August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

DeviLock

by Misfit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Devilock is a futuristic spaceship which spreads evolution capsules to desert planets.

My main plan was to create a small "retro" game and here it is!
Windows version ( 112k )
HTML5 version ( 196 k ) (Use Firefox if you need sounds)
Wii version ( 276 k ) (Needs homebrew channel)

Windows version is recommended. Use it if possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#105Graphics3.76
#106Audio3.30
#130Fun3.33
#188Overall3.33
#262Mood2.85
#356Humor2.09
#544Innovation2.45
#556Theme2.42

Comments

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Cool game!
Hard, but nice to play!
HTML5 version does not work (keeps being black/using FF), but Windows works fine.

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Awesome little game man, nice job ;)
Music got a little dull after a while, but the game itself made up for it big time.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

Very loud audio
I like the ship control and the little rotation inertia.
It kinda sucks to have to start from the tutorial every time.
There is no indication that the grey-moving things kill you instead of being evolution-blobs
(I played the web version under FF14)

Vurb says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00am

for some reason i didnt hear the music or sounds but other then that fun game!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:00pm

I loved the physics but it was a bit laggy on HTML5 version.

rwos says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:58pm

HTML5 version worked fine for me (Firefox 10, Linux).

The game looks awesome. I loved the shadow/light effects! Music is nice, controls are fine - over all this is the most polished entry I've played so far. Very well done!

Drabiter says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Great game, although it's quite hard because power drops fast.

kato9 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Nice game - cool retro visual style. Controls were a little tough (meaning I didn't do very well).

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Nice controls and simple focused gameplay. Although at the start of the game I was unsure as to what I was doing. I didn't realize the evolution happened automatically when you were near, and i crashed into the base and the grass while trying to figure it all out (the base looks exactly like a wall). The audio is good and fits the visual style, but i felt the theme wasn't really central to the game.

Also web version doesn't seam to work.

All in all nice job for 48 hours!

talhakaya says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:11pm

awesome, i love it! love the mechanics, love the music, love the graphics, the style, almost everything! where can i find your other work? i wonder what you're able to do when you have more than 48 hours. and i really dig that music, do you have a bandcamp or something?

garygreen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Unfortunately I couldn't play this on Windows and the HTML version just stuttered along. My PC is getting on a bit though.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:19am

Fan-bloody-tastic entry. I LOVED the graphical style, and the music was great. Well done :) I couldn't get the web version to work (it was super sluggish) but the windows version worked just fine.

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:29am

I have no idea what was going on, the music rocks though.

Misfit says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Thanks all,

I tested web version in few different computers, but I know that there are some issues with WebGL.

Wii and Windows versions works fine (I guess).

talhakaya :
check my LD23 game http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=10677

Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Cool game, though it doesn't really have anything to do with evolution. The game looks pretty and plays well, but there could have been some indication that the gray moving things kill you, they look really similiar to the evolution things.

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:38pm

The 'power' causing you to die after colliding 4 times, even if only barely moving, simply drove me nuts, forcing me to slow down huge amounts, and also caused some rather very unfair deaths.

However it was very fun otherwise, loving the demoscene-like retro feeling that I get from it too. Music is simple but works very well, as do the sounds. Overall a very neat game.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:38am

Nice graphics; pretty hard game. Reminded me a lot of Lunar Lander, Gravitar, and their descendants. Pretty fun! Nice work.

lekochen says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:58am

Nice graphics and music. But it's hard...

Khayet says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Great and very challenging game. Awesome audio (though a bit loud) and outstanding(!) graphics.

Can become very frustrating, but that's part of the fun. :)

davidwparker says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 12:16am

Can't get it to play (Chrome OSX)

Misfit says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 5:02am

davidwparker:
Hmm.. I tested it with Chrome 21.0.1180.89 / Mac OS X 10.6.8 and it worked. Web version uses WebGL.
Sometimes web version has weird lagging problems but if player waits 10-20 seconds it works fine.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:03am

This is a very well done and fully complete game, congrats! I love how this goes. It gives a bad feeling for me when colliding with base to end a level however.

raohmaru says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 3:21pm

I Love retro games and I love Lunar Lander, so I love this game as well. Great overall game, and bonus points for the HTML5 version!

Haette says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:51pm

This game is friggin' hard! Loving the music and graphics here, the CRT-border is a neat touch.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]