August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Mech attack

by Luck of the day games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Attack the dragon and evolve to godliness! Also see if you can find the halo easter egg. Use arrow keys to move,space to shoot,left mouse to destroy blocks,right click to place blocks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#490Audio2.00
#713Graphics1.85
#719Fun1.77
#734Overall2.00
#744Innovation1.69
#747Theme1.38
#957Coolness24%

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Yes the intro says I should be getting diamonds and fighting a dragon, but I don't see diamonds or a "portable station" to put the diamonds into. All I see is an NPC with weird dialogue, useless controls (mouse, arrow keys, and spacebar? Video games should only require 2 hands.)

Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:42am

Sorry about that i linked a older debug version, the correct update is linked now,thanks for your feedback

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:50pm

eye, good game lassie!
but really, its just a 2-d minecraft made with gamemaker and a few terrain generator scripts. the zombies and music was annoying as hell, and this game could go on for hours. the only thing i liked was the scripts. gonna have to get the source. but were did evolution play into this?

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:58pm

im only being fair because it was 48 hours.
gonna look at the source, and change my rating if the code was A B C basic.

MurrayL says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:00pm

It took me a little while to understand what was going on, but that was mostly my fault for not reading the message at the start properly!

Obviously this is heavily influenced by Minecraft, and the basic ideas (carving and placing blocks) work pretty well.

The fuel seemed almost an afterthought in the main section of the game, and I didn't even notice it at first. It was a bit of a surprise when it became my life counter while fighting the dragon.

The dragons attack was also way too fast - I couldn't seem to dodge it and never managed to kill him before he blasted me twice.

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:04pm

now i can see it uses some scripts, but for such little function. and being a "god" is just a stupid looking fairy next to a minecraftian. come'on i know you can do better.
my game was worse, i had to run it on an engine for 3d,but then i got extensions,and gamemaking has never been easier.
try extensions,you'll be pleased.

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:06pm

and when i killed the dragon this weird ass thing came and took me to a different room where a top-hat shot fireballs at me. dafaq? and the fireballs dealed what? 2000 damage.
im still going to change my rating after looking at the code.

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:22pm

looked at it.
little scripting, but im guessing you know a little about gamemaker. well, i was disappointed. the music was bad, graphics was bad, but that goes for about 1000 other games, including mine. im not a hater, but come on. but still, you got pretty far being a 48 hour compo, i was in the jam, honestly. so im not changing the rating.

mohammad says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:22pm

i can tell what you've been through.

lekochen says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:35pm

I am able to collect 5 diamonds but can not defeat the dragon. IMO there is a large space to improve on controls. Mapping "shoot" to "down arrow" could be a quick fix.

Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Thanks to all for the feedback i will continue development on this game to help fix the UI and controls and possibly make longer worlds

Andrew says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Too much minecraft and too little anything else.

mohammad says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:18am

The dragon was easy.
It was "Obj_Turrent" that killed me. :(

goerp says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:44pm

I'm glad I tried a little harder, because it was more interesting than I first thought. It could use some more explaining. But that also made it more surprising. The music got a bit repetitive (all the more because I took so long to collect 5 diamonds), but sounded original with real instruments. There are some good ideas so curious what you will do another LD.

jprogman says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:25am

Obviously too influenced in Minecraft, but I will try to be fair. (FYI, I was wondering if I would see a creeper in it. :/) While I do see some changes in level design, that only occurs when I start a new game. The dragon fight is just too hard, so I didn't bother. I find the music to be humorous, but I'm guessing that wasn't intentional.
Nice try game-wise, but I'm looking for something more different.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]