About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 0 hours, 49 minutes, 18 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 1 hour, 1 minute, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 1 hour, 49 minutes, 18 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bored Bob - 4urentertainment - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Meet bob. Bob was bored, so bob decided to evolve AND HE GREW WINGS!

    Bob can make others evolve too. And he fights flying businessmen in the treacherous alps with his trusty evolving powers.

    This is basically a shooter, but your primary weapon is NOT bullets. You kill enemies/defend yourself by drawing paths for your minions.


    It's a pretty experimental prototype. I didn't have time to add in any sort of level progression, although I think it has potential as a fun new kind of bullet shoot em ups or something. Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

    I also tried doing something different with the music, something of a "dynamically generating music" idea although I didn't really have time to do it.

    This was my first time ever doing art for a game. I didn't think I was going to finish...but I did!

    ------------------------------
    Instructions
    ------------------------------
    Move with WASD or arrow keys
    Click and drag minions to draw paths
    Your bullets convert enemies to minions
    M to mute

    ******************************
    If you encounter any bugs please report them! For now, just refresh if anything game-breaking happens.

    View 4urentertainment's journal. | View all entries by 4urentertainment

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #48Audio3.56
    #65Innovation3.69
    #111Fun3.39
    #129Mood3.16
    #158Overall3.39
    #180Graphics3.44
    #198Humor2.63
    #668Theme1.91

    Comments

    chamberlainpi says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:37am

    I think I got dizzy from all those flying bobs! Nice though, performance runs well. And although there's no background music, it's nice to have those Piano notes SFXes as an indication of progress.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

    Thanks for the review! Background music is right on its way! Actually, I just uploaded the new version.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

    Also did some balancing and whatnot

    MasterBaldwin says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:23am

    As soon as I realized that your minons take bullets for you, I started having swarms of them flying a 45 degree pattern of interference infront of me and then had the rest fly a tight back and forth jiggle all around me as protection. Loved it. Got 23k something of a score. :)

    coreyvacate says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:42am

    I enjoyed this game... I liked the intensity of it. Fun graphics and music to accompany the gameplay. Now to let me eyes get back to normal, haha! :-)

    pardue says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    I liked the minions, made for a unique and interesting gameplay.

    mechagk says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Awesome Game!

    Dakota says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    One of the best game designs so far. Love the music very simple but complex at the same time.

    kato9 says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Wow. VERY smooth and fast-paced gameplay. Creative game mechanics as well.

    The generative sound design approach would have worked better if it was a little more harmonious, but the background music is quite nice on its own.

    I feel like the game starts to get very visually cluttered once you have a lot of minions, it's really hard to tell where your character is and what the heck is going on. Still, an impressive effort!

    NostraDamon says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    The gameplay is interesting and kinda innovative!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    Ouch! Its so hard to hit the enemies with the minions!

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    Loved the game but it was a bit hard for me

    Vordux says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    Excellent game, some really good visuals and the audio was spot on as well. A great, solid idea for a game mechanic, would make really enjoyable game if you fleshed this out into something more.

    keenblaze says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    Dude, really cool art! Especially for the first time. Innovative gameplay and smooth controls too!

    zatyka says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    I'm not sure what this had to do with evolution, and it was a bit disorienting.

    Having said that... I LOVED the concept of this game, and the simplicity of the audio (when hitting/being hit was a very nice touch.

    dr_soda says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Wow, I think all the flying bobs gave me a bit of a headache. I really love the way you incorporated the audio in this game. It was magical and beautiful. The graphics were smooth and slick, even if the swarming minions nearly caused me to fall over.

    I found the gameplay harder to get into though, because as beautiful as they are the graphics were also rather disorienting and it was difficult to really know what I was doing.

    diki says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Outstanding! The pieces fit really well together: the soft music and the winged protagonists flying over snow-covered mountain ranges convey a sort of solemn piety, contrasted very fittingly by those scattered piano notes of violence :)

    I especially like the faces of those minions; some of them are not too happy about being drafted for your purposes :D

    amidos2006 says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:38am

    amazing I liked the idea the bullets convert my minions and making paths for the minions :D

    nseward says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    The progression was a little fast but the idea and execution was spot on. Like I said I would like more time to get use to my bob minions. Super cool!

    dengzo says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    good job!

    Khayet says ...
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    Awesome! The concept of painting the paths of my cannonfodder was confusing first, but grew on me - especially considering the hordes of enemies. The audio is outstanding, although it needs a bit time getting used to it. I first expected more normal sound effects. Great game!

    Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Doesn't really have anything to do with evolution, cool concept with the cannon fodder minions, they are so fast they are bit hard to control though.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    It take me one game to understand the mechanics, but the second one was really enjoyable.

    Teknik says ...
    Sep 8, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    i like how the mechanics work a lot. great game!

    yanmania says ...
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 8:21pm

    Really liked the game mechanic and the piano sound effects were great!

    Sep 14, 2012 @ 12:34pm

    Love the gag with the minions flying over the camera :)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:29pm

    Awesome. Just awesome. I only got it after the first play like many others here, but then it rocked. It's different, and almost feels soothing. I personally enjoyed hugging the top of the screen and sending my minions up and down the play area.... Just awesome.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]