August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

.ISO - Part One

by Kortuga98 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here it is. ISO - Part one. I may make a Part Two. Who knows. I'm just a bit fed up with coding at the moment.

ISO is a linear story-based platformer in a future where technological implants in humans have caused them to rapidly evolve into nearly completely mechanical monstrosities bent on destroying every non-implanted human in existence.

As a last-ditch effort, the human Resistance put all their efforts and resources into creating one final weapon- You- A super-soldier of biotechnological make that would be capable of destroying the entire machine army in a fell swoop of a fist.

Before you could be activated, though, the Resistance was seemingly destroyed.

For thirty years you have waited, dormant, in the ruins of the old Resistance outpost... Until you were activated with a mysterious radiowave transmission from deep space.

Now, it is up to you to discover the fate of the Resistance, the meaning behind your activation, and the shattering secrets hidden in the fabrics woven by time!
--------

INSTRUCTIONS:

Up, Down, Left, Right to move.
X to shoot.
Z to jump.
C to see which keys you currently possess.
Hold Shift to dash.
Hold X until you are glowing to unleash a charged shot.
Shift+Z+Direction to open a door for which you have the key.

--------

This game took about 30 hours of total nonstop work to complete. I put a damn lot of effort into it, so please take the time to download and score it. Additionally, please be gentle with the criticism, this is only my second game and I'm 14. Thank you, and enjoy.

--------

Also, check out N247's awesome game, http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=7563

EDIT:
Apparently the movement isn't too great. I thought it was good, but hey. If it's the speed of the movement that's bothersome, just hold shift to dash everywhere.

~Kortuga

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#52Graphics4.12
#94Mood3.33
#124Audio3.21
#357Overall3.00
#368Humor2.07
#511Fun2.52
#563Innovation2.40
#565Theme2.40

Comments

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:10pm

337 mb... o_O

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:46pm

I don't like it
Graphics is good, even great.
Movements are awful.
Hero moves like a turtle.
Jumps on walls in super meat boy style were made very inconvenient.
I stuck on the red door,it didn't open, even though I had red key.

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:50am

Did you Shift+Jump+Direction to open it like the directions above say to?

nate427 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:12am

Movement was a bit annoying, but otherwise it was really fun!

Zakalicious says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:05am

movement is really annoying

NedortGames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:26am

The movement is really just horrible if you do make a part two that should to be no 1 on your todo list!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:31am

I dont really like the movement, but is a good idea :)

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:32am

It's amazing that you made this in 48 hours. There's so much going on it's really quite impressive. As others have noted, the movement is a bit stiff which makes moving around feel less "bad ass" than you'd expect as a "super soldier". I also felt the text was a bit hackneyed. Overall I think you have a really solid base of a game, but it's just not fun yet. Work more on getting the player movement and battles to be extremely fun and then start to expand on the content.

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:44am

Can someone explain to me just what you mean about the movement being bad..? I've played the game over and over, I'm just not getting what's so terrible about it. Elaborate?

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:47am

Otherwise, thanks for the constructive criticism. Very helpful.

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:53am

Awesome graphics and music, annoying movement speed suck though. Pretty fun anyway!

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:04am

If it's the movement speed that's being bothersome, just dash everywhere by holding Shift while moving.

Robotic says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:43pm

A bit too heavy in my opinion, but has lots of content. Next time focus more on the gameplay and maybe try creating an unique atmosphear with less ressources ?

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Excellent graphics and sounds. I can see what the other comments are saying about controls, it feels somewhat spongy and like I'm not fully in control. Controls are hard to get right though and with a bit of tweaking you've got a truly impressive game.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Holy file size Batman!

I think I elaborate on the movement issues. First off your character moves really slow when not running; painfully slow. The jump is also way too floaty, the player should move up faster and fall faster given the tone of the game.

The wall jumping is difficult to do, and that maybe due to having played Super Metroid and other similar games. With your control scheme the player needs to be pressing towards the wall to jump then immediately switch directions if they are going to bounce between two walls. It's a little more intuitive to push the direction they intend on going first then jumping. From an implementation standpoint, when you would start a slide, if the player pushes the opposite direction make them stick to the wall for a split second.

For the dash, I found it irritating that I couldn't change directions while dashing. I had to let go of the shift key and then change directions. This might be less of an issue if the normal movement was faster and I didn't want to dash everywhere.

Finally, this may just be my preference, but I think you should swap the controls on the Z and C keys. It feels more natural to my to use my index and middle finger more than ring and pinky for controls, and it would put jump in the right most button which always felt more natural to me on a keyboard.

cadin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Your screenshots look great. I really like that red robot monster.
Unfortunately I can't play since I don't have a Windows machine.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

I also didn't enjoy the controls, but other then that it was pretty good

agersant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

I think part of the control's clunkiness is due to the character's low speed in comparison with his animation (very fast run cycle).
Fantastic soundtrack!

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Sorry, this is too big for my connection :(

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Certainly the biggest game I've played yet... Took ages to download even with a download speed of 35-50Mb/s...
Anyway, this game is BEAUTIFUL. The limited colour pallette works very well, especially with your scenario. It doesn't really scream "evolution", but it's fun nonetheless.
It looks like it could do with some increasing of room_speed, maybe up to 60? sprinting could also do with some sort of drawback, but notuntil you've improved the clunky physics.
As most people have said, the movement is flawed. You might do well to have a look through my source, if you want some better platform physics?
You're evidently good with GM, the message boxes look great, the piellated art style looks awesome, the soundtrack is full of lovely chiptunes and the sound effects are better than your average sfxr/bfxr generated stuff.
The mood feels great for the future style you're going for, but unfortunately the boss' weakness being almost impossible to find and the flawed physics sort of decrease the playability. It's evidently very polished, but make it so you don't have to sprint to make it playable, make sprinting more easily stoppable, make gravity tighter and less floaty, etc, and you might have a much more playable game.

JH says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:33pm

The game is good. The graphics are nice and the sound is even better. But why are you wasting so many MBs by using uncompressed .wav files?
The movement is slow and it doesn't really fit the size of the character. Make him smaller and play the animations faster and it should be ok. Alternatively just increase the movement speed.
The next problem is quite common amongst LD games. Your game ignores the existence of various keyboard layouts. For example on my german keyboard the y and z keys are exchanged which makes it really hard to control. Best way to solve this problem is to have multiple key mappings (i.e. y AND z for jumping) or to allow custom key bindings.

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Also I just realised, but isn't (some of) your soundtrack copied frm somewhere? I'm sure I've heard it before (especially the desert storm one)...

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:34pm

The soundtrack is indeed off internet, so sadly it doesn't fit within the compo rules.

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:35pm

(added link http://feryl.bandcamp.com/album/8-bit-magic-a-module-chiptune-collection )

Khayet says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:37pm

This game would be really, really great if the movement system wasn't broken.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Hey, I'm enjoying your game but you mention in the info page that you take some of the music from this collection: http://feryl.bandcamp.com/album/8-bit-magic-a-module-chiptune-collection .

Sorry to be a wet blanket, but all of your content has to have been made within the 48 hours, and by only yourself to be valid for the Compo - I understand you've probably overlooked the rule by accident, I'm just saying to give you a heads up. Still, keep up the good work!

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:04pm

I quote from the rules of the Compo:

Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them.

The music from the game is available in the public domain, as noted on the page where the music is available.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:37pm

While the rules page doesn't do a good job of explaining it, the generally understood purpose of the "drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments allowed" rule is to let you use short samples and loops as part of the process of creating your own music.

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:46pm

You're right, the rules really don't do a very good job explaining it. I'm now really hoping I don't get disqualified for this. I'm fairly new to this contest and apparently am not yet part of the population that "generally understands" the unwritten rules. Pardon my infraction, judges. Rate a zero for audio if you must, but please try to look past that and rate the game as if there were no music at all. Thank you, and sorry about that.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Don't worry about it - pretty much nobody ever gets disqualified. :) For the most part, people who know about the audio issue here will vote the audio down (and that might reduce their overall score) but will still rate the rest of your game fairly. You might get a few people who are a bit harsher, but it's best not to take the ratings too seriously anyway.

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:04pm

If you want, you can have the game re-submitted as a Jam entry though, using public domain music in the Jam -part of LD is OK so you don't have to worry about it.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:08pm

This is a cool game graphiclywise. very impressive. it shows how games Should look like lol. the movement is a little troubling at times, but i managed till i got to the railroad car part. The saws kept slicing me up! the huge filesize was, lame at best. other than that great!!!!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:18pm

I think your large filesize is caused by all the audio files you have added in the game. I checked the download page for the soundtrack you used and most of those tracks were over 10mb in size. If you re-encoded the audio to a lower bitrate (with something like Audacity) I'm fairly sure you could cut the filesize to half or even less from the current.

The game itself was impressive in scope for an LD48 game, both in content and also graphically. The controls felt floaty and like others I had issues with the movement speed. Also dashing didn't help much, as you can't turn when dashing which makes moving around with it annoying. Still, with a little more work and polish this could become very good!

demonpants says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Could you make a Mac version?

Sep 11, 2012 @ 4:28am

Graphics and audio are stunning. I have no idea what you did wrong with the engine, because it constantly thinks I'm holding the right key. Even when I don't touch it. It seemed to have that problem with a lot of keys, but right was the only one it would think I pressed without me ever touching it (while other keys would just stick). Probably Game Maker's fault, honestly, but it nonetheless prevented me from completing the first level with buzz saws.

Anyway, keep up with the art (graphics and music). I've never been that great at spriting, nor do I have any musical talent, and I knew very few people as good as you at it when I was 14.

As a matter of fact, your game is pretty solid for Game Maker in general; quite impressive for 48 hours. Even considering the parts of code from various contributors' repositories (eg, the text box script).

See the prior remarks on wall jump mechanics.

Other remarks: SWEET MOTHER OF GOD, THE SOURCE FILE IS A SINGLE, 170MB OBJECT. I told IsmAvatar not to preload sound data into the IDE, but nooooo, 17 months later it's still doing it. As said, don't use WAV for music. MP3 seems like your best bet, since you use GM (ours supports OGG and XM/S3M/IT), but WAV is not your friend. Also, avoid execute_string(), it's a bad habit (and it makes it so I can't compile the thing natively, which is annoying).

Not a bad shot.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Ah, a fellow fourteenerperson! Pleased to meet your acquaintance.

Well, I can't for the life of me pass the buzzsaw level, because the guy is just too darn slow for me to reach this one platform. Even with dash. A word of advice: if you, as a developer, find you're always holding dash while playing and telling everyone "just use dash!", then you're probably better off making the normal speed the same as dash and cutting dash entirely. And the buzzsaws are really annoying, with their huge hitbox constantly knocking me back off that one platform. And the physics could use some work.

All in all, it's okay. Not very entertaining, but a good try.

P.S. I'll do your guilty conscience a favor and rate audio as a one, just to balance it out against the people who thought you made the audio yourself. Assuming you are guilty. Otherwise, TROOOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]