August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Super Robocade

by VoEC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Robocade is an arcady retro platformer.
Your goal is to survive the endless onslaught of ever-evolving robots. To keep up with them you need destroy the automatons and salvage their parts to obtain their powers and get stronger.

This was my first ever participation in Ludum Dare, but I hope you still like my entry.
These past two days have been really fun and also really exhausting!
Any kind of feedback, bug reports and criticism is very welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#88Graphics3.83
#91Fun3.47
#94Mood3.33
#100Overall3.54
#184Audio2.95
#287Theme3.12
#311Humor2.23
#536Innovation2.47

Comments

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:02pm

like the supercrate box concept, love the art, what else :D

Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Love the concept. I thought I should let you know that even after the EMP block disappeared it still worked as if it was just invisible. Overall cool game.

VoEC says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:14pm

@AlrionsAlright
That was certainly a bug. I couldn't recreate it though, but still: Thanks for letting me know!

@pereubu
Thanks!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Love the graphics! The game feels like Mario Bros. with a cute robot, which I figure was what you were aiming for? The gun could be a wee bit bit faster though!

Oh and the EMP block still exists although the sprite disappears for me too.

rodrigomotta says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:34pm

I love this game. =) But, really, EMP has a bug, it dont disappear. But, with a ghost EMP the game look more funny. ;D

VoEC says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Ok, I found the problem with the EMP. It was something stupid I overlooked. It should be fixed now.
Hopefully that's the only bug that was still in there.
Thank you everyone for the help and your feedback, I very much appreciate it!

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Cool addition to a great game :D

dtConfect says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:48pm

I like the graphics. And I like the mario meets supercrate box meets bubble bobble concept. Too slow for my liking though.

PAMVllo says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Great Game! a good tribute for Mario Bros game

pjchardt says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:29am

Endearing style, I appreciate the retro look and mechanic. I also like how you innovated on the old school mechanic with upgrades/evolution. On the downside it is repetitive, nothing very surprising seems to happen once I understood the game.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

Excellent game dude! Just like classic GBA - I bet this would make a legendary mobile game. Is there more than one level? If you could vary the environment a bit it would be even better :)

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:00am

wow, easily the best game I've played so far

love everything about it, concept, design, polishing, gameplay ... beatiful!

this would have been a great gameboy game back in the days (with more levels of course)

ubear says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:00am

Great game. Boring a bit.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:07am

pretty cool pipes kind of remind me of mario

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:26am

7460. Love the gameboy colors. Some chiptune would have been awesome and enemies making some more sounds. Love the evolving part. Will play again. Well done.

Erephy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38am

I always loved the GB palette and always wanted to make some pixel art with it, but I am very bad with low color palettes.
So when I played your game, I loved it from the very title screen. Good job and well done!

Edd Morgan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:52am

Cool game! Nice graphics, and it worked very smoothly. Controls were a bit awkward, but that might just be a personal preference. Good job!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:52am

I liked the graphics and the concept, but it felt a bit sluggish.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:02am

A superior rendition of the original Mario Bros :-)

Andrei Barsan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:07am

Nice and polished, I really enjoyed it!
I got 6430! :D
It feels really nice and cozy!

Krobill says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:02am

Nice gameplay, tight controls, polished visuals. Pretty nice result overall! Maybe some collision detection problems with enemy bullets ? not sure though...

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:09am

Super awesome.
Only little thing I had was that evolving didn't feel like it made you so powerful.
My score: 5980

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:24am

A nice version of a classic game with a great minimalistic art style, suitable sounds and the characters have cute animations too. Took a while to realize I had a gun!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:38am

I like the idea of mario bros like gameplay but with shooting and evolving abilities, nice work! My only complaint is just that it's kind of slow paced, atleast in the beginning.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:45am

Nice done on a classic game. Like the graphics. Thumbs up! :)

saint11 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Wow, this game is awesome :D Really simple and spot on!

jplur says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Oooh this is a good one, could definitely spend an hour playing this if I didn't have so many entries to test ;)

davidllanos22 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:43pm

I really enjoyed this game! Nice retro graphics and classic gameplay with a twist! I scored 4670 :)

pardue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:59pm

This is a fun game, I like the graphics. The gun was a little frustrating but I enjoyed it. :)

sclark39 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Cool little game. Very tight design. I was led astray by the familiarity and tried to jump on enemies heads before I found out I could shoot. The evolution portion was very minor in the gameplay, I felt. If you leveled up faster it would probably be more fun.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Nicely done :)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Very well done, I love the style!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Very good, I loved the graphics and the ability to knock things from underneath

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:29pm

The game looks great, but movement and reload time were too slow for me - made it very frustrating.

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Nice artwork, and cool that you kept it all in the same tone. The controls are a bit slow. Decent little sounds

Th3dz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Nice graphics. A bit slow to move but overall good.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Cool, I liked it, but it's a little too difficult for me, maybe the evolved enemies should move slower or something.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:33pm

+1 GB palette. Great visual feel.

Kortuga98 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Great game! Like an amp'd up version of the original Mario... I like it. Good job.

fruitfly says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:55pm

nice. i loved super mario bros. but actually harder then the original.

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

It was very fun. I like you added evolution into that old Mario game.

nate427 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Great game, love the color palette!

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Really fun and addicting. Enjoyed playing it, love the graphical style. The menu music is a bit dull though, and the game proper could really have done with some music.

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Oh, I really like this! The graphics are so simple and nice. Gameplay is fine, and the concept proves to be hard and fun!
Good job.

emveyh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:16pm

I LOVE those graphics :D Awesome work!

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:39pm

Gameboy-like graphics are aways a plus. I liked that you didn't hide how this is basicly a super mario bros clone with a twist.

mappum says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Nice Mario Bros knockoff. Not the most innovative, but you did a good job with it. I really liked the graphics style.

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Really nice Mario Bros clone. Makes me feel old. At least it is better then Mario Bros on the Atari 2600!

Jeremias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Nice concept and graphics. In my opinion the movement of the character is a bit too slow.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:05pm

7250! Man, I really enjoyed this one, one of the best for me so far, quite enjoyed it. Great Mario Bros reference. I think you got me mostly because of that in the beginning, but as it progressed it started to have its own feel.

I Liked the pacing. The difficulty curve keeps increasing consistently, and it feels really good when you kill a robot.

AWESOME job. Cheers!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Nice adaptation of Mario Brothers. Found a bit of a glitch (cheat). You can actually knock out an enemy after if falls off the edge of a platform if you hit the platform just as the enemy is next to it. It make it a lot easier to knock out the enemy because you just need to walk over a block instead of jumping up.

SiENcE says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:22pm

The Gameboy Art Style is stunning!

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Very good...

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Nice implentation of old school gaming styles with the theme. Graphics were a pleasure and so was the audio, the overall game tied in really nicely together. Good job.

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:51pm

So it's a Mario bros clone... in Flash... with lovely green visuals and bleepy sounds and evolving robots! What's not to love?
If anything had to be improved, I'd say add more difficulty levels. It's kinda easy if you know Mario Bros, given the advantage of a gun as well...

chardish says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Love the minimalist graphics and the polish on this one. Good work!

MrDanH says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Great, very reminiscent of the old Mario Brothers arcade game but with your own spin on the gameplay. Graphics and audio were a good fit as well

saguaro says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14pm

GameBoy <3 Fun game, enjoyed it.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:53am

I'm mostly more interested in games with original or new concepts. Still, while this game borrows the concept of "Mario Bros.", this is fun.

mdkess says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:06am

Solid take on a classic game - simple, polished, balanced. Really liked this one!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:10am

Great game. Enjoyed playing, especiall once I figured out how not to be killed at first when your movements are slow. Stay with it and get speed upgrades! Simple, but effective graphics. Overall a really good job!!!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:52am

It's like Mario Bros, but with monocrome graphics and clunky controls :)

Seriously though - nice job! I like the enemy upgrades.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:28am

Awesome work! Classic Mario Bros

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:12am

Definitely pulled off the retro graphics :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:27am

Brilliant Hommage to the smb versus level! I love it.

POW!

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:03am

Well, it's not very innovative, but the game is well polished and the graphics are neat :)

Kudos!

monz says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:46am

Great game! I liked the graphics style.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Great graphics!

Joker says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Really liked the concept.

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Cool

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:09pm

I love mario bros. I own an arcade machine version of it. One of my favorite games.

Zamando says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Feels a bit slow in the beginning. Otherwise nice! Like the gameboy-style graphics.

bushmango says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:22pm

good game, frustratingly hard to control at first but that gives room to evolve ... the pace is a little too slow. I would have liked it better if you leveled up faster.

cricklewood says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Ah Mario Bros had a timeless formula.

Vennril says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:14pm

A classic game translated very well into Gameboy style with cute robots! Enjoyed this a lot.
My score was 9810 :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:47pm

It is fun :)
Like a mix between Mario Bross, Bubble Bobble and Pac Man with Game Boy colors ,wonderful haha
I would like that the char also kill enemies by jumping over their heads :D
Difficult is a little unbalaced due to the big amount of time it tooks each fire and another, and the quantity of monsters you have to kill to evolve, good game :)

xhunterko says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Really fun, nicely built platformer. Nice take on theme. You evolve to slowly I think but fun. ^^

jellonator says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:36pm

I fell through the floor :/

Volute says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Great imitation of the GameBoy style !

TheSarcastic says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:50am

Great game! Only improve I'd recommend is making you evolve a bit faster to make it exciting faster.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:23pm

I had fun with this one, it's a nice take on a classic =) Mario Bros, with leveling up? sign me up!

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Nice game I like the idea of flipping the enemies and if u hit it again it turns again :) nice idea and game :) I like it :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Nice gameboy visuals, gamplay reminds me a lot of The original mario bros game and super Cratebox. Good job! :)

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:38am

Really nice! Very super crate boxy, or original Mario-ish. Wish I could have shot faster.

yenz says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:22am

One of my favorite games so far

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:48am

Nice Work! I impressed how you combine mario gameplay and evolution! Really nice!

AuxiliumGames says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:45am

The art, and feel/mechanics of the game are so authentically retro! Your color palate is excellent, and the game is fun. Takes me back to a combination of playing gameboy, and then the original mario brothers in the arcade.

JaydenB says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:30am

Loved this, really reminded me of Super Crate Box but felt different from the evolving enemies. Loved it!

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:05pm

I really like the retro-style aspect of this game. Also, the evolution system is pretty smart and fun. Nice game!

LoneStranger says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:42am

Nice little fun game. Very polished, and good graphical style.

Miltage says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:41pm

A great game, I love the concept and art. Took me a while to get in the swing of it, but when I did I had tons of fun playing it.

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:30pm

this is super addictive. really fun game!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Very nice retro-arcade style. Game is good, but maybe EMP need to be refilled over time.

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 8:18am

Nicely polished and quite fun after I learned how to play properly. Nice graphics and sounds too!

bobiniki says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:42am

Nice game 7990 score :D. So fun and there is so many ways you can play it. So many ways to kill enemies :D

gnx says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Nice presentation and idea. Some issues of polish:
movement and jumping stay sluggish and floaty even after upgrades,
enemies don't have a warning animation when they pop back up (they do in the game you're homaging to ;)).

And music would've made it a bit more fun when the session gets longer.

Otherwise nice execution.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:41pm

I like the remake of the super mario bros. map and the old gameboy style graphics are cool.

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:13pm

I really enjoyed this one- Great work! its not easy to re-create some of these classics and you did a great job- the evolving upgrades are great too. Very well done

90sml says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:40pm

I love the graphics and music but i would have prefered a much nervous game play for this kind of games. The game is still very fun, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]