August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

eukaryotic.

by raarlac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: NOOB TIP! - See screenshot #4!!

eukaryotic. is a tower defense game. Requires Flash Player!
You need to evolve your towers to win, but be careful handling the energy! I suggest you get plant cells quickly as possible!

all made by me http://twitter.com/malditosponeis
Tools:
- Flixel + Flashdevelop
- Fruity Loops Studio
- Photoshop CS5

PS: the game was supposed to call .eukaRYOTic xD
PPS: I'm sorry for the game music... I throwed some random notes on fruity loops. This usually works on my lucky days... I guess I wasn't lucky that day. Tip: Press "0" (ZERO) key to mute ;)

EDIT: link fixed! I'm too noob to HTML. thanks for the help GFM( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=7375 )!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#99Humor3.11
#199Audio2.90
#214Overall3.28
#229Fun3.07
#284Graphics3.14
#302Mood2.76
#327Theme3.00
#704Innovation1.95

Comments

Wan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:00am

It's weird how the game page presents a tower defense while the real game deals with planets? Anyway the one I got to play seems a quite original take on the dodge-the-bullet genre, except sooo hard! x)

nuria says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Cool intro! I like tower defense games, this one is very basic due to limited time, I hope you can work on expanding it more! Good job!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:06am

I also like the intro. The game started out really easy, and I was kicking some butt, then it all of a sudden got really hard :S

rhysvdw says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:47am

Nifty game. I had fun building my cellular fortress. I got too cocky and got destroyed.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Nice and funny game :)

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Cool, like it! Especially the intro and the genre :)
It appears to me that wave 13 is too hard, because before that I didn't pass anyone and on the 13th wave I've passed about 8-10 of potential Darwin killers...

goerp says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:26pm

Great game. Addictive and the music doesn't get irritating until very late into the game. maybe some soundeffects would be nice.

imef says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:36pm

The intro is really awesome!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Very good game, I failed at the 16th wave :)

cappelnord says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:06pm

cool intro, solid tower defense game!

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Nice intro. Leave Darwin alone purrfectioners.

X-0ut says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Loved the intro sequence. Best I could manage was wave 14.. Still I think with a bit more strategy I can beat that :D

Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Okay if a bit basic tower defence, I somehow managed to make the option to buy 40 costing thing disappear somewhere so I could only buy the 20 costing cannons, oh well. The intro was pretty funny.

raarlac says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:29pm

@AdventureIslands click on the tower you want to upgrade to show the options

braneof says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:31am

Great game, this is the best use of the theme I've seen so far.

AMSmirnov says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:54am

Very interesting and fun game! I had done all 36 wave :)

JaJ says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:52pm

I won! 36 waves and it was over! Once I got beyond wave 15 or so, I finally had some breathing room to experiment, and discovered there are A LOT more species than I thought initially. Although I never could figure out what the spider and insect were for.

raarlac says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:32pm

@AMSmirnov @JaJ awesome guys! thanks for playing =)

raarlac says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:35pm

@JaJ If I had enough time there would be many more species! But in the end I had to remove a lot of species and I had to remove the spider and bee features too :( they were supposed to slow down the enemy with spiderweb and honey! haha

raarlac says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Thanks to everyone who played it! You guys are awesome.
Darwin is safe and happy because of you. He thanks as well :D

marudziik says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:21pm

The game is very playable. Nice graphics and solid gameplay (and I like tower defences) - although after 13 waves it becomes impossible to survive... or so I thought, until I figured out that plants give additional energy. :) When I finished the game, I still was able to click on next wave, but the waves didn't scale - all that came out resembled the first wave (I tried until wave 60 or so). I wish there was more! :) Great game! Also, waiting for the source.

raarlac says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:37pm

@marudziik I was in a hurry at the end and forgot to implement a win check haha Oh, the source! I knew I was forgetting something =P Thanks for remembering, it must be up right now https://dl.dropbox.com/u/19849504/LD24/LD24.rar

caranha says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Not bad at all. I really liked this tower defense game: the balance was quite well done, I felt like I was being challenged at every level. I managed to survive until level 27.

The idea of having a "energy tower" path and a "shooting tower" path was pretty neat. It would be nice to have an explanation of what "web shot" and "honey shot" means.

Props for the funny intro animation!

I do take issue with the "evolution = upgrades" thing, but I'm grumpy like that :-)

Thanks for the game!

onehappygiant says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 2:14am

Fun TD game. I played multiple times and enjoyed the experience.

Wan says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Hi again, I'm the first that got to comment on the game. I updated my rating since the link seems to lead to the right game this time ;)

So pretty cool tower defense here, quite well-balanced, and with plenty of tower evolutions to explore. Definitely deserves some more stars that what I gave a few days ago. Excellent!

Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Intro is amazing. Sound is great for LD, graphics are really good. Gameplay is frustrating; five health that never recovers, and insufficient funds to even begin generating funds make it a pain. I don't think it's possible to attain what you show in the screenshots without cheating.

Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:35pm

The game is addictive, so extra points for fun. Did finally beat it; the trick is to put one eukaryote at the beginning, then upgrade it to a plant with more eukaryotes further down the track. The plant will generate enough energy to get you started in the time it takes for the waves to get killed off, which you can use to double or triple your offense, and upgrade your plant to get more energy.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]