August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Doug Bones - Fossil Collector

by wibblymat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Dr. Doug Bones, paleontologist, adventurer and all round dashing hero.

Edit: Added a play through video. It's a very short game and not all that interesting, but maybe people want to see?

While on a fossil gathering expedition in the jungles of Cambodia, you stumble on an alien invasion force - and only you can defeat them!

I ditched my original idea about 33 hours into the compo and made a simple platformer instead - which is why there is only one level.

WASD or arrows to move and jump, space to fire. Defeat the bosses and collect the fossils!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#362Audio2.44
#434Humor1.90
#533Fun2.45
#621Mood2.06
#682Overall2.30
#719Theme1.66
#739Innovation1.72
#744Graphics1.58

Comments

vilya says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Oh man, I sympathise: I had to restart about 32 hours in too. Good job though: you've made a fun little platformer. I kept having trouble with that first jump after the water, was happy when I figured it out.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Simple to say the least, but what it lacks in length it makes up in difficulty. Still a good job on finishing your entry!

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Not bad, but shooting is a bit frustrating. I think it could auto aim in the horisontal line, becouse right now I have no idea where I'm shooting. Especially while the bullets are so small.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Man that sucks you had to restart 33 hours in. I had fun though! I did the upwards climb section without the gun, then realized I had a gun. That was a fun challenge. I liked the music, and lol'd at the button to turn off the music.

fruitfly says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:43pm

man, this is actually quiet hard. was not able to get up the zig-zag path right after the water. anyway, nice feal to the characters jump.

Wydra says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Well it works... What was your original concept and why did you have to abandon it?

Getting up that building-type thing with the enemies getting down it was ridiculously difficult for me. I made it to the boss twice but couldn't stop the invasion in the end.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:31pm

I too would like to know more about the original game. Also, this was quite hard during that zig zag path! Having the gun shoot through walls was also not as helpful as I thought it was going to be xD

wibblymat says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:41pm

You can see the design for the original game in the source: https://github.com/wibblymat/ld24/blob/master/brainstorm such a ridiculous idea, I don't know what I was thinking!

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Nice game, its difficult but fun:)

5n4k3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:27pm

It's a solid game, looks like mine :D

kato9 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:54am

Haha, well it's not bad...a bit short, and some wonky platforming. Nice effort.

benderbinary says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:03am

This is so hard - I like it :D

bitlit says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:39am

Super fun game and brain boiling music. I never managed to get through that building though.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:22am

That was very difficult. Starting at the beginning each time you touch an enemy is too much for me.
The motion was really good though.

nseward says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Good job getting your game done in 15 hours. This was fun.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Nice feel to the jumping, although a bit frustrating for me. Your original idea was crazy ambitious! Good work for a 15-hour game jam

rwos says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Good work for 15 hours, though it's a bit too hard for my taste, I didn't come far... FYI: it works in Firefox 10 (Linux), but at an unplayable low framerate, don't know why. It worked fine in Chrome/Chromium.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Really didn't like the feel of the player's jump, and the shooting was strange, he fires a continuous stream if you hold down space.

I liked the cute little story though, but I couldn't read the "You Win" text because it was only onscreen for like half a second.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:26pm

I had MUCH difficulty climbing the tower, I kept dying. But good work, knowing that you didn't have much time. Me it was almost the same story but I switched to jam.

quasist says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:23am

Cool fastpaced game!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:24am

The controls and gameplay felt good and fast-paced. Insanely difficult! Keep working on it.

Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:10am

Love the jumping-code.

Lacutis says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:38am

Simple but incredibly frustrating. The controls are a bit imprecise so it's really hard to land where you want. Sometimes the enemies run through you and everything is really fast. I couldn't make it up the the first jumping area.

monsieur_nez says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 12:19am

Wow that's hard!

mipi says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:23pm

"oh god make the music stop" :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]