August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Ages of Irving

by GreyShock - Jam Entry

(Works better in Chrome, on Firefox takes so loooong to load)

Ages of Irving is a Torture/Interrogatory Simulator. We focused on telling a short story here.

If you kill all of your targets you won't able to progress on the game and you will have to restart the game.

Use your money for adquiring new torture tools and interrogating skills. Earn money by discovering your victim's information.

This game was conceived for the Compo, but It became too big and had to present it to the Jam. Since I was late, I asked for the rest of my team to polsih the graphics I poorly drawn as a programmer :P

Hope you enjoy! Thanks for playing!

Developed by Deconstructeam.
Twitter: @Deconstructeam
Website: http://www.deconstructeam.com/en/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#12Mood(Jam)3.82
#18Innovation(Jam)3.79
#22Overall(Jam)3.80
#38Fun(Jam)3.50
#66Graphics(Jam)3.78
#71Humor(Jam)2.88
#170Theme(Jam)2.46
#219Audio(Jam)1.20

Comments

Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:25am

It keeps loading almost all the way and then freezing up :(

Uberi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:54am

Same here. Freezes at about 85%.

If you're quick, you still have 5 minutes to fix it!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:29am

Nevermind, I got it a bit later, must have been a connection glitch on my end or something :)

GreyShock says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:12am

Hey Guys! I barely uploaded and there are comments right now!

On Firefox, the game takes a looooong time to load. On Chrome moves smoother.

It may have a lot of typos since I finished the writing minutes before posting!

midgard says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:37am

What a good game! That is one of the better games I have seen in the Jam competition. Seriously.

- Knock Knock. Who is?. MY GUN IN YOUR FACE! - Epic moment.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Interesting, but I just ending up killing most of the guys :/ Maybe more talk options or something?

Kali Purr says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:17am

I don't normally like these text heavy games, mainly because I'm still ignorant to their draw. But this was pretty sweet. Two things: the lack of sound made it hard to stay engaged with. Even if I was playing my own music. Second, why are the criminals black? That didn't really sit well with me. But I'm probably just noticing this shit because it's everywhere, if you care to notice it. That said, I'd still play this as a final product, if these issues were addressed.

echa says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:24am

> Second, why are the criminals black?
This is because of black bags on their heads.

echa says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:36am

Super game. Great replayability.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:27am

@echa Thanks echa :P Even if they were black (that is not), you are a criminal too, you are torturing them! You are not the good guy here!

I also miss the music, I had three beatiful soundtracks for the game, and sound FX for all the actions... but a last minute problem forced me to submit it without sound (ImpactJS crashed with the sound :S).

We are working on a post-compo version with full sound and 20 different targets.

Kali Purr says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:48am

Oh wow, sorry for the mini-freak out!, and thanks for checking my game out! Again, that game needs sound! The bike riding scene is cool already, it needs animation, and music! something brooding.

polegar says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:24am

Really nice ! This remind me GTA mission, really good idea and realisation :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:25am

I would so have loved to see the source of this. So glad I'm not the only one going with HTML5... too bad it's minified.

juaxix says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:40am

Well, I liked it.
It would be great to low the difficult level, i only win one of the interrogatories and have no money to upgrade anything, but the char level up with non stop!
Add sounds and music please :)

berareu says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:52am

Wooo hoo i looove this kind of games :)
I liked all of it but it NEEDS music! A shame that it crashed with sounds :(
And in my opinion you should put some kind of game over if you kill too many people
Can't wait for the post compo version :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:59am

Thanks for the reply, I'd love it if you uploaded the actual source somewhere. As for my game, the effects are pre-made in photoshop, not coded, but nevertheless feel free to take look around, I tried to keep it as tidy as I could.

bukt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:42pm

I like noir. But noir can't exist without music!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:21pm

That was... intense. I might've grown up watching The Terminator and Alien but this is grittier and more bleak. It has teeth and it forces you to react. Great job tackling the premise; it was really well executed!

Bender says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:38pm

This is one of my favorite entry so far. Really amazing game, great work man ! An astonishing amount of content for 72 hours, I was blown away. I would definitively play an extended version with sounds and music.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Best Ludum Dare game ever. A perfect experience.
Are there any other games you worked on?..

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:50am

My new favorite LD Game. This is like...exactly the kind of game I would have loved to make. It was really fun to play it, and I'll play it again since I eventually failed (not enough cash, no way to finish the job)
Small problem with the loading, it says "a script don't answer", I ignore it and then it works. Made my browser panick for a minute.

No really, I don't have words to describe how cool this game is! Of course, the only thing missing is sound, then, it would be just perfect (but it already is for a LD game!)

Evolution theme is a bit thin, but I can see it.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:15am

Thank you all!!!! I was fearing that the game has too much text for a LD entry, since there are tons of games to test, play and vote.

I wanted to run away from all the darwin/physical evolution/mutations themes and intented to create something about personal or spiritual evolution.

I'm really glad you like it, I will deliver soon a post-compo version (maybe next week) with all the features missing in this LD version :D

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:00pm

The game is very different. Writing all the lines and then putting in the logic for them must have been challenging. I find the game is a real challenge.

Maxium says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Tools->Punch Tools->Punch >:)

Sugar_Booger says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:55am

I like it =D
The English is a little wonky, but I can figure out what is being communicated. I really like the gameplay and I think this type of evolution is a lot more creative than Darwin evolution =D
Great job

rwos says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:33pm

> This thing is real good man, make it open source

Nothing to add, great game! :-)

Mesene says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:30pm

Buen trabajo, lo he disfrutado.
Hay varios finales?

Good job, I enjoyed it a lot, there's just one end?

GreyShock says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:35am

Thank you all!

Sorry for the poor english ^_^u

@rwos: You can download the source from this play page! Anyways, I think it's not very difficult to reproduce from the scratch :P

@Mesene: Gracias :D Solo tiene un final, es una especie de L.A. Noire de pegatina :P

Porpentine says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:28pm

5 stars for innovation--a rare entry in the strategy torture puzzler. the only other one i can think of is Beautiful Escape: Dungeoneer. looking forward to future projects!

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Firefox itself gets laggy as hell and outputs the following error:

"A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, or you can continue to see if the script will complete.

Script: http://www.deconstructeam.com/games/agesofirving/game.min.js:47"

No rating.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Very impressive for a short time of work. Also very dark. Lots of complexity; I felt like sometimes if I didn't buy the right informant or technique there was no way to win. That was probably intentional, but a little frustrating. Nice work, though.

entrusC says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 7:18pm

lol - really funny game!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 12:26pm

I really liked that one, one of my fav!
5/5 in many categories (not sound; obviously :) )

goffmog says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Really good game, great graphical style but do get a native English speaker to proofread for you in future! This is the kind of game where you want people to be absorbed by the writing, with sloppy English you detract from all the positives of the mood, plot and style (which are top notch). As good as it was though, I couldn't really get the evolution connection.

matheod says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Innovative game ;)

Threef says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Wow! Great job!

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 12:13pm

thats an amazing entry :)

NeiloGD says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:19pm

Brilliant little game, I feel a bit dirty for enjoying playing it though. Top it off with some music and sound, would be even better!

raarlac says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:04am

Awesome game! I would love to play a full version (with sounds maybe)
Hammer time! LOL

Orni says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

there are not enough games like this one - loved it
very well done

Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

This is excellent, really good atmosphere only lacking some decent audio. The gameplay was difficult but very interesting, I had real fun trying to figure out how to handle each of the guys. I hope you keep working on this

GreyShock says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Since the compo is over, I updated the game with BGM, SFX, 10 new characters and a more balanced difficulty. Hope you like it!

http://www.deconstructeam.com/games/agesofirving/

THANK YOU ALL FOR PLAYING!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]