August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolutionator!

by CataclysmicKnight - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This IS a web game, but it's on my website with no ads. If you would like to, PLEASE do go ahead and vote for it on Kongregate: (http://www.kongregate.com/games/HedonismGames/evolutionator) This way those who want to participate in the other side can do so, and those who don't (and don't want ads) can avoid it!

Please enjoy! Instructions and story are all on the website and in-game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Fun3.52
#191Overall3.32
#302Humor2.26
#401Theme2.84
#446Mood2.49
#502Graphics2.56
#590Audio1.27
#591Innovation2.32

Comments

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:35am

You did a good job adding all the various things you'd expect from this kind of game. I was particularly impressed with the number of upgrades. That being said I felt the gameplay was a little too slow. It would be more fun if the enemies were a bit smarter.

Milo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:20am

It was a good, short game. I liked the upgrades, although they might have been a little overpowered (although I liked shooting so much stuff!)

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:11am

Very cool, I maxed my upgrades and beat the game. My only irks were that the graphics were a little dull (desaturated colors, gears didn't flash Scrooge McDuck style, and overall hero and villians weren't very well differentiated) but you get five stars for the rock-the-vote civic effort.

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:12am

Oh, I forgot to mention that the map screen was a little confusing at first. The store aspect of that screen was immediate intuitive, but I didn't understand that I had to click a room to exit. I actually had to restart the game! On a second look, it kind of made sense, but the colors and the 'E' were all so overwhelming. I am a simple man.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:25am

@racarate: LOL no no, I totally understand on the map... I was worried about that too since I don't even think I put anywhere on that screen "click to go to a level"... And I was saddened I didn't get to upgrade the graphics after I finished the game. I've honestly never made any enemy AI before that wasn't "move the same direction always" or had enemies drop items, or even make different bullet upgrades, etc... I appreciate your input and compliments!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:27am

@aschearer, thanks! I didn't get to balance the gameplay much because I ran out of time, I'll definitely have to make sure to do that :)

@Milo: LOL yeah there's the "almost-dying normal shooting" and then the "upgrade and annihilate anything quite easily" shooting... Not really an inbetween LOL

Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:23pm

The controls need some getting used to but it was a good short game.

Maacus says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Nice and simple. I Liked that you took time to add the story.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Great job! The first game I really enjoyed while testing all the entries during this Ludum Dare.

CaptainIcy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Very, very, nice! I love the concept, art style, (so simplistic!) gameplay, and the story/idea. It's great. Although I have a question. Are you supposed to be able to lose/get hurt? I played the Kongregate version and I maxed everything out, took many many bullets and my armor never went down.
Anyway, great job!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Weird, CaptainIcy... I wonder if there's a glitch in part of the levelling up that stops you from dying... And thanks so very much for the compliments!!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Maacus - Thanks! I started with the story and a joke about using a roomba that gets more and more powerful. Thanks for taking the time to read the story! :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Alex - that's one of the best comments I've EVER gotten, thank you so much!! And thanks Accidental Rebel :)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:16pm

A little buggy, but still rather fun!

madameberry says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:27pm

I think the only thing is, I wish it had audio of some kind, and that it was easier to get to the map/upgrade screen. I had to keep backtracking to get to that one room. It's pretty fantastic though.

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:36am

Pretty solid game with nice polish. The controls were pretty frustrating at first. So used to moving with WASD I kept shooting away from enemies instead of at them!

mdkess says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:24am

Cool, a really fun game. Challenging, but not overly so, and so I liked it a lot. One thing - add sound! sfxr makes it really easy to get some cool effects. Great work!

Uberi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:36am

I spent so much time playing this. Extremely addicting for such a simple concept.

nseward says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:40am

Loved it. It sucked me in until I beat it.

Citiral says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:28am

Really good game, I loved it. :)

vilya says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

This is quite a fun game!

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:50am

Really awesome job. It's funny the difference a story can make . Fun to play, didn't get bored, played right through to the end.

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:00pm

Very fun. :) I liked it. The graphics were simple, but nice, but could do more with the graphics if you're gonna keep working on this game. My only complaint would be to change controls so that you move with WASD and shoot with arrows :p The game has the same control scheme as binding of isaac, but in that game you shoot with arrows, so that's why I was suggesting it xD

Andrew says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:50am

A really fun twin stick shooter but the controls seemed reversed. I could play cross handed just fine, but remember that the standard is to have movement on the left and shooting on the right, that or provide the option to switch.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:14am

Nice entry
However; I felt like the controls were "reversed": I often died because i was trying to shoot with arrows and move with wasd. (also, try to handle azerty keyboards -zqsd- next time)

monsieur_nez says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:40am

Great game! remind me of Smash TV.

5n4k3 says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:43am

I'm looking forward to see this game completed!! Good work!

LemonTree says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:18am

Simple but GREAT! I like this game!

lekochen says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:43am

Simple but complete! Good job!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 3:54am

Very complete game. You could improve it with small details like spawning player at the door he come from ( and not center of the room ) or FX on bullet impacts.
But taht's already a huge ammount of content for a 48h game. Congrats !

Adhesion says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 2:43am

IMO I think the controls would be a bit more intuitive if movement was on WASD and shooting was on the arrow keys (like a dual stick style game on a gamepad - gamepad controls would be ideal). Also the treasure chest seems to show up on every screen if you don't shoot it right away. Nice job otherwise, fun game.

Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:16am

I love the game, the multiple robots are awesome, the gameplay is awesome the upgrades too.... all is awesome Nice work man!!! :D

infernet89 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Thank you for the cheating system, i totally needed it!

yettatore says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Good game! The "chamber-map-style" is fine, and I like the character control!!

airdeck says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:55am

Very simple but actually a lot of fun. Really enjoyed playing this one, I hope you add additional levels and upgrades, as this is a great start to a game.

ScreamRawr says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:23am

It was pretty fun. I couldn't ever get my left hand to do what I wanted it to though. lol

tastive says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Really needs to be WASD to move and arrows to shoot, but still very fun.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]