August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Adapt or Die!

by Datw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH ANY BUILD, PLEASE LET ME KNOW:

your OS (including 64 or 32 bit info);
your Java version(java -version);
if you know how to, the console output.

Thank you :)

OBS: The game is still buggy when changing level (sometimes entities are kept from the past level, or you spawn inside a tile and get stuck).

There you go! Had a ton of problems on the end trying to build it (first time using slick, and lwjgl applets ain't easy).

You WILL need Java SE 7 installed to run the applet. And probably, the x86 version of it too, since slick won't run on a 64-bit JVM.

Controls: LARROW and RARROW to move, SPACE to Jump, hold SHIFT to run.

You may not notice, but the meaning I gave to the theme is in there: Every time you die, you evolve and receive some resistance to the type of damage that killed you. When you change level, that resets. I wanted to add a score based off of that, but didn't have time.

But I finished something! If you look at the source and the resources, you will see that I had much more planned (one mob, background music, title screen, and so on...). But man, it's just 48h, and I didn't have all the weekend free :(. But I think I improved, so it counted!

Let me know if the applet works, I'm still not sure.

Besides that, if you find any bug or any map that is super hard, please let me know, I didn't have that much time to test it.

I think thats about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#356Humor2.09
#377Theme2.89
#432Audio2.22
#476Fun2.60
#497Innovation2.57
#509Graphics2.55
#546Mood2.30
#563Overall2.63

Comments

geekygenius says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:48am

:D yay! another slick game! If you want it to run in 64 bit, try including the 64 bit natives too. You can enter these in the Kongregate contest too. This was pretty fun. I haven't seen that many platformers like this. I don't see how it fits the theme though...

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16pm

A bit frustrating at times from slippery movement, but lots of fun till the end!

Although I understand the adaption feature for the theme, it could make the game a bit easy. If you do expand on this, consider adding the score system you mentioned. ;)

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:47pm

After downloading the package it just gets stuck on a white screen for me. Mac OS X Lion.

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Couldn't get it to work in Chrome, IE, or Opera on Win XP. Might be the Java thing you mentioned above, although it appeared to load the resources and then just stopped (blank window). I'll try again later on my other computer.

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:12pm

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to fix that, so, if I find the reason why it's not opening, I may make a "Do no rate" version or something.

shadowdruid says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:23pm

The evolution when you die is very interesting but its only a feature that you don't have to use. A stronger focus on it would be interesting.
And maybe another movement system would be better to play.
All in all a nice game.

Zanzlanz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:40pm

I'm getting many errors.
In all browsers, when the first game stars, the character falls and brings me to a side-ways version of that level in which the player is gone. If, however, right when the level starts I stop the character from falling, there's no way I can fall. When I tried to jump in Firefox I got error message. Sorry :(

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:50pm

The second level IS a sideway version of the first one, but the fact that the player is gone, and the other errors are too bad. Should had trying building something with slick *before* the compo starts! Anyway, thank you for trying.

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Win! That was pretty fun, just the right difficulty balance for me. Great work fellow Slicker (btw - applet works fine in my Chrome, 64bit Win).

Kralle says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:59pm

very bad controls and kinda lazy with reusing the same levels. No idea how this is related to evolution

quill18 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Let me say this: The crashes/glitches are only bothering me because I really like the game! I love the way the levels *evolved* bit by bit, and the game has a very "Super Meat Boy" feel to it. A little more polish and this could be a hugely addictive best-seller.

I did NOT realize that you evolve to resist the damage that kills you. That is wonderful, and gets an extra +1 rating from me.

This is one of the rare games this LD that really "gets" the theme.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Couldn't get it to work in Chrome on macOS. Downloaded some Java library then just froze on a white screen.

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:08pm

I actually spent a huge deal amount of time on the controls, I wanted the "slippery" effect (actually, thats inertia + grip). But I guess not everyone like that, unfortunately.

Punga says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:12pm

org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Game.update() failure - check the game code.
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.updateAndRender(GameContainer.java:663)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$Container.runloop(AppletGameContainer.java:514)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:218)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)
WinXP32 Chrome Java SE 7

scorder says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:38pm

That nails it.
I like the style, and with slightly better controls and I would have spent an hour on it!

LiteLab says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:38pm

This didn't run for me D:.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Tried in IE, FF & Chrome . no luck :(
I'll try again later.

emveyh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Worked for me, here are a few notes:
- player sprite color too similiar to the background color
- "moon" physics when jumping
- walking feels really awkward (like walking on ice)
- game breaking bug: couldn't make the first jump in the fourth level for about 5 times, then i didn't lose any health when touching the lava and therefore was trapped down there (had to restart the game and start over)
- don't see how this fits the theme

LogGiant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Level one worked just fine (falling level), but when the next level loaded the character didn't load. After my 3rd reload I got this error:
org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Game.update() failure - check the game code.
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.updateAndRender(GameContainer.java:663)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$Container.runloop(AppletGameContainer.java:514)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:218)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)

Win7-64, Firefox, Java up to date

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:58pm

emveyh: About the game breaking bug: you can actually jump on lava, if you are immune to it.

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:18am

At home it runs, and I see a screen, but I still can't play. I get the exception:
org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Game.update() failure - check the game code.
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.updateAndRender(GameContainer.java:663)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$Container.runloop(AppletGameContainer.java:514)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:218)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)

emveyh says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Datw: yeah, but you can't get out of the lava because the other platforms are too high up. so you get stuck down there and you have to restart the game in order to fix that :/

Datw says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:46pm

At the fourth level? I just did that jump, thats weird

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Sorry. The game wouldn't run for me. I did like your idea of becoming a bit more resistance to the type of thing that killed you, though. Shame I couldn't play it.

kratorspore says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Suck on a white screen for me after the LWJGL preloader. Running OSX Mountain Lion.

Rabbits... says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:38pm

WIN! I got a bug so every few games on every level i didn't take damage...I liked it that way!

mdkess says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Cool - this is really... slick.

I like the changing levels, it's a neat concept, and I think that you pull it off well. It's challenging, but the levels are never too long that it feels like a chore to try one over and over again until you get it. Great work!

My one criticism is that the physics are really floaty, which makes some of the platforming parts unnecessarily challenging.

Great work!

small trouble says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:54pm

I tried in Chrome and IE and I didn't get it to load. It seems like a good concept as well.

Datw says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:18am

Uploaded standalone versions (they are only ports, so they are allowed). Let me know if any of those won't work :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:48pm

I can't get any of the versions to work, sadly. The web version gets stuck on the second level (I'm running Chrome on Win7). I even tried downloading the .exe, but it wouldn't load at all. Too bad, I was looking forward to trying it out.

myachin says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:19am

game hangs up:(

Sep 13, 2012 @ 2:34am

Your take on the theme is genius! (although I didn't actually notice until I read it on the description, perhaps some text like "+1 Fire resistance" should popup when you die, explaining the kind of upgrade you received). I had to try almost every damn version to make the game work to me (web, .jar, .exe) and the result was always the same (second level starts with no character). I tried running the game a few times until I got a playable second level, and from that point onwards everything went smoothly. Fun game. I quite enjoyed it (although I suck at platformers).

RawBits says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 11:20am

Moon gravity with no lower jump option and ice platfroms... stucking in walls, hurt by lava while on platform on one of the levels and sometimes the guy don't appears and have to reload the game... oh, and the momentum from last level remains.

I love the level design though, makes it fun to play! :)

tcstyle says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 3:49pm

A pity, it doesn't start here in Firefox on Win7/64.

RawBits says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:49pm

tcstyle: I have the same config so your problem is elsewhere.

MrHalfman says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:29pm

This is a nice platformer (thought the movement isn't natural and there some bugs about collision), but I don't really see how it fits the theme...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]