Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Phoenix Rising - Brassawiking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** The Phoenix Rising ***

- Story driven game with focus on immersion
- Controls that mimic real life (as good as it gets)
- 5 full stages
- Highly art driven
- A fully and complete game, no content was cut out. So if you get stuck, keep trying because there is a proper end to it all

*** End Promo Text ***

NOTE: The game file is big (10mb) and I am currently hosting it on my dropbox. Will get a better hosting tomorrow.
NOTE2: Also, remember to click the flash, so it gets focus.


First time for me going solo with the compo entry. It was up and down, but mostly up. Thought I was going to cut out a lot of content, but I managed to get it all as I wanted =)

I did a take on survival of the fittest for the theme. So here is a small story for you to enjoy.

Half of the work was spent on the assets, half on coding.

Tools:
* Flixel
* Photoshop
* Wolfram tones
* Bxfr
* Audacity

Finally, if you liked my art, check out my all my other work at http://www.brassawiking.deviantart.com/gallery/

View Brassawiking's journal. | View all entries by Brassawiking

Ratings

Coolness62%
#16Mood3.94
#38Innovation3.86
#62Graphics4.00
#112Overall3.50
#180Audio2.97
#336Fun2.85
#407Theme2.82
#518Humor1.68

Comments

Perry says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:52am

Nice take on the theme, and integrating evolution into a story based game.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:16am

Wow, amazing graphics - it's a really original style with paintings. I'd love to see more of your work! I couldn't get past the first part though, I got Sabine to reach into her bag and that was about it?

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:29am

Thank you very much =) If you get stuck, try to some extra button combinations. I tried to mimic what you have to do in real life, so think in words what you want to do and try to express that with the controls.

TheSheep says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: commonality/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:55pm

@TheSheep: Not sure what to do about that, java shouldn't be relevant at all for this. Made a quick search and it could be related with your java runtime installation or something alike. Sorry, don't think I can help you on that one.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:20pm

I love the art style. I was not able to get past the bag part as well, it seems that the game keeps on lagging and the controls not working some of the time.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Well the controls keep changing, so some times they will do something sometimes they will not.

For those who get stuck on the bag part, a hint would be that you would like to "PUT DOWN your arm" and then "GRAB something in the bag".

I could post a walkthrough if more people seem to get stuck on this. The idea for the prelude was that there was supposed to be UI-hints for what keys to press, but I skipped that part and let it be a safe exploration instead.

Birchmountain says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Really enjoyed the graphics, sadly i couldn't get past the part where you hide behind the car, i just keep running and hiding behind cars. But up to that point the game felt very ambitious and i'll have to try to play through it later!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Dammit, and the best part IMHO is final action scene =) Hopefully people will get past the tedious running and enjoy the last part, otherwise I will have to upload a tweaked version.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Nice art!

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Loved the graphics and the sound effects.
I didn't like the controls and gave up at the car scene. I found it very frustrating trying to guess what you wanted me to do.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:01pm

I liked it, it goes on a completely different direction than most games, great job. I really had to figure out what to do. Different kind of game. Sadly I did not finish, I got frustrated on the scene vs cars and helicopter. Died like 10 times then I couldn't go again.

Really liked the mood and art style, great job!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:28pm

Yeah, the controls will most likely be a matter of taste, some will like it, others won't. I put up a walkthrough for those that those who get stuck or just want to get it over.
The action scenes might be a bit hard, I have only playtested it by myself so I can't really tell how difficult it really is.

SethR says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:11pm

I just can't pass the car scene, which you had a key to skip a scene just so I could see the rest! Really like the mood here.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:16pm

What a deadly camera-take a picture and people blow up! Good job, most unique game I have played yet.

echa says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Wow!

Controls are great.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:34pm

I can make a new version tomorrow where you can select scenes, for those who want to skip some parts to see the rest.

echa says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:35am

But the game is not very long =)

For the car part I figured out a trick: start running from the very left side of the car, they won't shoot you.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:55pm

First thing that grab my attention is that this is very dark game, but in a good way.
All mini-games are enjoyable and you did a great job with the concept.
Very good!

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:35pm

I really enjoyed playing through these. Lovely use of the theme and interesting game play.

chuchino says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:11am

Interesting and weird game. The running scene was kind of clunky and awkward, but the driving/shooting scene was fun. I don't think I fully understood the story.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:22am

I really like that one.
I figured moody game would not be numerous with this theme, and well... this is a nice take on it :)

I feel that proper animation would benefit the game a lot (I know, lot of work. Especially if you did all the art by yourself)

Zed says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:31pm

That was really, honestly, incredibly clever. Like a sort-of 2D Heavy Rain. Good job!

jplur says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:38pm

An amazing entry, really loved discovering how to advance.

I think people having trouble with some parts are a bit impatient, but possible the running scene could be reworked.

Great stuff!

saguaro says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:04pm

It took me a few minutes to figure out how to play, but once I got the gist of it, things went quickly. Great job. I enjoyed this one.

mohammad says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:28pm

a very. very, VERY, interactive game despite being flash.
it was hard, tedious, and rage quitty. but fun, and a little too short. but hey, it was flash, it was interactive, and it was 42 hours.

panda says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 4:23am

Awesome game! Congrats, you made a complete game on the theme, and the graphics are great! The controls sometimes have the magical feel of being just what I meant, and sometimes they're a bit confusing (esp the second level with the running), but since when we die we return to the last level, that's ok. I really enjoyed it! Thank you and congratulations! I like the storytelling tyle of "do, don't tell", though I must admit that I have no idea what happened at the first level.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:27pm

The button mashing! I really liked not knowing what to do and figuring things out. Very nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]