August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Peanuts!

by deejorg - Jam Entry

Come and take a peek into the ardillous life of Peanuts throughout their history.
They were living peacefully inside the earth until they are forced to flee from dangerous conditions.
Forced out of their natural habitat they must evolve and adapt and never stop running to ensure survival!!

GAMEPLAY

- The Peanuts are no different than any other race and as so a leader always rises to the task when needed, you will control the leader of the escaping legion.
If you die still having Peanuts in the flock, another one will surely take the lead!!

- You can roll (right arrow) to avoid falling objects.
- Stall (left arrow ) to make sure some danger passes before you move on.
- Jump and dash mid air (up + right arrows) to make your way through big gaps or higher obstacles.
- Throw a peanut ( space bar ) from the flock, knowing full well he's sacrificing himself for the group's sake.
Not implemented
-- throw peanuts to free other peanuts caught in inprisionment and add them to your group!
-- throw peanuts to take down obstacles and clear a path for the group.


So we planned for 5 levels and ended up with a flawed mere one hehe, still the base gameplay is mostly there, with some hard edges to polish but, in our opinion, pretty fun to experiment.
Altough the collisions still need some work.

We hope you enjoy the little preview as much as we enjoyed making it :)

Below are some screens of what could have been.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#74Humor(Jam)2.85
#112Innovation(Jam)2.94
#135Audio(Jam)2.64
#140Fun(Jam)2.83
#148Mood(Jam)2.64
#156Graphics(Jam)3.04
#220Overall(Jam)2.56
#239Theme(Jam)1.87

Comments

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:24am

So funny! :D It's much like the other game "Lemmings" except you can control them physically.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Cool game, it's a really neat twist on the platformer genre. Only problem for me is at the end of level 1 the whole screen went white, and my final peanut fell off the screen

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Cool platformer - but I had the same problem - I finished level one - and then the whole screen went white.

2Creative says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:20pm

The game has a pretty cool idea. Ends and he puts on a mobile platform. It will be great!

JaJ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:58pm

I can see this could be a good game, and the visuals of what could have been are great.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Reminded me some old game :) Not sure how it's bound to Evolution theme

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:31pm

I loved the graphics!

ghoulsblade says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:37pm

awesome idea, a pity that it didn't get further implementation wise, also most of them seem to get stuck when waiting for the rock to pass. Would be cool if you can follow that up with a post jam version =) graphics in the post also look awesome.

turnip says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Your concept art looks great and it's a great gameplay idea. Just a shame you ran out of time. I hope your work more on it :)

BrothersT says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Nice concept and concept art, even though the game didn't get that far.

Kumquat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Excellent idea! You should keep working on this game and put it on iOS... Good luck!

pythong says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:05am

yep, white screen :/. i like the idea and concept though. but with such a resolution, you can't really see the peanus graphics. if this should ever become a bigger game, don't let the effort made for the small peanus (peanusses?) go to waste

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:13am

It is a good start, the drums are going directly to my tribal brain screaming EVOLUTION!! :D

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:42am

Wow it could have been so great. Maybe too ambitious for a 72h compo. The game concept and arts really deserve you put some more work on it.

deejorg says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Thank you all for the feedback :) We are definetly thinking about developing this further and release it!
We'll also be adding a post Jam version with some bug fixes and more levels!

Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Pretty fun, but after the first level it didn't it got stuck on the white screen. I was running chrome

rxi says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I really liked the concept, will you be continuing with the game post-jam? The small amount there felt solid, and it looks like you made a ton of additional assets you never got to use!

Rex Peppers says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:35pm

I really like the drums!

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:04pm

wow. umm kinda reminded me about "lemmings" (by notch) and pikmin. was fun, and even addictive! good job!
but i dident see the evolution.
:(

Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Really great idea, but as others have said, I ran of the edge of the first level. Not sure I see a tie to evolution, and maybe it's just me, but the game I played looks nothing like the screenshots.

goerp says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Too bad it isn't really finished. The screenshots look very good.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 4:30am

Very cute characters. It was fun leading them to their doom.

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:24pm

very buggy and unfinished, but what is there is a neat little idea for the gameplay. good try!

Haddy22 says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Loved it- needs some work as you are well aware of- but this is a great start. The images of what could have been look great- you should totally keep at it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]