Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

AvRvE - Cake&Code - Jam Entry

AvRvE
(Aliens versus Robots versus Evolution)

Your name is Al-Ian, and your job is to go to Earth and
destroy some of Earth's most potentially dangerous species
before they're given a chance to evolve and wreck havoc on
homo sapiens (in the future). Make your way through perilous
puzzles, and be sure to avoid all of the Robots that are
trying to stop you from giving mankind a chance to
successfully thrive.

*GOAL*
Work through a series of isometric puzzles and complete any
necessary tasks to kill off any major threats. *ROBOTS
CANNOT BE KILLED*, just make sure you avoid them like the
plague.

*IMPORTANT SHORTCUTS*
ESC - While in-game, it opens the pause menu
R - With the pause menu active, it restarts the level
H - With the pause menu active, it brings you back to the
main menu (you will lose progress)

*CAKE N' CODE*
Zeik: The Boss Programmer
Cake: The Dainty Designer

View Cake&Code's journal. | View all entries by Cake&Code

Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Overall(Jam)3.83
#28Graphics(Jam)4.25
#34Fun(Jam)3.52
#35Audio(Jam)3.59
#50Theme(Jam)3.36
#51Mood(Jam)3.31
#51Innovation(Jam)3.33
#64Humor(Jam)2.98

Comments

razorquick says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Sweet game ; crisp pretty graphics and a good soundtrack.
you keep up to your reputation C&C. reminds me of a similar game in LD23 . by far the best I have seen :)
The final stage is very challenging . too me a lot of tries !
make a full sized game with similar GFx it rocks . you rock :D

rmatey says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:19am

great game! Really love the graphic style and polish to the user experience, keep it up!

mappum says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:52am

I'm really impressed by the great puzzle design (I suck at making puzzles). The art was really awesome as well. Overall I really liked this, good job.

DGoodayle says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Loving the soundtrack, nice graphics too. Gameplay was pretty solid :)

Zamando says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Nice game. Liked the puzzles!

rab236 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Great game and great puzzle design. I really enjoy playing this. Great work.

kill0u says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Wow, nice game :o
A little hard at first, but very interesting when you get the concept :P

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Love the graphics :D and the 3rd person controls are easy to grasp (which is rare) would love to see you continue to develop this :D

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:49pm

The style of your graphics are top notch. very clean and crisp.

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:54pm

I liked the graphics, very crisp and high quality visuals and audio. Interesting concept but evolution was only loosely tied into the story and not the gameplay. Still nice job with the puzzle designs!

Killerbug says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Very impressive. Such a polished game! I am speechless.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Absolutely wonderful. Puzzles get pretty goddamn hard soon enough :D

JaJ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:36pm

I liked how you used evolution, using the history of evolution for an unexpected game instead of another tamagochi or upgrade based game.

blundis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:47pm

The player sprite is awesome! Nice puzzles and awesome graphics.

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Very good game, kids can learn things while playing, you can put the text while playing too

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Cheeky little brain teaser this one. Haha, can't get past the one after the wooly mammoth. Gonna keep trying though. Lovely graphical style, has real polish!

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Wow I really enjoyed this...It took me a while to figure out what things did what, but by the end i took out the dodo and successed!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:44pm

This game was the most fun one I've played so far! I love the graphics and music. And I liked the mix of both puzzle and skill based levels. I only wish there was more gameplay. I think you could have made many more interesting levels with the kinds of tiles there were. But awesome game nonetheless! :D

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Nice. Very nice. The graphics never disappoint with you two! I agree, this game could and should be expanded up to 10 times it's current length.

Chezzo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:07am

This game is crazy fun! At first, I thought, "Well, duh, you just walk there." And then the ice happened. We need more levels and tiles!

Yann says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:14am

Nice puzzle game!
I agree with AaronGordon for the theme not being reflected enough in the gameplay.
Maybe you could add some "natural disaster" tiles that would destroy for instance trees blocking your way or make some ice melt. This way you make the level itself evolve as a part of the puzzle solving.
Or you could give 3 goals for each puzzle like saving a mammoth, a sabertooth cat or a dodo, and according to this choice the next puzzles get modified (yeah a bit crazy to create though :D)

Anyway, I agree with everyone, graphics and audio are good, the gameplay is a little unforgiving (don't waste a millisecond or you're dead) but still good and nicely polished.

tdsmale says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Clever!

Jacic says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:24pm

You two never cease to amaze me. :) This game is great, and difficult.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:39pm

This one was actually fun to play, which is rare for LD entry :). Thanks!

Kuulog says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Fun game with great graphics! I enjoyed this one a lot!

wombatica says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:32pm

sweet graphics

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Wow -- Spectacular -- What a great game.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:26am

A well done great polished game. Plus you have some points at humor!

andreyin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:14am

Absolutely loved the art style!! My only complaint is that it wasn't long enough, I wanted to play more!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:13am

Very polished. I liked the art style. The music was too chimey for me though. Only gripe was my disorientation to the diagonal movement. But that's just me.

rylgh says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:46am

Awesome, super polished. I really like the main character's design. I'd love a wallpaper featuring him/her/it.

Thurig says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:00am

Nice graphics and music. Fun to play.

wlad says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Yap, this game can keep up the fun even after a few tries. Impressing graphics, nice moody soundtrack.

foxor says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:19am

I'm shocked. Great job, this is fantastic!

5n4k3 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:45pm

Impressive! Someday I want to make a game that good =D

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:35am

Took me awhile to get the hang of the controls. I kept hitting keys based on which way my guy was looking. Great game though, with fun puzzles.

Kassoon says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:11am

Very slick, great puzzle design. I'd have perhaps made the retry button more prominent since it felt a bit cheeky to skip levels, but the puzzles were fun enough to figure out that I kept retrying. Good job!

raarlac says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:47pm

10/10 game. Everything is flawless. I loved it!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:16am

Excellent game. Really enjoyed playing it until I got to the Dodo and kept getting within a few blocks before dying!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Really great puzzle game. Difficult though, I had so many tries (especially cos I am crappy at puzzles). Lots of fun trying! Graphics are really good as was the ambient background music. A really well executed/thought out game. Really good relation to the evolution theme. Very god job!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Very cute game. I like the way you introduced the various blocks and tied them into the species the player was exterminate. I didn't like the escape the falling bricks challenge and thus I could not get past the dodo level. I really like your graphics style. Especially since it was obvious what was is foreground and background.

cadin says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Very nice. Challenging puzzles and very polished presentation. I got really frustrated on the wooly mammoth level because I kept pressing the wrong key. This is a problem I have with all isometric controls (the directions don't match the directions of the arrow keys), not specifically a problem with your game.

Jungorend says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:11am

Great game! I love how every tile, you know what it does without being explained. Everything is very clear and colorful!

heuermh says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:05am

Very cool, would just recommend swapping the move on and restart buttons. The first time I played I skipped a few levels before I realized that was what was happening.

caranha says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:31pm

The game was pretty fun and challenging to play! I liked the different challenges in the puzzles, with the mix of time-based puzzles, turn-based puzzles, etc. The music was pretty neat. Good polish!

The connection with the theme was kinda tenuous, but I really liked the game! Thanks for suggesting it!

marudziik says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Feels very complete, and has really good graphics. Liked it!

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:28am

Interesting puzzle game with a neat look. Kind of a Ricochet Robot feel once you hit the ice after the first few levels. I enjoyed it; nice graphics and sounds.

NateNaterson says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Music gave me a bit of a headache but I absolutely loved everything else. Was a bit hard to figure out a first but once I did, it was quite a fun game.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:42pm

I can't understand why, but if i die instead of gameover i pass to the next level O_

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:30pm

@infernet89 you don't have to beat every level to "beat" the game. :) There are different endings depending on what species you're able to kill off.

michax says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:39am

Awesome graphics! I kind of suck in puzzle games so it was a little to hard for me :P
Also i didn't see restart button at first and was confused why levels are changing even if i failed :P

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 11:46am

Awesome. The only thing i didn't like was the music.

Bouyer says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I loved the music

vilya says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 2:13am

Very very polished! Great job! The time-based levels got a little frustrating (so it was a really good decision to include the "move on" button).

Megazell says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:47am

Excellent work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]