August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Future Pixels

by NatNoBrains - 48 Hour Compo Entry

###PLEASE READ###
The last level can go dodgy for some resolutions and screen sizes, if it is unplayable, press F4 to come out of full screen mode.

I only started this entry this morning (GMT), so have only spent about 5 hours on it. Please take that into consideration.

The 'evolution' part of this entry is that the screen size evolves. My original idea was to have basic graphics in the first level, a basic soundtrack and basic other stuff, and it slowly gets upgraded or 'evolves' throughout the game. That idea was rapidly thwarted as I realised I was about as skilled a banana-wielding hamster at art, so I kept to the basic graphics.

I then went on to think how I could make it involve evolution, so I thought I could do each level as a stage of development, or evolution, but I quickly realised that I was too far into the game to start taking multiple steps backwards.

I eventually came up with the idea of having the size of the game evolve, as you completed levels, and I stuck with that.

I have given this game a thorough testing by my brother and mum, who didn't get past the first level (there are three >:D).

Thank you for playing and I congratulate you with the highest of congratulationosity if you complete the third level.

Update!!
THE IDEA IS TO SHOOT THE OTHER COLOURED PIXELS, PRESS THE INFO BUTTON ON THE MAIN MENU TO FIND OUT THE CONTROLS!

Update 2!!
EACH LEVEL LASTS 2 MINUTES, THE FIRST LEVEL, AN ENEMY SPAWNS EVERY 20 TICKS. IN LEVEL 2, THEY SPAWN EVERY 10 TICKS. IN THE LAST LEVEL, THEY SPAWN EVERY 5 TICKS.
***1 SECOND = 30 TICKS***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Fun3.00
#259Audio2.72
#446Humor1.87
#493Overall2.75
#558Mood2.28
#573Graphics2.35
#646Innovation2.15
#719Coolness40%
#720Theme1.65

Comments

bigbass1997 says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:42pm

I dont understand what your are supposed to be doing. There is no story or really and understanding of what is going on or what the goal of the game is.

NatNoBrains says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:12am

The idea is to shoot the other coloured pixels... I forgot to include that *facepalm*

Gareth001 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:56am

This reminds me of a game i made years ago... really fun

Ezzam says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:05am

A nicely executed arena shooter. Second level is actually easier than first one, because enemies form a mob and you can circle them easily.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:09am

The first level seems too long - without any indication of how far I was, I wasn't trying to conserve my ammo and ended up dead in the water :( The music was nice, and the game was fun - just too drawn out.

Lucariatias says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:53am

Simple idea nicely executed. The particles and coloured pixels look nice together :3 It's quite addictive and fun to play.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:32am

Not bad for 5 hours work! Very nice particle effects. Like other commenters have said, first level is too long. I timed it to over 3 minutes before I died without changing level but you say it should only last for 2. Still, good fun and sillily difficult :). Fix the level thing! I want to get to level 3!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:37am

While it was nicely executed and felt smooth, it wasn't really innovative.

aitorman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:33am

Suprprisingly addicting game, well done!

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:04pm

You should finish developing this!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:17am

Love the soundtrack. Levels are a bit long, and it would be nice to have feedback about how far you are in a level.

mohammad says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:52pm

*GASP!*
NO WAY! MADE WITH GAMEMAKER!??!?!?!?!?!?
GOTTA LOOK AT DAT CODE! :3
PLAY MY GAME, PLAY MY GAME, PLAY MY GAME,
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=14064
By the way, Don't you mean steps? Ticks is for things like Java and such. And the amount of steps depends on the room speed. :)
Now to rating
Ok...Its kinda like my warm-up game, called "This Is Just A Test Son" but with worse music. Not that its bad, But not as good as mine. ANYHOO... The gameplay was fun, but 1 hit to die from a cube zombie? And why did you declare a variable when you can just put "Upon Collision with Obj_something, Restart Room." Maybe to Debug? Again just not what I would do but keep it up... Oh and like the use of Fireworks, You see My warm-up game is a copy of an older version of my game, But with elemental zombies and Death Effects. Whatever good job!
But where was Evolution? Didn't see it anywhere.

Zed says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:20am

I think maaaaybe you made the levels too long. But! I liked the music and the mechanics were well-implemented. I've got a soft spot for twin-stick shooters. Oh, and the loading screen was great.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]