar says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:27pm

A really nice idea, a lot of potential, there is to much that you can do with this puzzle. Innovation +1

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Really nice game. Got stuck frustratingly a few times amongst the trees, but overall was very enjoyable.

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Really a good concept! My only reproach would be that trees should throw more EvoGems because there's a time you clearly miss some :/

CapGrip says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:47am

Great Game!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:56am

super cool style. Runs super smooth with no lag on my macbook. And the general mechanics work well. Nice Job!:DD

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Great game- like MineSweeper and Minecraft jumbled together in a fun little puzzle game. I loved it- 5 stars overall- great work

jfroco says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:26am

Great..

monsieur_nez says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:20am

Nice! Great mood, smooth and polish!

mohammad says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:03am

Was difficult and annoying =P
Yet this game kept telling me to do something. Although I don't speak good gamenese. :(

frogmaster says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:27am

Wow! Pretty nice and innovative game! I like it :)

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:19pm

I tried to run it on Linux using Wine, but it crashed after pressing the play button. If you want, I can send you the automatically created error log.

Gama11 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:07am

Wow, impressive game. I loved the artstyle, music and onverall atmosphere. My problem with it is that the main challenge of the game wasn't the puzzle aspect - it's basically, "just go for trees", but moving around. I found myself bumping into trees _all the time_ because I wasn't sure whether the gap is wide enough for me to get through or not. That is something that abolsutely needs to be addressed.

Walt says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:10am

very nice, some very repetitive aspects and aimless gameplay but cool visuals

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 10:09am

Really nice use of the theme.
Is there enough gem to evolve the whole world ?

science4cake says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Loved the exploration style. Getting stuck on the trees made me motion sick after about 5 minutes.

axcho says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 6:11am

Awesome mood. This could be like a weird game-like dream. It feels so cool. The gameplay was confusing at first, but I kind of enjoyed figuring it out. And the tedious completionistic filling-in of every box actually appeals to me, because I get to see the world transform as I do it (and the EvoGem rewards help too). I really enjoyed seeing that first 6 box hidden across the water, and trying to figure out how to get across.

One of my favorites in the competition so far! :D

madflame991 says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 9:53am

+ I really liked the concept, at first it looks a bit like Minecraft but then you see that it's more towards discovering hidden treasures and gathering stuff... it's really addictive :D
+ blocky graphics and vivid colours work well
- after clicking like crazy, the amount of items rendered tends to make my video board cough :( but that's not your fault

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]