About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 1 hour, 8 minutes, 50 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 1 hour, 20 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 2 hours, 8 minutes, 50 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ancient Ruins - CappaGames - Jam Entry

    Were taking this game all the way so stay tuned for the a fully fleshed out game sometime in the future!


    Post Compo Version:
    -2 player mode
    -Xbox 360 controller support
    -Sound!
    -Enemy Flashing
    -Harder Difficulty

    360 Controls:
    -Stick 1 Move
    -Stick 2 Aim
    -RT Shoot
    -LT Melee


    Note: Make sure to copy the AncientRuins folder from the zip file to your desktop.

    In an Ancient Ruin you find a rare plant that is undergoing rapid evolution. Do your best to stop its evolution before it takes over the world!

    Controls:
    WASD: Move
    LEFT CLICK: Fire Gun
    RIGHT CLICK: Melee Attack (10X Damage)

    Spoiler Tip!!!

    -Reflect the fireballs to kill the boss on the 3rd and 4th level.

    View CappaGames's journal. | View all entries by CappaGames

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #34Fun(Jam)3.52
    #69Overall(Jam)3.37
    #76Theme(Jam)3.14
    #100Graphics(Jam)3.48
    #153Mood(Jam)2.58
    #157Innovation(Jam)2.67
    #180Humor(Jam)1.85
    #216Audio(Jam)1.25

    Comments

    Robotic says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    I like bullet hell shooters, so I liked the gameplay and the graphics were great overall. I think it needs a bit more feedback and also, the choice of keys was weird, why the arrow keys and enter in the menu ? Other than that, good job !

    tomsik68 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Great game. It's a bit shame it doesn't have any sfx. Some quick clicking in sfxr would sure solve this. :)

    Haette says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Aww yiss, LD bullet hells! Good difficulty level and very nice work overall, my only complaint is that the cursor is really easy to lose track of.

    FoxFiesta says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Cool gameplay, and good difficulty ! I like !

    CappaGames says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Thanks for the feedback guys!
    Robotic: good point, we should fix that.

    tomsik68: yea it was unfortuante, we had all the sound effects done, we simply ran out of time to put them in.

    Haette: I agree, I often find myself losing the cursor. We'll make sure to fix that in the post compo version.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Very enjoyable. some sound would be great.

    Gidaio says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Hmm... couldn't get it to work. The process would start, but no window would pop up. Running 64-bit Win7, and the folder was on the Desktop.

    AaronGordon says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    Really like the gameplay and the general feel of it. Fits the theme well and was fun to play. No audio tho and it's a bit annoying that you have to start all the way from the beginning when you die. Good work guys!

    blundis says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    I suck at bullet hell shooters, but I liked this one a lot. Cool graphics, loved the different modes of the flower. If you add some sound and visual feedback I can see myself playing this a lot :)

    JaJ says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Great! The second stage surprised me with the creepy tentacles.

    tastive says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Great game! Would be awesome with a little polish and audio. Cheers! Best game I've reviewed so far!

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:27am

    Sound effects would do a lot for this game, as well as a faster character. Overall, good game.

    daydalus says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Pretty solid shooter. I liked the growing plant monster the best, cool pixel art style. Would have liked to have more indication I was shooting the boss and if I got damaged. Had to glance over to the health numbers to tell. Also, couldn't really tell what the various powerups did. Nice work on this one though, since its XNA you should polish it up and release it on XBox!

    BNeutral says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:57am

    For next time: Put health bars next to the player/enemies, not on the side of the screen.

    jfroco says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    Fun and hard!! Needs desperately bgm and sfx

    Maple says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Nice graphics and gameplay. There isn't much I can call you out on, here. Hmm. I guess the main thing is actually that there was no full screen or screen resizing, because my screen isn't big enough and cuts off a few pixels at the bottom. (Oh and obviously, some sound would do justice.) Otherwise this is a nice entry. Great job!

    Kumquat says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:07pm

    Nice SHMUP. In the beginning I didn't understand if I had to water the plant or kill it XD

    DevWouter says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Some audio feedback (about hits and impacts) would have been nice.

    Killerbug says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    It was so fun! It'd be perfect if it had music. One of the best ones I've played so far :)

    Aceria says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    Awesome game! As the rest of the people have said, it really needs some sfx and some music to get the adrenaline flowing.

    I would also recommend making the powerups last a bit longer, because the movement is already so slow it takes ages to move from one side to the other. It's rather frustrating to move there and not even get the powerup because it just disappeared.

    Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Considering that this was a Jam game, you could perhaps had time to get or make some sounds or music, but this was pretty good, nice bullet hell.

    bvanschooten says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Cannot play the game. The exe simply doesn't start.

    X-0ut says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Missing a dll. Once its fixed let me know and I shall rate it.

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:17am

    this was one of the more fun games i played this week -- nice effort

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    i like the core premise--faster movement would improve this (power-ups disappear before you can reach them and dodging bullets is very difficult). the plant itself is great, i like seeing what evolves next, a very fun enemy.

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:47pm

    YEAH! Took him down! That was a good challenge, and nice progression between the different stages. Just a few sounds would work wonders, and having the tentacles flash depending on which ones were hit would be a nice touch.

    TastyOrange says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:37am

    It was very fun. And the graphics were my cup of tea. Definitely needs sounds. It seems to suffer from the same thing I found in my game: holding down the left mouse button can get really boring really fast. The one thing I couldn't stand was having the vitals all the way on the other side of the screen; I felt like I had to look half way around the world just to see my health, and it didn't help my performance. I didn't beat it because, gah, I'm terrible at these types of games, but nice job nevertheless.

    ggiraldez says ...
    Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:57pm

    This is very good! It was fun to play even though I'm not a fan of the bullet hell genre. Difficulty was fair. It's only missing some sound effects.

    infernet89 says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:38am

    Too bad it's all mute.. Nice game!

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]