August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Ameeba's

by Vurb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A and D = left/right

E to open doors

F to toggle ameeba movement

shoot at mushrooms and vines with LMB to evolve them and RMB to de evolve them.

the ameeba's have different ability's at different stages of evolution.

lots of bugs and only one level due to running out of time

aim at the base of the mushroom in order for the physics to update properly also dont get in the way of the ameebas as a bug will make you fall out of the map.

also due to a bug dont shoot at the mushrooms well a ameeba is on top or the ameeba will bug out and fall.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#324Innovation2.96
#356Audio2.46
#405Graphics2.84
#426Theme2.76
#440Humor1.88
#604Mood2.14
#653Fun2.08
#659Overall2.37

Comments

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:34am

Sorry- I can't play this as I don't have Windows.

gabeochoa says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:40am

Lots of bugs, shooting was fun, took a while to figure out what was going on

codesavage says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:33am

Good concept. I think if you fix the bugs, it would become a bit less frustrating and really shine. I'm not sure what it has to do with evolution though... but then I don't completely understand what I'm doing with the ameebas either, haha.

tdsmale says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39am

Nice audio, shame about the bugs. Not sure what I was doing.

_AM_ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:04pm

It runs really slow for me. I got to the mushroom then the bots started coming and I got squished and turned invisible.

_AM_ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:06pm

The FPS is very low; very buggy.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:12pm

The concept is solid, not sure what to do there at the end. I like the painting of the dudes really cool!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Good concept, the physics don't helped, but was fun!

Vurb says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:32am

thanks guys!

ya there are alot of major bugs, I just ran out of time. I plan on making this into a full game and selling it. So ill have plenty of time to dig in and fix everything.

ggiraldez says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:42am

Concept is interesting but the bugs ruin all the fun. Graphics and audio are OK.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:45am

Got stuck and then fell of the level. Hey don't get me wrong I liked it but you should keep at this one.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:16am

Looked like an interesting concept. Unfortunately, the collision detection bugs with the mushrooms make the game impossible to progress past the first room. The mouse control isn't very good in my opinion either.

Grouflon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:31am

I really liked the concept of evolving and devolving things to go forward, and audio is also very good, but the bugs makes it really hard to play.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:42pm

Nice concept, it was fun once I figured out what to do.

talhakaya says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:46pm

i got stuck at the very beginning :( shooting to change the creatures seems like fun, but couldn't really experiment with it succesfully. nice game :)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Nice graphics and audio. I also really like the concept, but I'm not really sure what i was supposed to be doing. Took be ages to realize that was a door and i got the the end of the level pretty quickly after that. Still not sure what the other npc's did apart from change appearance.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:36pm

I can tell most of the game concept and I got past the door and mushrooms and such. I wish you could fire directly underneath yourself to grow the mushroom underneath you.

It's hard to review it at the moment because the bugs are so numerous, with the amoebas falling off the stage or walking left and falling off into infinity and then canceling out/restarting again.

I enjoy firing the gun, I just have no idea what is really happening in practice with the evolution mechanic of the other creatures.

garygreen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:26pm

I like the idea of this and the graphics were fun, but I couldn't get past the mushroom. When I went in the other direction I fell off the edge of the world.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:07am

I think this had some potential, as the graphics and sounds were great. However, I couldn't get past the first area. And I fell off the edge to the right into the black abyss. I found the controls very frustrating. And when the Ameebas moved, they pushed me through the floor :\

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:22am

would like to see a polished version! decent as it is but numerous problems really ruin it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]