August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Lepton's Quest

by rustybroomhandle - Jam Entry

NOTE: OS/X package now available!
NOTE2: In the ZIP one, click "RUN Lepton's Quest", not rungame.bat (should have removed that one)

Linux: You need the SLUDGE engine to be able to run the .slg file. Newer Debians and Ubuntus/Ubuntu derivatives have it in the repository. Just:

sudo apt-get install sludge-engine

I believe it's in the Arch repos also.

You also need to install libalure1 manually. Get it here:
http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/libalure1

Or, if all that fails:

http://opensludge.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/opensludge/doc/SLUDGELinuxHelp/Compiling_SLUDGE_on_Ubuntu.html

or download the Windows ZIP and run:
wine SLUDGEEngine.exe game.slg

(Note to self - learn to make self-contained packages)

- - - - - - - - -

Well crikey, this was a rather interesting experiment. We did not finish, but submitted something that at least vaguely resembles what we wanted to end up with and can actually be played through.

We saw "Evolution" and went "Pokemon, yay"... the resulting game not quite that, although the combat system was going to be reminiscent.

Things that did not make it:
- Combat system
- Monster fights featuring said combat system
- Loads of sounds
- Some music
- Some NPCs
- NPC animations
- Monster animations
- A few plot points
- Some additional locations

How this was made:
- Loads of people helped to build the sets we used, in Minecraft.
- Minecraft worlds were converted to Wavefront objects using mcobj
- Scenes rendered in Blender
- Intro/Outro made in Maya
- Game built in OpenSLUDGE

All names are in the credits.

Writing of dialogue by WelshPixie. Music by Shadowthewedgehog95, Shakdude, Creammin (not used yet). Fonserbc made a texture pack and mod to help the builders see what the final output might be while they were building. Intro, outro and sound effects (many still to be used) by Kasperophof and kongering.

Thanks to everyone in the http://indiesquish.com/ community who helped out!

(Gah, upload to server going slowly)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#13Graphics(Jam)4.45
#25Audio(Jam)3.73
#28Mood(Jam)3.57
#49Humor(Jam)3.17
#58Overall(Jam)3.41
#73Innovation(Jam)3.18
#124Fun(Jam)2.91
#195Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:35am

Can't wait to try it on OSX

Porpentine says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:01am

What an innovative way to make your set-pieces, fantastic job. This is the best looking game I've played so far. I like playing as a trod-upon kobold, what a resourceful little fellow...

Sidenote: pressing space reveals exits, useful for figuring out where to walk.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:19am

@porpentine Thanks for the comment. I would like to finish it. Some of the monsters people built are quite cool, including an assortment of stages of mutation for each creature. And the combat system, however basic it was going to be, would really add a little to it. Would also like to add some more narrative elements - you know, a "character evolution".

PS - love your RPS column

faithfulcupid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:48am

This game was great, I never expected it to be like this it. I loved each small cutscene with yourself narrating them and the overall awesomeness of the game just overwhelmed me. Great job rusty, roll on next Ludum dare? :)

Miltage says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:08am

Great work! I was skeptical but the graphics turned out beautifully. Great writing by Pixie as usual.

Nidjo123 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Haha, very cool style! Short but fun. Although, if fights were a bit more complex, it would be better. Good job!

Jeremias says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Interesting idea to use minecraft for the graphics and reworking the output. If you will make a post-compo-version, I would start to add gameplay elements like selecting one of multiple possible answers or evolving the combat system. Nice audio, too. Would be sad if you don't go on with this.

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:43pm

Just great! Loved it.

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Love the look of this - I didn't know you could create models from Minecraft - great idea!

pythong says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:33pm

whoa, 67MB? If I had a slow connection, I'd be cursing like mad. also, the game was very short, unfortunately. but bonus points for music, graphics and mood

Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Yeah, would have been even bigger had we managed to put all the intended content in. :) I guess it's the price one pays for 2D static backdrops and animation.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:15pm

I think that idea behind a large group submitting a Jam entry like this is really fantastic!

Navigating the main map wasn't intuitive, but I think it has a lot of charm already. I didn't find the Librarian yet... is there a Library I'm missing the way to?

welshpixie says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:24pm

It's one of the buildings in the village that you start in - it's full of bookcases and cozy seating and an old guy standing against one of the walls ^.^

Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:19pm

@BCS For the post-LD version I will look into that. Someone actually got lost in the woods and I suspect it might be to do with the hotspot areas.

PS: Played and rated your game earlier, reminded me of Aquaria - which not a bad thing :)

Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:14am

Lovely artstyle!

Minor thing that bugged me: The narrator saying "You shall play..."(then I skipped the intro). It sounded like ye medi-eval old-person-narrator knew he was in a game and was beaking the 4th wall.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Heh, weird thing to say, since any narrator is about as fourth-wall-breaking as it gets. :)

Kmad says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Very original way of creating artwork, the presentation is incredible and the best looking and sounding thing that I've played so far. It was fun to wander about and explore, shame you didn't manage to get the combat in but it was so ambitious that it's understandable.

cakemonitor says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Very beautifully stylised game. I hope you get to add some challenges to it soon so it becomes a bit more than just a click-through story. Great work :)

KEFIR says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Wow! How do you call this style? Voxel-art? Love it!

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Super cute! The people looked like they were knitted so it reminded me of a stop motion movie.

And yes, I am the one that did the fairy card game in ren'py.

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:25pm

urgh, i seriously want to play this game, but it seems my graphics card is terrible and won't play. hopefully will get a chance to play it before the voting period ends, but this look sick.

Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:48pm

@angrygeometry - If you're using the ZIP version, there's a broken "rungame.bat" in there that causes shader errors, so if that's how you tried to run it, you could try by clicking "RUN Lepton's Quest".

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:30am

Shame you ran out of time with this it looks quite promising and the art style is very creative.

zx81 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:47am

I had to wait about 5 minutes but it was so worth it!! The game is great! I can't wait for the LD to see your next game!
Apat from that, in my opinion the kobold is moving a bit too slowly!!

chuchino says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 11:36pm

The environments are really pretty and the narration was well done. Too bad about the cut content though, it's a bit dull to play in its current state.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 9:32pm

What a great game. Really enjoyed playing. I really hope you build on this game and polish it as you have a great start here. The graphics are fantastic. Brilliant job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]