About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 1 hour, 2 minutes, 1 second
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 1 hour, 14 minutes, 1 second
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 2 hours, 2 minutes, 1 second
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Pixelapse - BNeutral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Well this took quite a lot of work (skipped sleeping today). I'm quite awful at spriting, and this game was pretty big in that department, while the engine was done pretty fast, a lot of the art took forever. Also I failed at composing and had to leave the game with no music, only SFX.
    Engine is flashpunk with some minor modifications.

    PS: Sorry about the sliding!

    View BNeutral's journal. | View all entries by BNeutral

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #45Innovation3.81
    #141Graphics3.59
    #154Overall3.40
    #190Theme3.39
    #203Mood2.97
    #215Fun3.10
    #289Humor2.30
    #476Audio2.08

    Comments

    LeetLeaf says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:15am

    I loved the art work and the gameplay was nice and simple.

    Ninja says ...
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:28am

    The only thing about this game that really bugged me was the lack of friction. Other than that it's great! I killed the boss and died 20 times.

    Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:17am

    Great idea! I feel it could be used more efficiently, though.

    Make the punch-radius even More Powerful. Right now, you /maybe/ uncover 10-20% of the level, and can't really see the new stuff behind it.

    Kmad says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:34am

    Good concept, I like the way the game itself evolves and changes. I also had a problem with the lack of friction, the character slide a bit too much and it made some of the later jumps frustrating. Great work.

    ChronoDK says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:36am

    Very original - I like the idea that each level is hidden behind the previous. I liked the graphics of the first level better, but overall it's very nicely done!

    braingale says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:46am

    I loved this! Besides the lack of friction, that is. I finally beat the boss after dying 58 times. PROTIP: Hold the down the down key and you can rapid fire your punch or attack. Makes things a bit laggy, though!

    evilseanbot says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:46am

    I liked the concept and stomping around and being kind of the guy from journey. The sword sound effect was kind of grating and it gets a little bit painful to stare at the little tiny pixels by level 5ish

    gnx says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Very nice art style, everything looks quite carefully considered.
    Controls are horribly frustrating for me though.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    I like pixel effects. Good game, despite of buggy gameplay...

    zachstronaut says ...
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    I really think you are on to something here with the whole digging out the next level thing.

    Orni says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:44am

    I loved it - the level destruction reminded me of the very first lemmings game
    very awesome idea as well :D

    AuxiliumGames says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:36am

    Really cool effect, and very original!

    JaydenB says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Very simple gameplay, but still very good. I felt the gameplay was a little to slow

    gritfish says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:18am

    Great technical idea. The background starts to get really distracting after the castle level though? I couldn't see what I was doing past that point.

    localcoder says ...
    Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:18am

    I died 329 times! mainly because I lost the ground underneath the respawn point :)

    This is cool, but the small size of everything and the slidely movement made it hard for me to see and control.

    I still played through to the end, and enjoyed the different ideas. (a box for a boss?!)

    Syarahsy says ...
    Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:14am

    At the third level, the ground beneath the X gave way and fell into an endless loop. But I love the concept behind it!

    Mago says ...
    Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:26am

    Very good game idea. I like pixel art.
    As someone mentioned before some friction would be good because now jumping is hard
    5 stars for Innovation!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Really original game, I really enjoyed it. And to be honest, I loved the art.

    Richard Matey says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Really great game! The only down side was the sliding of the character and the later levels made it really hard to do the platforming, keep it up!

    airdeck says ...
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Really loved this, just wish the sliding was lessened

    chuchino says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:21pm

    This is a neat idea and the art is nice. I didn't like the last level, though. The background is distracting, and the amount of enemies combined with the slippery movement and super-high jumps make it really chaotic and frustrating. It felt like it didn't fit in with the rest of the game.

    Jacic says ...
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 2:38am

    The jumping often didn't work (my game had the same problem :p), but it was fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]