August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Darwin Defenders

by hi-scor.es - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Darwin Defenders is a spaceshooter.

Move the mouse to control your character.
Click to shoot.

Enemies come in waves.
After each wave, a genetic algorithm selects the best enemies and cross-breeds them to produce the next generation of enemies.
Each game is different. Over time, they evolve to exploit your weaknesses.

NB: There's a bug that stops your bullets when you get hit.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#294Theme3.10
#350Innovation2.89
#596Graphics2.30
#599Fun2.25
#611Overall2.50
#654Mood1.87
#888Coolness30%

Comments

Strkl says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Love it !

The random position of the "gun" is really a cool idea, and love the way your player evolve visually, too bad it doesn't have more impact on the gameplay!

And when you hold the clic, the player can't move until you release it, that a bit frustrating ^^

cool game

KHANanaphone says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:46am

Oooh, is has "Darwin" in the name.

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:56am

Respect for doing genetic algorithm stuff in 48 hours. Nice idea.

Follett says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:00am

I enjoyed this, but, I enjoyed entirely for the fact it was different and something new. I felt that some times it got a little repetitive.

axcho says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:02am

Nice! I'm really glad to see a game with evolving enemies like this. :) The fixed-direction shooting is a great way to make the ship design significant.

I couldn't tell what the orange spikes are for - at first I was hoping I could use them to ram other ships... Repeatedly clicking to shoot was tiring and unpleasant, though. It was a lot more fun once I got a second gun - maybe you could make those more likely to appear. I would have liked to see the enemies speed up once I got more powerful. It gets boring otherwise.

PickledBrain says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:42pm

I like the idea, it's similar to my entry in some ways, but I had problems with the controls and the design. You see there is an issue when I can only shoot on one side, and enemies gen all around. I have to move to one side of the screen, wait for the bad guys to come, move to the other side of the screen, shoot at them until they get close, rinse and repeat. This isn't a fun process. It's quite slow and there is a lot of waiting. I think if you changed it so that the player could fire in different directions it would solve this problem and make your game better. Anyway just my opinion.

I like your idea of adding pieces and building your ship. The evolving enemies is a cool feature too (I love GA's).

mdkess says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Cool, I like the core concept - plays into the theme nicely, and is fun to play as well! I think that execution could use a bit of work - namely, your ship gets stuck in place when clicking, and you can't click and hold to fire. Overall though, great work!

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Great game- I liked how the game changes every time you play.

I found the game to be pretty tough though- I made it far enough to evolve once and have two guns, but died shortly after that. I think the enemies should start moving a little slower or something and then gradually get faster. Overall it was great- nice1!

evilseanbot says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:45pm

Neato!

Overall, I'd really like the game to be harder, even though some people thought it was too hard... mebbe you should add optional goals like hitting evasive enemies? Difficulty levels?

There's a bug where if one of your add-on guy dies, his bullets will be frozen.... OR IS IT A FEAUTRE?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]