Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

FOR THE darWIN - TravisChen - Jam Entry

Charles Darwin must dig the soils of a Galapagos island looking for fossil evidence to prove his theory of evolution. Search for sequences of skulls and avoid your pundits. The more evidence of evolution you uncover, the bigger the points!

GO FOR THE darWIN!

CONTROLS:
- Move / Jump / Dig: WASD
- Sequence Fossils: NUM PAD

HINT! Here are the correct skull sequences for both skull types:
http://cl.ly/image/392f371m1S3g

Programming / Design / Sound: Travis Chen (@travischen)
Art / Animation: Nolan Fabricius (@shiftlesshobo)

View TravisChen's journal. | View all entries by TravisChen

Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Theme(Jam)4.06
#6Humor(Jam)4.05
#6Graphics(Jam)4.60
#7Overall(Jam)3.99
#15Fun(Jam)3.70
#27Mood(Jam)3.59
#32Innovation(Jam)3.59
#41Audio(Jam)3.55

Comments

camdensegal says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Really cute graphics I love all the skulls, and even the preach/admonish sound effect. I could see adding some more enemies and a larger map or a non-time-based goal adding to the fun.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:08pm

Love the name! Love the graphics even more! Hate the preacher!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Awesome game!
My only critic would be that the scoring system isn't very exciting. I don't know what could replace it though.
Everything else is excellent!

stevesefchick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:23am

Awesome! The graphics, audio, and playstyle were all pretty awesome/adorable!
Would love to see more! Multiple rounds with new evolutions would be awesome! Great job!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:23am

Loved the graphics and the Numpad Inventory that was smart!

Kassoon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:25am

Awesome! Could use a goal. The preacher sfx is juuuuust right.

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:26am

This is my favorite so far! Loooove it. The sound effect when the bible thumper catches you is so great.

rhill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:36am

Pretty fun. Couldn't figure out what the right sequence was for the bird. Tried it as though it was dinosaur to bird, got nothing, tried it backward, got nothing.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:43am

Awesome game, fit the theme well and was quite fun once I figured out the correct sequences (I was going backwards on the bird thinking there was some strange continuation from bird to human).

Also, you get the award for the first time I activated the overlaid num lock on my laptop since I've bought it two years ago. It also caused me to write half this review bef6re 5 rea35zed n40 36c2 was st533 6n!

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:34am

LOL, awesome game!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:32am

Great game. Really enjoyed playing. Graphics are very good and the characters funny. Numpad ordering clever. Good job!!!

evilseanbot says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:11am

Now that's some polish there! Great job!

aschearer says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19am

Great art style. Interesting gameplay. It would be nice if there was some build up so that things got more challenging and required more thought as the player progresses.

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Bookmarked.

Matt Rix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Great looking game, and pretty fun too!

_AM_ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:35pm

Fantastic work.

zzorn says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Very pretty, and quite fun for a while. Would benefit a lot from some level progression / additional skulls series as the game goes on.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Really great. Cute graphics and nice controls.

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:33pm

yeah I keep coming back to this one. Got 31050 without a numpad (go go gadget apple mini keyboard -.-) I might have to bust out ye old logitech keyboard collecting dust in a box so I can improve my score and win all the things.

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Amazing, love the missionary guy.

dr_soda says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:02pm

This is probably one of the best, most funny takes on the theme I've seen so far. The gameplay feels nice, the controls are responsive, and the characters are just really lively.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:06am

Fun game, very addictive. Very funny as well :)

Cell says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:46am

Love the graphics :)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:24am

Cool retro sprites and sounds! It reminds me of those old bitmap bros games on the amiga :) I couldn't quite figure out the sequences though.

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:20am

Best graphics I have seen so far in this Ludum Dare - very nice! Game is pretty fun too - would love some more visibility of my scoring, and how it was calculated. It felt random to me.

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:14am

wow, that was tremendous fun!
very polished indeed - loved it
if you add one or two more gameplay mechanics (like for example sacrificing some fossils for a little fossil wall that blocks out the priest for a short time (of course this ability should have a cooldown)
but man, very well done

bobiniki says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:42am

Rated all 5 stars because this is my winer so far. The game is fun, the graphics are great, the music and sounds fit well, there is a lot of humor in the game's name and GOD THAD DIGGING ANIMATION xD for me it looks like Darwin is humping the ground xD
Great game it deserves to win!

juaxix says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:49am

This is so fun!
Religion vs Science, i'm not a partidary of no one but this game help us to not be so serious with stuff that does not matter at all :D thanks for your work ,art and time!
i'm laughting at the screen, good graphics!

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:44pm

The amount of detail and character in the sprites is incredible.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:44am

Darwin Runs like a ninja, digs like a ninja, and publishes controversial ideas like a ninja.

lanzz says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:35am

So... how would you order the skulls on a laptop that DOESN'T have an overlay numpad? Like, I don't know, anything Mac? Supporting the regular number keys as well as the numpad surely isn't that much of a problem.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:09am

Nice pixelart there! Great concept and mechanics! Good job :)

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:26pm

I loved the graphics! It's a short, and yet fun game to play!

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Neat idea :) I couldn't figure out the correct sequences, wasn't sure if I even had all the right skulls. I think it might just be me, but I find it really annoying when games put the jump key in the same place as the movement ones - I find it hard to coordinate :(

monz says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Great game! The graphics is awesome.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:57pm

Brilliant! Love the graphics they really suit the humour and the idea is really good. Really loads of fun really enjoyed it

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:57am

The design of this game is flawless. The art is also exceptional, and the animations are hilarious (Darwin's running animation is probably my favorite!). Nice job.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Hilarious!

gnx says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Delightful and complete graphics, competent audio department.
It is a shame that the gameplay doesn't quite match these strong suits.

But still definitely one of the most awesome looking things around in this jam.

vigrid says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:59pm

I like it - nicely done everything, especially the priest's nagging sound. I couldn't really figure out what sequences gave scores, but I enjoyed the game.

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:23pm

exellent art, liked it a lot D:

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Graphic is adorable!!

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:09am

Ahahah! How it addictive and fun! Really nice game! But so far from evolution IMHO.

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Great visuals. Cool concept but I feel like it was a bit underdeveloped.

SiENcE says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Haha fun game. I love the pixel style and the preacher.

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Amazing concept :) and funny and I adored the pixels :)

yosh says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:56pm

Pretty graphics and smooth animations... I like it!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:03pm

What a wonderful and approriate use of the numpad. Nice work!

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Great game- very solid for a game jam. Art looks great- animations look great and game feels complete. 5/5 from me

jerombd says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Great entry with immediate fun!

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 4:40pm

best game by far. everything about it was awesome. the animations were so funny and the whole gameplay was just great!! i hope you do more with it!

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Good graphics and sound, gameplay was ok but not amazing.

Kmad says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Fabulous looking game with a simple concept that's fun. Good work.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Fun little game, can see how the num pad would be really useful, but trying to work out the link between the normal number keys and the grid was tricky. If you added to ability to click the boxes instead to sequence the fossils that would be really helpful for keyboards without num pads.

Still if that is the only criticism I can find that means that everything else was all pretty amazing!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Really awesome! A bit more explanation would have been nice, but after putting in the bird skulls backwards the first time I caught on pretty quick.

Really fun mechanics meet really solid controls. Great work! :)

BNeutral says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 6:02am

Hahaha amazing.

sfernald says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:18am

Really strong entry. Amazing graphics. In fact incredible graphics. Still trying to get through it but gameplay seems fun so far. Feels like a classic arcade game. Fantastic job!

KevinWorkman says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:44am

This is great. I had trouble figuring out what to do with the skulls, but this idea is wonderful and I'd love to see it expanded into a full game. Great job for 72 hours!

TravisChen says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 1:03am

Thanks everybody for playing our game! Nolan and I have had a blast reading through the awesome comments you all have left. We're going to be posting a developer post-mortem sometime tonight. Stay tuned!

Also, for people stuck figuring out the skulls, here's the correct sequences for each skull type:
http://cl.ly/image/392f371m1S3g

Go for a high score! I'd love to see what scores people are getting. I've been able to get over 90k.

Cheers,
Travis

goerp says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:32pm

It all fits, sounds and graphics style and theme. It looks funny and it IS funny.
There's just one thing: on my browser (Chrome on XP), not everything was visible. Only after seeing the screenshots I saw that there were THREE sequence positions. Maybe some autoscaling is possible or a notice telling people that its widescreen?

munchor says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Best game I played of all. THIS SHOULD REALLY WIN!

johnfn says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:01am

Heh, very nice game. Really beautiful visuals. Some of the best looking clouds I've ever seen. :D But yeah really nice! I want to be able to throw the skulls at the preacher. haha.

johnfn says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:47am

BTW, I managed to get the game to crash! I didn't collect skulls for a while and then boom stack overflow at:

at SkullSpawner/addSkull()[/Users/travischen/Flash/Evolution/src/SkullSpawner.as:44]

(lol yup, I was using the flash debugger at the time, so now I know the contents of your computer! haha! ha! ha!)

Anyway, I checked your source code and it looks like you're using recursion to choose the location of the new skull, but you don't take into account what would happen if there was no good place to put the skull. You may want to fix that ;-)

davidwparker says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 1:30am

The preacher thing was just annoying... interesting idea though. Great graphics and audio.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 3:58am

really great game -- one of the best i played

Benjamin says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:37am

Fantastic I really like it ! I think the preacher freezing time is not a big handicap for the player, but make it longer would be frustrating. Maybe it could steal one of your skull ?
For the scoring system 1000/200/50 pts for skulls instead of 50 could add strategy : hunting only the valuable older skulls or focus on combo.
Great graphics and sounds ! I like the preacher voice :)

nseward says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Very fun game. It just had a great feel.

marudziik says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Awesome entry, but everyone already said everything that is to say about it. :) Very playable. Great job!

Sep 15, 2012 @ 2:55pm

This was really nice and a great example of a good ld game: Short, looks great, sound and music, hits the theme and is fun to play!

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 9:50pm

This is such a well-presented entry!

It looks like it would be right at home on the Super-Nintendo. :) 5*'s Overall, Graphics and Mood. 4* everything else.

I would have liked to see it more goal-oriented and less about trying to get the high-score. Otherwise, it's short, sweet and to the point. The perfect Jam entry!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Cool idea and great graphics!

Fadobo says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Really great in pretty much every regard :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]